rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

AB Motorsport Half Night Rally 2004

Matlock Motor Club

12th/13th July 2003

Clerk of the Course: Simon Randall

Route: 115 Miles

Maps: 111 119 & 120

Starters: 42

Winners: Mark Whitford/Steve Porter (Ford Escort)

Mark Whitford/Steve Porter took a clear cut win on Matlock MC’s AB Motorsport Rally, after 115 miles of rallying, and their key rivals falling by the wayside, they finished over two minutes clear of the field.

As usual a historic event ran alongside the main rally and it was one of these competitors that put up the best performance over the first half of the rally; Andy Lane/Paul Robinson arrived at Petrol having dropped 1m 09s, 25 seconds ahead of the next fastest crew. Unfortunately their Escort's engine failed in the second half and they were out.

Nick Toplis/Mick Fern (Vauxhall Nova) led the main event at the halfway point, they were on 1m 34s, 15 seconds in front of Steve Webster/Roger Hage (Subaru Impreza). Whitford/Porter were in third on 2m 20s.

Toplis/Fern lost their lead when they wrong slotted on to a slippery white and lost three minutes. They eventually finished in third place, 2m 37s behind the winners.

Webster/Hage arrived at the Finish with the least amount of penalties, but they found that they had been excluded for "time card irregularities".

All these excitements meant that Whitford/Porter finished in first place, ending up 2m 21s ahead of the runners up, Richard Chown/Mark Wagstaff (Peugeot 205 GTi).

Jonathan Bossen/Alan Pemberton (Subaru Impreza) cleaned the second half and moved up from ninth at Petrol to fourth at the Finish. Simon Banham/James Savage (Peugeot 205 GTi) were the leading Novice crew, taking a superb fifth place overall.

Competing in a 1400cc Peugeot 205, Mick Monaghan/Iain Tullie were the other crew to clean the second half. They had lost two minutes in the first half after meeting a tanker. They were classified in sixth.

James Carter/Jonathan Stockdale (Ford Escort) were the clear winners of the Historic Rally, they would have been classified in tenth place if the two rallies had been combined.

Lane/Robinson were not the only competitors to suffered a broken engine, both Tim Tordoff/Ian Frazer (Peugeot 205 GTi) and Craig Burgess/Lee Burgess (Peugeot 205 GTi) retired for the same reason.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Mark Whitford Steve Porter Ford Escort 2m 53s
2 Richard Chown Mark Wagstaff Peugeot 205 GTi 5m 14s
3 Nick Toplis Mick Fern Vauxhall Nova 5m 30s
4 Jonathan Bossen Alan Pemberton Subaru Impreza 5m 36s
5 Simon Banham James Savage Peugeot 205 GTi 5m 54s
6 Mick Monaghan Iain Tullie Peugeot 205 XS 6m 19s
7 Geoff Henman Sam Collis Vauxhall Nova 7m 06s
8 Mark Slatcher Justin Chapman Peugeot 205 GTi 8m 20s
9 Nik Kershaw Paul Nelson Peugeot 205 GTi 9m 24s
10 Russ Jones David Wilson Mini 1098 12m 05s
11 Tim Daltry Steve Hancock Peugeot 205 GTi 12m 34s
12 Graham Reeson Peter Reeson Peugeot 309 GTi 12m 48s
13 Iain Scott Jez Harries Peugeot 309 GTi 14m 28s
14 Mark Garraway David Wilkinson Ford Fiesta 14m 42s
15 Bruce Dunsmore Mike Hardman Vauxhall Nova 14m 54s
16 Mike Jones Jolyon Robinson Peugeot 205 GTi 15m 12s
17 Nichola Hillier Dave Broadley Rover Metro 15m 12s
18 Adrian Ancliffe John Chadwick Ford Escort 21m 22s
19 John Stephens Paul Stephens Ford Sierra 21m 31s
20 Mark Randall Craig Grist Vauxhall Nova 21m 58s
21 Trevor Faulkner Chris Faulkner Ford Orion 22m 57s
22 Ben Corbett Marcus Watmough Hillman Avenger 26m 47s
23 Chris Faulkner Chris Thorley Ford Sierra 33m 01s
24 Simon Tate Richard Wilson Opel Manta 1F 12m 55s
25 Roger Dowgill CROW Toyota Corolla 1F 36m 12s
26 Dave Leadbetter Gavin Leech Volvo 6F 37m 22s
27 Jonathan Byard Glyn Byard Peugeot 205 GTi 7F 32m 34s
28 Lee Hollinshead Neil Scott Peugeot 205 GTi 15F 173m 18s


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 James Carter Jonathan Stockdale Ford Escort 10m 48s
2 Andy Nash Nigel Raeburn Sunbeam Tiger 13m 58s
3 Colin Evans Graham Raeburn MGB GT 15m 59s
4 John Taylor Bill Grainger Riley 31m 39s
5 Ray Heathcote Pat Gadsby Vauxhall Viva 31m 58s
6 Shon Gosling Steve Skepper Mini 1275 37m 31s