rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Armstrong Massey Road Rally 2003

Sponsored by Armstrong Massey

Beverley & District Motor Club

12th/13th July 2003

Clerk of the Course: Matthew Atkinson

Route: 128 Miles

Maps: 100 101 & 106

Starters: 16

Winners: Graham Hepworth/Iain Tullie (Vauxhall Cavalier)

The Armstrong Massey Road Rally was won by the very standard Cavalier of Graham Hepworth/Iain Tullie.

The Beverley & District MC event normally ran as a single venue stage event, but the loss of its regular venue at Leconfield Airfield meant that the club decided to run it as a road rally in 2003.

A clash with other events led to a small entry of sixteen cars. Generally straight forward but time consuming navigation saw crew amass quite high penalties after they’d traversed the 128 mile route in the Yorkshire Wolds.

The standard of navigation played into the hands of Hepworth/Tullie who were competing in a turbo deisel Cavalier without either spotlights or sumpguard. They lay third after the first time card but picked up the pace to finish five minutes ahead of Andy Beaumont/Mike Petch. Beaumont/Petch having led initially.

John Dimbleby/David Dimbleby had been less than thirty seconds behind the winners at the halfway point, but they were to retire soon afterwards with a suspected broken engine mounting on their Fiesta.

The first novice crew home were Richard Wardle/Gareth Frank. The only finishers in the Clubmans event were Peter Burns/Andrew Symonds.

The rally was a round of the inter-club Larkspeed Challenge. It saw Ilkley MC crews taking first and third places with Beverley MC members securing the four remaining top six positions.

With their Peugeot 205 not yet ready, Gavin Smith/Graham Gardner started in a Porsche 911, to complete the image they competed in full evening dress. They finished seventh.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Graham Hepworth Iain Tullie Vauxhall Cavalier 11m 54s
2 Andy Beaumont Mike Petch Proton Satria 16m 49s
3 Dave Chapman David Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 29m 46s
4 David Tubman John Tubman Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 19m 35s
5 Richard Wardle Gareth Frank Vauxhall Nova 3F 103m 24s
6 Chris Dunn Mark Edwards Peugeot 205 GTi 3F 119m 52s
7 Gavin Smith Graham Gardner Porsche 911 4F 36m 14s
8 Tim Rodgers Roger Cunningham Peugeot 205 GTi 5F 28m 42s
9 Paul Metcalfe Stuart Wright Vauxhall Nova 8F 76m 44s
10 Francis Tindall Mrk Tindall Vauxhall Nova GSi 8F 116m 44s
11 Peter Burns Andrew Symmonds Opel Ascona 9F 106m 23s
12 Mark Casey Glyn Casey Vauxhall Nova SR 15F 91m 52s
13 Andrew Howden Angela Cammish Ford Fiesta XR2 30F 61m 41s