rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

061 Road Rally 2003

Sponsored by Altratech Ltd

High Peak & 061 Motor Club

18th/19th October 2003

Clerk of the Course: Alan Ogden

Route: 150 Miles

Map: 118 & 119

Starters: 43

Winners: Guy Robinson/Charlie Wheeldon (Proton Persona)

Guy Robinson/Charlie Wheeldon overcame a poor start to take first place on the Altratech 061 Road Rally.

The High Peak & 061 MC rally was under new management in 2003 and a more navigational event with fewer whites than usual greeted the 43 starters.

061 Road Rally 2003

The new organising team had decided to bring the timing fully in to line with the MSA regulations by having crews carry over any seconds dropped at one timing point to the next. This, in particular, caught out Robinson/Wheeldon, they added two unnecessary minutes to their total, leaving them in eighth place after Time Card 1.

However they then were fastest over the remaining three cards to take the win. They finished just thirty seconds in front of Steve Webster/Roger Hage. Iain Scott/Jez Harries took third; they had lost three minutes, and possibily the win, with the dreaded mal de nav.

Michael Pedley/David Pedley had led at the halfway point but a puncture and throttle problems on the last section over High Rake saw them drop to fifth.

A number of crews had problems locating a new tarmac white running alongside the river from Ecton to Weetonmill (SQ 0956); it was difficult to see on the map and many misplotted it. These crews either dropped time finding the correct route or picked up penalties for missing two controls. Most notable amongst these crews were Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie, Tim Tordoff/Ian Frazer and Mark Whitford/Steve Porter.

Hawkins/Tullie were delayed further with a major electrical problem and finished eleventh, however this result moved them closer to securing both the North Western and East Midland championships.

Brynli Thomas still had the possibility to deny Hawkins the ANWCC driver's title. He and Steve Herbert finished in 31st position after being given a fail for a lighting infringement in a Quiet Zone.

Owen Dodd, navigating for Jonathan Bossen, was now Tullie's only challenger in the North Western navigator's championship. Bossen/Dodd were the fastest crew through the opening test, which used the Goyt Valley White, and also the final section over Middleton Common, but they lost 11 minutes working out the navigation on a section defined by a herring bone. They finished seventh. To win the ANWCC title Dodd would now have to win the two remaining rounds of the series to deny Tullie the title.

Malcolm Grisdale/Bob Hargreaves won the Expert class finishing in thirteenth place overall, this result gave them victory in the SD34 Championship. Mike Jones/Jolyon Robinson were the first novices home in seventeenth place.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Guy Robinson Charlie Wheeldon Proton Persona 12m 01s
2 Steve Webster Roger Hage Subaru Impreza 12m 35s
3 Iain Scott Jez Harris Peugeot 309 GTi 13m 11s
4 Steve Massey Steve Coupland Peugeot 205 15m 48s
5 Michael Pedley David Pedley Ford Escort DB4 16m 46s
6 Tim Tordoff Ian Frazer Peugeot 205 19m 46s
7 Jonathan Bossen Owen Dodd Subaru Impreza 23m 01s
8 Ian Carter Paul Holmberg Subaru Impreza 23m 20s
9 Mark Whitford Steve Porter Ford Escort RS 24m 03s
10 Martin Betts Richard Hage Ford Escort 26m 47s
11 Carl Hawkins Iain Tullie Vauxhall Nova 28m 38s
12 Andy Baker Lee Burgess Peugeot 205 GTi 28m 38s
13 Malcolm Grisdale Bob Hargreaves Subaru RX Coupe 29m 37s
14 Paul Davis Mark Wagstaff Peugeot 309 GTi 30m 13s
15 Mark Slatcher Justin Chapman Vauxhall Astra 30m 18s
16 Tony Michael Paul Barrett Honda Civic 30m 54s
17 Mike Jones Joylon Robinson Peugeot 205 32m 13s
18 Ben Corbett Marcus Watmough Hillman Avenger 35m 13s
19 Dave Holland Simon Cottrell Peugeot 205 GTi 35m 23s
20 Simon Banham James Savage Peugeot 205 GTi 37m 41s
21 Adrian Green Paul Hudson Seat Ibiza 39m 05s
22 Frank Evans Dan Spittlehouse Toyota Corolla 39m 18s
23 Nick Toplis Paul Davenport Vauxhall Nova 42m 11s
24 Steve Price Cyril Jones Toyota Corolla 42m 46s
25 Phil Mathews Paul Coombes Peugeot 309 47m 54s
26 Terry May Stephen Coombes Peugeot 309 GTi 49m 57s
27 Geoff Henman Sam Collis Peugeot 205 51m 18s
28 John Ross Oliver Ross Subaru Impreza 58m 25s
29 Simon Byard Glyn Byard Peugeot 205 1h 00m 13s
30 Bob Wisniewski Paul Lettington Vauxhall Nova 1h 00m 53s
31 Brynli Thomas Steve Herbert Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 34m 18s
32 Terry Martin Simon Bentley Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 36m 36s
33 John Stephens Paul Stephens Citroen Visa 1F 50m 10s
34 Richard Atherton Christopher Bowden MG Maestro 2F 1h 31m 41s
35 Adrian Hopwood Dan Knight Peugeot 205 GTi 16F 1h 22m 23s
36 Michael Judson Derek Lewin Vauxhall Astra 18F 2h 32m 37s