rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Barbara Carter Memorial Rally 2003

Exmouth Motor Club

5th/6th July 2003

Clerk of the Course: Alan Whitney

Route: 98 Miles

Maps: 192

Starters: 35

Winners: Darren Dixon/Peter Barnard (Peugeot 205)

Darren Dixon/Peter Barnard once again demonstrated their mastery of the south Devon lanes when they took their second successive win on Exmouth MC’s Barbara Carter Memorial Rally.

The event, a round of the South Western Road Rally Championship, attracted a healthy entry of thirty-five starters. They were to tackle a demanding 98 mile route, made even more difficult by the over grown nature of Mid-Summer lanes.

Dixon/Barnard finished four minutes clear of Steve Cole/Bob Blows. Second place had to be decided on a furthest clean tie break as Mike Biss/Cath Woodman finished on the same penalty as Cole/Blows, the latter crew took the runner up spot.

Biss/Woodman had been forced to use the driver's Astra Diesel Estate after the engine in his intended mount, a Peugeot 205 GTi, blew. The got stuck in a ford on the first section and cracked the sump, this delay led to them being slower than Cole/Blows on the vital section, which became the tie-breaker at the Finish. The Astra Estate also sported damage at the end of the rally after colliding with a badger.

The Expert class was won by Richard Endean/Kevin Wills, who finished fourth, they would have been second but picked up two minutes unnecessary penalties after booking in early at a time control.

Barbara Carter Memorial Rally 2003
Historic Category Winners: Worth Birkhill/Dave Harris (Mini 1275GT)
Photograph: M&H Photography

Worth Birkhill/Dave Harris managed to survive gearbox problems on their Mini to take the Historic category and fifth overall. They had also lost four minutes looking for a code board and being delayed after meeting a milk tanker. Category rivals, Peter Noad/Peter Cox, retired with a broken gearbox on their Audi 80 GT.

Top 1980s Motoring News Championship contender Kim Kirk teamed up with the 2002 South Western Championship navigator Bob Jones to take sixth place. It was a good night for the Jones clan, as Bob’s son Nic navigated Barry Luxton to victory in the Novice class.

Ninth place was enough to keep Jack Curran/Dave Bardwell in the lead of the South Western Open Championship.

Andy Hewitt/Nigel Hewitt were joint leaders at the petrol halt but were forced to retire soon afterwards when they bent the steering on their Mini.

A number of crews, including Bob Dance/Graham Dance, fell foul of a hard to find track and picked up penalties for a wrong approach at a PC.

Ian Mepham/John Upham (VW Golf GTi) lost eight minutes when they got stuck on a tight hairpin. They finished in 16th place. Dave Coles/Lizzie Pope failed to make the finish after wrong slotting and getting stuck.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Darren Dixon Pete Barnard Peugeot 205 GTi 10m 00s
2 Steve Cole Bob Blows Peugeot 205 GTi 14m 00s
3 Mike Biss Cath Woodman Vauxhall Astra Estate 14m 00s
4 Richard Endean Kevin Willis Peugeot 205 GTi 16m 00s
5 Worth Birkhill Dave Harris Mini 1275 GT 16m 00s
6 Kim Kirk Bob Jones Peugeot 106 Rallye 17m 00s
7 Mark Appleton John Stringer Peugeot 106 Rallye 17m 00s
8 Gary Woods Stuart Woods VW Golf GTi 19m 00s
9 Jack Curran Dave Bardwell VW Golf GTi 21m 00s
10 Matt Fowle Ian Collings Peugeot 205 GTi 22m 00s
11 Scott Jonas Andy Ballantyne Ford Escort 24m 00s
12 Barry Luxton Nic Jones VW Golf GTi 24m 00s
13 Phil Kendall Jonah Nuttgens Peugeot 309 GTi 26m 00s
14 Chris Simmons Mike Stayte Peugeot 205 GTi 28m 00s
15 Jim Cassidy Chris Perry Peugeot 205 GTi 28m 00s
16 Ian Mepham John Upham VW Golf GTi 34m 00s
17 Nick Brown Greg Evans Vauxhall Cavalier 37m 00s
18 Tony Bonfield Jason Hayes Ford Escort Mk3 38m 00s
19 Bob Wisniewski Paul Lettington Vauxhall Nova GTE 38m 00s
20 Maria McKenzie Roger McKenzie Ford Escort 51m 00s
21 Graham Child Kevin Ablitt Ford Escort Mexico 54m 00s
22 Rob Dance Graham Dance Alfa Romeo 59m 00s
23 Gavin Braddock Chris Goddard Vauxhall Belmont 65m 00s
24 Paul Howes Pete Cann Vauxhall Nova 69m 00s
25 Timo Rumary Daryl Powell Audi 80 Quattro 144m 00s
26 Marc Coles Steven Pye Ford Escort 171m 00s
27 Stewart Wood Sean Drewitt Rover Metro 232m 00s
28 Mark Baron Derek Gibbs VW Golf GTi 267m 00s
29 Steve Holis Martin Uglow Ford Sierra XR4i 329m 00s