rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Barbara Carter Memorial Rally 2004

Exmouth Motor Club

10th/11th July 2004

Clerk of the Course: Alan Whitney

Route: 98 Miles

Maps: 192

Starters: 43

Winners: Worth Birkhill/David Harris (Morris Mini) + Roger Hunt/Graham Dance (Vauxhall Nova) + Simon Robison/Perry Roe (Skoda Fabia 1.9DT)

Three crews finished the Barbara Carter Memorial Rally with clean sheets and therefore shared the overall win.

The Exmouth MC event used a compact route in eastern Devon split into ten sections. Navigation was plot 'n bash throughout, the route being defined by tulip diagrams.

All three winners received awards; Worth Birkhill/David Harris won the Historic category prize, Simon Robison/Perry Roe, who started at Car 21 in the diesel engined Skoda, took the Semi-Expert class trophy, while Roger Hunt/Graham Dance received the overall award.

Top seeds and winners for the previous two years, Darren Dixon/Peter Barnard, dropped a minute on the only white of the rally and were classified fourth. Simon Bush/John Upham were a further minute down, but collected valuable Rally 2004 Championship points.

Former MN Championship regular Kim Kirk, who was partnered by Rupert Barker, took the Novice Class win. Steve Brown/Barry Southam were the winners in the Beginners category.

Phil Kendall/Andy Coshan rolled their Peugeot into retirement on the first section. This incident delayed Hunt/Dance, but they managed to still the section.

Matt Fowle/Gavin Rogers (Peugeot 106) retired after the navigator became unwell.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Worth Birkhill Dave Harris Mini 1275 GT 0m 00s
1 Roger Hunt Graham Dance Vauxhall Nova GTE 0m 00s
1 Simon Robison Perry Roe Skoda Fabia 1.9DT 0m 00s
4 Darren Dixon Pete Barnard Peugeot 205 GTi 1m 00s
5 Simon Bush John Upham VW Golf GTi 2m 00s
6 Ian Mepham Ian Collings Peugeot 205 GTi 4m 00s
7 Richard Cann Calvin Fenwick Citroen ZX 7m 00s
7 Adam Holder Simon Harris Peugeot 205 7m 00s
9 Barry Luxton Nic Jones VW Golf GTi 9m 00s
10 Olly Smith David Coles Peugeot 309 GTi 11m 00s
10 Kim Kirk Rupert Barker Peugeot 106 Rallye 11m 00s
12 Jim Cassidy Chris Perry Peugeot 205 18m 00s
12 Graham Yates Richard Arnold Peugeot 205 GTi 18m 00s
14 Glynn Moore Greg Evans Subaru WRX STi 19m 00s
15 Bob Wisniewski Paul Lettington Vauxhall Nova GTE 21m 00s
16 Graham Child Kevin Ablitt Ford Escort Mexico 31m 00s
17 Toby Jeffries Lizzie Pope Vauxhall Nova SR 33m 00s
17 Chin Linda O'Connell Opel Manta 33m 00s
19 Mike Rowlands Michael Froment VW Golf 35m 00s
20 Andy Garrett Ed Butler Peugeot 205 37m 00s
21 Jo Tucker Alf Chanter Vauxhall Nova 42m 00s
22 Steve Brown Barry Southam Peugeot 205 46m 00s
23 Paul Harewood Jo Boyland Vauxhall Astra 48m 00s
24 Dave Bushby Roger McKenzie Peugeot 205 GTi 51m 00s
25 Stewart Wood Sean Drewitt Rover Metro 87m 00s
25 Merlin Cadogan Owen Drayton Audi Coupe Quattro 87m 00s
27 Timo Rumary Nigel Colgrave Audi 91m 00s
28 Neville Frampton Michael Gray Mini Clubman 1275GT 95m 00s
29 Steve Hollis Mark Cartwright Ford Sierra 174m 00s