rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Beaver Rally

Sponsored by Maple Garage

Beverley & District Motor Club

1st/2nd December 2001

Clerk of the Course: Graeme Potter

Route: 140 Miles

Maps: 106 & 107

Starters: 42

Winners: Dave Twilton/Mike Petch (Vauxhall Vectra)

Dave Twilton/Mike Petch took their Vauxhall Vectra to victory on the Maple Garage Beaver Road Rally. The Beverely & District Motor Club event used a 140 mile route in the Humberside area, and due to the Foot & Mouth epidemic, all on surfaced roads. However crews had to contend with intermittently icy conditions throughout the night.

Having been second fastest on the opening section, Twilton/Petch took the lead soon afterwards and retained it until the Finish, coming home ninety seconds ahead of the Peugeot 205 of Mark Turner/Richard Pashley.

Twelve year old David Dimbleby, navigating for his father John, showed that his top ten finish on the previous month's Cossack Rally wasn’t a fluke, by taking third overall on the Beaver, just a minute off second. Cossack organisers Bob Marshall/Roger Hage were one place futher back in their Vauxhall Corsa.

Gavin Smith/Michael Ogram had been holding second place when they slid off the road in the icy conditions on the penultimate section of the night. Their Peugeot 205 was undamaged but they were unable to regain the road without the assistance of a recovery vehicle. Andy Beaumont/Dan Robinson put their Proton into the lead with a time over a minute faster than anyone else on the first section, but despite recording an equally impressive time on the last section, penalties elsewhere meant that they could only manage 22nd overall at the Finish.

Top seeds Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie were lying third after the first timed to the second section but then their Nova developed a gear linkage problem. They stopped to rectify the problem in what they thought was a neutral section, unfortunately it was a transport section and they found themselves penalies fifteen minutes for late arrival at the next control. When they discovered their error they withdrew from the rally.

John Haden/Steve Coupland lost out on what would have been third place after they picked up a fail as they booked in early at the start of the first section. Richard Hill/Paul Holmberg had a difficult night’s sport, without any local knowledge they struggled with the cryptic navigation, but had the consolation of taking second fastest time on the last timed to the second section.

Terry Martin/Simon Bentley were another crew to have an unsuccessful outing, picking up unnecessary penalties after booking in early at two separate controls and then suffering a third bent steering rack of the year after hitting a pothole as they cut a corner.

The battle for the Semi-Expert class was closely fought, with David Williams/Richard Booth being passed on the very last section by Dave Chapman/David Taylor, the two crews taking fifth and sixth overall. John Savage/Paul Rhodes took the Novice Class award in their Mini Clubman, Dave Bennett/Oliver Jopson were the fastest crew in the class but a fail deprived them of the win.

The East Midlands Millennium Challenge was a series intended to encourage novice crews into the sport, as on other events it ran over a shorter route on the Beaver and saw a win for the Ford Sierra 4x4 of John Brindley/Chris Thorley.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Dave Twilton Mike Petch Vauxhall Vectra 3m 14s
2 Mark Turner Richard Pashley Peugeot 205 GTi 15m 41s
3 John Dimbleby David Dimbleby Mini Cooper S 5m 46s
4 Bob Marshall Roger Hage Vauxhall Corsa 6m 23s
5 Dave Chapman David Taylor Vauxhall Astra GTE 6m 27s
6 David Williams Richard Booth Renault Clio 7m 48s
7 Andy Whittaker Charlie Tynan Peugeot 205 GTi 9m 29s
8 Nik Kershaw Richard Hage Peugeot 205 GTi 9m 41s
9 Nick Bowers Richard Todd VW Golf 12m 19s
10 Mark Whitford Steve Porter Toyota Corolla 12m 51s
11 Paul Schatz Jerry Hettrick Citroen ZX 13m 27s
12 Richard Hill Paul Holmberg Ford Sierra Cosworth 13m 31s
13 Jason Turner Alastair Crosby Peugeot 309 GTi 13m 36s
14 Howard Price Carl Williamson Toyota Corolla 13m 42s
15 Matthew Fox Graham Willock Peugeot 309 GTi 14m 36s
16 Chris Pullan John Thornton Peugeot 205 GTi 15m 07s
17 David Tubman John Tubman Ford Focus 16m 16s
18 John Pickavance Andrew Lumb Ford Escort 16m 25s
19 Malcolm Holdsworth Richard Holdsworth Toyota Corolla GT 17m 52s
20 Terry Martin Simon Bentley Peugeot 205 GTi 17m 52s
21 Adrian Green Paul Hudson Ford Fiesta XR2 20m 34s
22 Andy Beaumont Dan Robinson Proton Satria 21m 22s
23 John Savage Paul Rhodes Mini Clubman 27m 32s
24 Curley Haigh Sally Peacock Ford Escort Van 34m 51s
25 James Ashton Ian Beech Vauxhall Corsa 39m 10s
26 Len Smith Richard Lumb Mini Cooper S 39m 19s
27 Ralph Jackson Andy Ford Volvo 440 GLT 61m 22s
28 John Haden Steve Coupland Subaru Impreza 1F 6m 25s
29 Dave Bennett Oliver Jopson Leyland Mini 1F 20m 31s
30 Peter Reeson Paul Daft Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 28m 38s
31 Jason Birks Christopher White Vauxhall Cavalier 3F 64m 54s
32 Brian Cope Stan Appleton Mini Cooper S 8F 56m 11s

ADR Millennium Challenge

Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 John Brindley Chris Thorley Ford Sierra 4x4 14m 44s
2 Paul Wilson Jonathan Broadbent Vauxhall Cavalier 38m 39s
3 Chris Faulkner Tony Smith Ford Sierra 1F 54m 33s
4 Christopher Rider Stu Marriott Triumph Spitfire 10F 174m 10s
5 Michael Watkins Graham Cherry MG Maestro 12F 149m 50s