rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Barcud Motor Club Rally 2002

Sponsored by T D Davies & Son

Barcud Motor Club

8th/9th June 2002

Clerk of the Course: Paul Rooke & Roddy Daniels

Route: 115 Miles

Maps: 135 & 146

Starters: 53

Winners: Gareth ‘Gog’ Jones/Patrick Walsh (ford Escort)

There was a close finish to the Barcud Rally as only one second separated the two fastest crews after 110 miles of motoring. It was the Ford Escort of Gareth 'Gog' Jones/Patrick Walsh that took victory over the VW Golf of Phil Turner/Owen Dodd. Neither crew had been in the top three at the halfway point but both pushed to the limit in the second half which used the lanes around Lampeter.

Barcud Motor Club Rally 2002

The Tregaron based event starting with the tightest section of the night, which used the whites around Ysbyty Ystwyth including the rough track to the south of Llanafan Forest. Crews then progressed almost to Llannon before turning south to the west of Lampeter.

There were fifty-three starters, of whom forty made it to the Finish. Sponsorship came from the local garage of T D Davies & Sons at Llangeitho. Road conditions were slippery towards the end of the first half as a light drizzle began to fall and there was some patchy fog in the second half.

Jones/Walsh were in only sixth place after the first section, having been slowed by the poti failing, this meant that navigation had to be conducted by torchlight. Despite this problem and a starter motor which refused to work, they charged through the second half, dropping only ten seconds to secure the victory, a third of the year for Walsh.

Phil Turner/Owen Dodd were a last minute entry and so ran at Car 0. They were only fifth after the opening test but pulled all the stops out in the second half and initially looked as if they'd done enough for Turner to repeat his winning performance of two years previously. However Jones' speed in the latter section denied Turner the victory by just one second.

Martyn O'Connor/Peter Collins had been the rally leaders after the opening section and had a sixteen second lead when their Vauxhall Astra developed gearbox problems, they were forced to retire. Their demise meant that Ceri Richards/Aled Jones and Paul Tod/Iestyn ap Daffydd, who were separated by seven seconds at petrol halt, looked to be the leading contenders for victory, however neither crew were able to match the pace of the two leaders in the second half and they had to be content with third and fourth places. Richards/Jones being just a second ahead of Tod/ap Daffydd at the Finish.

Barcud Motor Club Rally 2002
Winners: Gareth ‘Gog’ Jones/Patrick Walsh (Ford Escort)

Ap Dafydd reported "We kissed bankings about eight times in the course of the night and had a major moment over a crest-k-left in the first half. We lost one spot while turning around in a lane to pick up a missed slot; we spun almost round to change direction, then just rolled forward into the bank at about three miles an hour".

Alyson Acreman/Byron Jones seemed to have had a disasterous start to their event when they picked up a puncture just after the start of competitive motoring. Having stopped to change the wheel, they had the car fall off the jack. They lost over ten minutes in the incident, but a faulty clock meant that penalties for that section were cancelled and the pairing went on to take fifth place overall.

Three Semi-Expert crews made it into the top ten, with Darren Williams/Dylan Jones making it to sixth place overall a minute clear of their nearest class rivals, who were Jon Stobbs/Gary Robbins. Gary Baxter/Daniel Maclachlan survived a major moment, which caused some damage to the front wing of their Renault 5, to take third in the class and ninth overall. The leading novices were Jason Harris/Geraint Jones who were two minutes in front of Lee Heywood/Mark Hamilton.

A number of fancied crews made early exits from the fray. Wyn 'Slim' Jones/Wyn Davies had their Astra come to a halt near Llanafan Forest, the car just stopping for no apparent reason. Dafydd Edwards/Deian Rees withdrew after smashing their lights in a controversial collision with the Escort of Russel Carson Brown/Andy Oakes, the latter crew continuing to take twelfth place at the Finish.

There were a number of offs, most notably Gary Jenkins/Ian Cooke caused severe damage to their Peugeot 205 after hitting a wall. Doreen Davies/Anthony Davies retired their Escort after hitting a bank, the impact pushing the radiator into the engine. Hywel Greaves/Martin Richards also cause significant, but mainly superficial, damage to their Chevette after getting it wedged between two banks.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Gareth 'Gog' Jones Patrick Walsh Ford Escort 1m 43s
2 Phil Turner Owen Dodd VW Golf GTi 1m 44s
3 Ceri Richard Aled Jones Ford Escort 1m 59s
4 Paul Tod Iestyn ap Dafydd Peugeot 205 GTi 2m 00s
5 Alyson Acreman Byron Jones Honda Civic 2m 26s
6 Darren Williams Dylan Jones Vauxhall Astra GTE 2m 55s
7 Andrew Williams Iestyn Leyshon Vauxhall Astra GTE 3m 27s
8 Jon Stobbs Gary Robbins Toyota Corolla 3m 49s
9 Gary Baxter Daniel MacLachlan Renault 5 4m 09s
10 Daniel Jones Elgan Davies Ford Escort 4m 10s
11 Aled Garner Dylan Garner Toyota Corolla 4m 22s
12 Russell Carson-Brown Andy Oakes Ford Escort 4m 34s
13 Colin Thomas Leyton Williams Nissan Sunny 5m 27s
14 Paul Davies Peter Smith Vauxhall Nova 5m 47s
15 Wyn Hughes Paul Jenkins Nissan Sylvia Turbo 6m 35s
16 Dyfrig James Emyr Jones VW Golf GTi 7m 30s
17 Jason Harris Geraint Jones Peugeot 205 7m 39s
18 Lee Heywood Mark Hamilton Ford Escort 9m 24s
19 Sean Crowley Paul Dark Ford Sierra 10m 13s
20 Selwyn Jones Wyn Lewis Ford Escort 10m 30s
21 Darren Morris Alec Morris Ford Escort 10m 57s
22 David Chandler Andrew Phillips Ford Escort Van 13m 06s
23 Mike James Richard Evans Vauxhall Astra GTE 13m 32s
24 Roger Harris Beth Evans Renault 19 16v 13m 41s
25 Marc Jones Bill Williams Ford Sierra 14m 24s
26 Simon Chandler David Manning Ford Escort 20m 17s
27 Wil Whitehurst Lucy Errington Vauxhall Astra GTE 21m 30s
28 Adam John Rhiddian Jones Ford Escort 21m 33s
29 Barry Phillips Huw Phillips Ford Escort 22m 11s
30 Robert James Eurig Davies Rover 216 23m 48s
31 Julian Smith Chris Short Toyota Corolla 31m 04s
32 Robert Price Mark Coleman Vauxhall Astra GTE 31m 11s
33 Iwan Jones Adam Rees-Stevenson Peugeot 205 32m 02s
34 Hefin Owen Steffan Evans Peugeot 205 1F 36m 46s
35 Paul Williams Amanda Maczak Vauxhall Astra 2F 21m 08s
36 Jason Sugden Darren Beynon Vauxhall Nova 3F 23m 39s
37 Dafydd Lewis Rhydian Mason Vauxhall Astra 7F 22m 02s
38 Mikey Davies Alan Lloyd Ford Escort 7F 27m 35s
39 Jonathan Harrison Jonathan Jones Toyota Starlet 16F 43m 15s
40 John Williams Jack Fowler Ford Escort 16F 54m 31s