rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

AB Motorsport Half Night Rally 2003

Matlock Motor Club

12th/13th July 2003

Clerk of the Course: Simon Randall

Route: 115 Miles

Maps: 119 & 120

Starters: 50

Winners: Guy Robinson/Gary Evans (Proton Persona)

AB Motorsport Half Night Rally 2003

Guy Robinson, partnered by Gary Evans, gave his Proton Persona its maiden victory on Matlock MC’s AB Motorsport Half Night Road Rally.

The 115 mile long event was a round of five major championships and attracted a capacity fifty car entry.

Robinson/Evans had built up a lead of thirty five seconds by the halfway halt and extended this by a further twelve by the Finish. Carl Hawkins/Steve Coupland started from the reserve list at Car 25, but they powered through to take the runner up spot, being the only crew within touch of the winners at the end.

There was a tight scrap for third place, with four crews separated by just seven seconds. Event sponsor Andy Baker, with Lee Burgess on the maps, took the position; they had lost ninety seconds early on when they were baulked by a non-competing car.

Tim Tordoff/Ian Frazer were the quickest crew over the second half of the rally but they dropped two minutes in the first half after mistakenly adding a extra loop to their route.

The leading novices were Paul Davis/Mark Wagstaff who brought their Peugeot 309 into tenth place overall.

Nick Toplis/Mick Fern were one of only a few retirements; their Nova GTE suffering a broken gearbox.

The rally was also a round of the HRCR Nocturnal Challenge, the historic event ran separately to the modern event but over exactly the same course. The winners of this section were Terry Pickering/Paul Robinson in their Triumph TR3, this was becoming the car to beat in the category in 2003. Their penalties would have put them in seventh place in the main event.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Guy Robinson Gary Evans Proton Persona 1m 00s
2 Carl Hawkins Steve Coupland Vauxhall Nova 1m 47s
3 Andy Baker Lee Burgess Peugeot 205 GTi 4m 42s
4 Jamie Gratton-Smith Roger Hage Peugeot 309 GTi 4m 43s
5 Tim Tordoff Ian Frazer Vauxhall Nova 4m 45s
6 Steve Webster John Pickavance Subaru Impreza 4m 59s
7 Simon Gibson Alan Ogden Ford Escort RS 7m 23s
8 Mark Slatcher Justin Chapman Vauxhall Astra GTE 8m 14s
9 Pete Gabbitas Andrew Hughes Toyota Corolla GT 11m 33s
10 Paul Davis Mark Wagstaff Peugeot 309 GTi 12m 29s
11 Mark Whitford James Savage Ford Escort 13m 24s
12 Graham Nunn Paul Nelson Peugeot 205 GTi 13m 33s
13 David Williams Richard Booth Renault Clio 13m 38s
14 Adrian Green Paul Hudson Seat Ibiza 14m 21s
15 Tony Michael Paul Barrett Honda Civic VTi 16m 30s
16 Andy Stinchcombe Malcolm Young Ford Sierra Sapphire 18m 07s
17 Abe Shenker Steve Brown Peugeot 205 GTi 19m 49s
18 Geoff Henman Sam Collis Peugeot 309 GTi 20m 58s
19 John Ross Oliver Ross Subaru Impreza 21m 05s
20 Russ Jones David Wilson BL Mini 23m 15s
21 Richard Lumb Andrew Lumb Vauxhall Nova 25m 39s
22 Tony Sims Gavin Ford Ford Sierra 4x4 29m 25s
23 Simon Gratton Ian Beech Peugeot 205 GTi 31m 59s
24 Bob Wisniewski Paul Lettington Vauxhall Nova GTE 1F 19m 51s
25 Nichola Hillier Dave Broadley MG Metro 1F 30m 50s
26 Kevin Hardwick Richard Calcroft Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 42m 50s
27 Joe Woodward Simon Tomlinson Peugeot 309 GTi 2F 53m 38s
28 Nigel Wright Dan Spittlehouse Vauxhall Nova GTE 4F 52m 15s
29 Adrian Ancliffe John Chadwick Ford Escort RS 5F 42m 12s
30 Jonathan Byard Glyn Byard Peugeot 205 GTi 6F 88m 19s
31 Dave McHaffie Craig Winter Rover Metro 8F 88m 36s
32 Dave Leadbetter Jenny Casey Ford Sierra 10F 128m 39s


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Terry Pickering Paul Robinson Triumph TR3 5m 49s
2 Roger Hunt Graham Dance Ford Escort Mexico 9m 55s
3 Worth Birkill Dave Harris Mini 1275 GT 16m 00s
4 Noel Hughes Gwawr Hughes Saab 96 V4 27m 06s
5 Tony Brooks Shon Gosling Austin 1300 33m 07s
6 Brian Cope Simon Appleton Mini Cooper S 33m 35s
7 Wes Massam Peter Blackett Volvo PV544 38m 34s
8 David York Geoff Rogers Sunbeam Rapier S2 40m 28s
9 Michael Hunter Howard Wilcock Triumph TR4A 42m 59s
10 Keith Jenkins Andy Gibson Saab 96 V4 3F 68m 50s
11 Robin Shackleton Ralph Lodge Sunbeam Rapier H120 11F 98m 36s
12 Gordon Winter Christopher Winter Hillman Imp 16F 145m 48s