rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Beaver Rally 2003

Sponsored by Maple Garage

Beverley & District Motor Club

29th/30th November 2003

Clerk of the Course: Graeme Potter & Ian Gibbins

Route: 130 Miles

Maps: 106 & 107

Starters: 43

Winners: Tim Rodgers/Mike Ogram (Honda Civic Type R)

Tim Rodgers/Mike Ogram survived an off road excursion to win Beverley & District MC’s Beaver Rally in their Civic Type-R. The 130 mile event used a plot ‘n bash format in the fast lanes of North Humberside. The route was split into three, with two petrol halts, the first at Leven, the second in Shiptonthorpe.

Rodgers/Ogram visited a field on an unfenced road early on, but then took fastest time on three of the four regularity sections, which were all timed to the second. It provided the driver with his first out right rally win. They finished more than five minutes ahead of any of their rivals.

Guy Robinson/Charles Wheeldon finished with just 19 seconds more time penalties, but a missed code board early on in the rally cost them a five minutes extra. Despite this they still finished second.

The format of the event seemed to favour the more powereful cars in the entry and the top three was rounded off by the Impreza of John Ross/Oliver Ross. David Tubman/John Tubman (Peugeot 205 GTi) held fourth place at First Petrol and retained this at the Finish.

Geoff Henman/Lee Burgess (Peugeot 205 GTi) had held second place at the one third mark, but lost more than two minutes on next regularity and ended the rally in ninth, a minute off fourth place.

The Beaver was the penultimate round of the ANCC Championship and while Iain Tullie had already secured the navigators’ series, the drivers’ title was still up for grabs. Malcolm Holdsworth had led the series prior to the rally, but he was forced out when his navigator, son Richard, became ill. The table was now headed by Jon Lawson, who finished fifth on the Beaver. The results meant that Lawson, Holdsworth and Andy Beaumont, who finished seventh on the Beaver, would be left to battle it out for the Drivers' Championship on the final round, the CSMA Rally.

Lawson's map man, Chris Pringle, now tied with the winner, Mike Ogram, in the battle for the runner up spot in the ANCC Navigator's Championship.

Terry Martin had been in with a chance of taking the drivers' title prior to the Beaver, but he had to withdraw his entry on the Beverley event due to a back injury. His navigator, Simon Bentley, turned out and marshalled.

Mark Slatcher/Justin Chapman (Vauxhall Astra) finished in thirteenth place and took the Semi-Expert Class, while the leading Novices were Mick Smith/Dan Spittlehouse (Ford Escort).

John Pickavance/Paul Nelson retired in the latter stages after putting their Ford Escort through a hedge on Millington Pasture. The Ford Orion of Trevor Faulkner/Christopher Faulkner suffered a similar fate on the middle segment of the rally. Gav Smith had borrowed his wife's Peugeot 306 for the event, unfortunately he wrote it off after colliding with a kerb.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Tim Rodgers Mike Ogram Honda Civic Type-R 3m 39s
2 Guy Robinson Charlie Wheeldon Proton Persona 8m 58s
3 John Ross Oliver Ross Subaru Impreza 9m 41s
4 David Tubman John Tubman Peugeot 205 GTi 10m 50s
5 Jon Lawson Chris Pringle Honda Civic 10m 56s
6 John Haden Iain Tullie Subaru Impreza Estate 11m 11s
7 Andy Beaumont Matt Blood Proton Satria Super 11m 17s
8 Stan Feathrstone Plug Pullayn Ford Sierra 11m 27s
9 Geoff Hennman Lee Burgess/td> Peugeot 205 GTi 11m 44s
10 Andy Whittaker Charlie Tynan Peugeot 205 GTi 12m 49s
11 Dave Chapman David Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 13m 12s
12 Simon Randall Paul Davenport BMW M3 15m 17s
13 Mark Slatcher Justin Chapman Vauxhall Astra 17m 57s
14 Abe Shenker Steve Brown Peugeot 205 GTi 18m 20s
15 Sandie Taylor Paul Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 19m 26s
16 Peter Reeson Roger Hage Peugeot 205 GTi 20m 06s
17 David Howell Stephen Taylor Opel Manta 25m 31s
18 Mick Smith Dan Spittlehouse Ford Escort 32m 57s
19 Craig Whitehead Lee Hudson Ford Fiesta XR2 33m 42s
20 Bruce Dunsmore Sam Collis Vauxhall Nova 36m 48s
21 John Stephens Paul Stephens Ford Escort 38m 08s
22 Brian Moore Paul Dimbleby Ford Escort 38m 57s
23 Bill Chadwick Alan Edwards Peugeot 205 GTi 39m 13s
24 Chris Dunn Mark Edwards Peugeot 205 GTi 40m 29s
25 Simon Tate Richard Wilson Opel Manta 43m 47s
26 James Carter Jonathan Stockdale Ford Escort 45m 48s
27 Bernard Watkins Adam Roper Vauxhall Cavalier 47m 24s
28 Nigel Wright Martin Payne Vauxhall Nova GTE 49m 46s
29 Paul Metcalfe Stuart Wright Mini Sprite 59m 46s
30 Simon Byard Glyn Byard Peugeot 205 GTi 63m 37s
31 James Everard David Jobling Peugeot 106 65m 30s
32 Richard Wardle Gareth Frank Vauxhall Nova 72m 46s
33 Graham Reeson Richard Hage Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 22m 44s
34 James Vincent Kelvin Phipps Peugeot 205 XS 1F 79m 29s
35 Francis Tindall Mark Tindall Vauxhall Nova GSi 2F 69m 37s
36 Mark Casey Glyn Casey Vauxhall Nova 1300S 2F 107m 08s