rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Barbara Carter Memorial Rally 2002

Exmouth Motor Club

8th/9th June 2002

Clerk of the Course: Alan Whitney

Route: 98 Miles

Maps: 192

Starters: 24

Winners: Darren Dixon/Peter Barnard (Peugeot 205)

Exmouth MC's annual road rally was renamed in honour of Barbara Carter, an enthusiastic motorsport supporter and competitor, who died in 2001. Many of those taking part in the event had previous competed with Barbara.

Barbara Carter Memorial Rally 2002
Winners: Darren Dixon/Peter Barnard (Peugeot 205)
Photo: M&H Photography

The rally used a 42 control 98 mile route in East Devon and was a round of the South Western Championship. The first half was pre-plot and there were fourteen crews still clean of penalties at the petrol halt, however the second half used a plot 'n bash format, utilising map references and tulips. By the Finish all competitors had dropped time.

When the results were announced it was found that two crews had tied for the win with penalties of two minutes. The matter was therefore decided on egine capacity, with the Peugeot 205 1.9 of Darren Dixon/Peter Barnard taking the win from the Vauxhall Cavalier 2.0 of Adrian Beer/Chris Beer. The victory gave Dixon the lead of the South Western Championship. Beer/Beer has the consilation of taking the Novice Award.

Scott Jonas/Andy Ballantyne were a further two minutes behind to take third and the Expert Award. Sheldon Ware, who had led the South Western Championship prior to the rally, was partnered by Jason Hayes to fourth place. Roger Hunt/Graham Dance were fifth but this was only after having to repair the subframe of their Peugeot 205 at the petrol halt.

Former top Motoring News 1300 Championship contender of the Eighties Kim Kirk, a fellow competitor of Barbara Carter, made his first rally appearance for ten years, and partnered by Calvin Fenwick, finished in tenth place.

There a number of notable performances including that of Nick Jones, who was naviagting on his first ever rally, who with Barry Luxton at the wheel, took third place in the Novice class. David Garnett/Bryan Whitney were expected to be one of the main contenders for the Novice award but a major wrong slot saw them loose eighteen minutes.

Of the twenty-four starters, all were classified as finishers.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Darren Dixon Pete Barnard Peugeot 205 GTi 2m 00s
2 Adrian Beer Chris Beer Vauxhall Cavalier 2m 00s
3 Scott Jonas Andy Ballantyne Ford Escort 4m 00s
4 Sheldon Ware Jason Hayes Ford Escort 7m 00s
5 Roger Hunt Graham Dance Peugeot 205 GTi 8m 00s
6 Stuart Wood Bob Jones Ford Mondeo 9m 00s
7 Bill Taylor Paul Taylor Ford Granada 10m 00s
8 Jim Cassidy Chris Penny Mazda 323 14m 00s
9 Andy Hewett Nigel Hewett Mini 15m 00s
10 Kim Kirk Calvin Fenwick Peugeot 106 Rallye 15m 00s