rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Alnyte Road Rally 2003

Peterborough Motor Club

22nd/23rd March 2003

Clerk of the Course: Richard Elms

Route: 130 Miles

Maps: 142

Starters: 30

Winners: Nicola Hillier/Dave Bradley (MG Metro)

Peterborough MC’s Alnyte Rally ended with twenty-one of the thirty starters clear of penalties at the end of the 120 mile route. The matter was therefore decided on engine capacity, thus Nicola Hillier/Dave Bradley took their maiden victory in their 1293cc Metro.

The situation emphasised the difficulty of getting a result on the fast roads in the Fens. The organisers had intended using twenty miles of tracks, unfortunately permission for the use of these roads was withdrawn just a few days before the event.

The Alnyte, delayed due to wet weather from January, started and finished at Stibbington just west of Peterborough. The route took crews in an anti-clockwise loop around the organising club’s home town.

The nature of the event meant that any crew that had a clear run finished without penalties and the first twenty-one positions were determined by engine capacity. The Semi-Expert crews of Hillier/Bradley and Mark Banham/Paul Haylock took the top two places, with Bob Baker/Brian Cammack were the winners of the Expert category in third. The leading novices were John Stephens/Paul Stephens who were classified in fifth place in their Citreon Visa.

The top two seeds were heavily penalised as they both had turbocharged cars and an equivalence rule was applied; John Haden/Steve Porter were twentieth, while Guy Robinson/Charlie Wheeldon were one place further back.

The only retirement of the night was the Mini Ritz of Cocin Stephens/Kevan Gresham, they withdrew with a severe lack of brakes after the opening section.

Ray Heathcote/Pat Gadsby had planned to compete in their usual Vauxhall Viva, but that blew its gearbox on the way to the start. They therefore used the driver's Citreon XM Diesel Automatic. They lost ten minutes with a puncture on the final section.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Nichola Hillier Dave Broadley MG Metro 0m 00s
2 Mark Banham Paul Haylock Vauxhall Nova 0m 00s
3 Bob Baker Brian Cammack Vauxhall Corsa 0m 00s
4 Andy Lewin Gary Orton Peugeot 205 GTi 0m 00s
5 John Stephens Paul Stephens Citroen Visa 0m 00s
6 Nick Toplis Mick Fern Vauxhall Nova GTE 0m 00s
6 Rob Wisniewski Paul Lettington Vauxhall Nova GTE 0m 00s
6 Andy Baker Lee Burgess Peugeot 205 GTi 0m 00s
9 Tony Michael Paul Barnett Honda Civic 0m 00s
9 Adrian Green Paul Hudson Ford Fiesta XR2 0m 00s
9 Abe Shenker Steve Brown Peugeot 205 0m 00s
9 Chris Goodall Paul Bingham Vauxhall Chevette 0m 00s
13 Keith Astley Jeremy Pole Vauxhall Astra 0m 00s
14 Graham Marshall Dave Oliver Peugeot 205 GTi 0m 00s
14 Simon Banham James Savage Peugeot 205 GTi 0m 00s
14 Joe Woodward TBA Peugeot 309 GTi 0m 00s
17 John Ross Oliver Ross Subaru Impreza 0m 00s
18 David Williams Richard Booth Renault Clio 0m 00s
18 Mark Slatcher Justin Chapman Vauxhall Astra 0m 00s
20 John Haden Steve Porter Subaru Impreza 0m 00s
21 Guy Robinson Charlie Wheeldon Proton Persona 0m 00s
22 Tim Daltry Paul Fillis Ford Escort 1m 00s
23 Ray Heathcote Pat Gadsby Citroen XM Diesel 10m 00s
24 Roger Dowgill Robin Hernaman Toyota Corolla GT 14m 00s
25 Michael Watkins Graham Cherry MG Maestro 32m 00s
26 Dave Rowbottom Liz Rowbottom Toyota Corolla 38m 00s
27 Alan Kemp Thomas Kemp Peugeot 205 42m 00s
28 Chris Rider James Godley Citroen Saxo VTR 47m 00s
29 Cocin Stephens Kevan Gresham Mini Ritz 900m 00s