rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Border 100 Rally 1997

Sponsored by Phil Turner Motorsport + Dave Watkins Transport

Welsh Border Car Club

12th/13th April 1997

Clerk of the Course: Nigel Roberts & Brian Jones

Route: 93 Miles

Maps: 125 & 126

Starters: 40

Winners: Phil Turner/Owen Dodd (Toyota Corolla)

Border 100 Rally 1997

Phil Turner/Owen Dodd took a comfortable win on Welsh Border CC's Border 100 Road Rally; fittingly Turner also sponsored the event through his motorsport preparation company.

Welsh Border CC had designed the North Powys based rally to attract novice crews - keeping the route to 93 miles and making the navigation as straight forward as possible by providing competitors with high quality photocopied maps showing the route. They were rewarded with a full 40 car entry.

Turner/Dodd were the class of the field all night, their only hinderance being the lack of an effective handbrake on the tight junctions. Derwyn Evans, a road rally star of the Eighties, made a return parternered by Alan Lovett, he had been expected to challenge Turner for victory, unfortunately Evans' event came to an end when his Metro's head gasket failed.

The novice award went to Chris Bolver/Denny Harris, who achieved ninth overall in their Ford Anglia; this was despite the need for a large infusion of oil at the petrol halt.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Phil Turner Owen Dodd Toyota Corolla 0m 37s
2 Nigel Thomas Phil Stocking Ford Escort 1m 07s
3 Cyril Jones Chris Read Ford Escort Mk5 2m 02s
4 Alwyn Jones Aled Pennant Ford Escort 2m 20s
5 Ian Ross Andy Oakes Ford Escort 3m 32s
6 Michael Harrison Corin Redman Ford Escort 3m 46s
7 John Jones Chris Rowlands Renault 11 Turbo 3m 52s
8 Glyn Price Ian Furniss Ford Escort 4m 26s
9 Chris Bolver Denny Harris Ford Anglia 5m 22s
10 Mike Hart Chris Froom VW Golf GTi 5m 40s