rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Border 100 Rally 1998

Sponsored by Phil Turner Motorsport

Welsh Border Car Club

4th/5th April 1998

Clerk of the Course: Steve Davies

Route: 93 Miles

Maps: 125 & 126

Starters: 50

Winners: Kevin Parry/Gareth Price (Toyota Corolla)

Welsh Border Car Club's Border 100 Rally was won by the Toyota Corolla of Kevin Parry/Gareth Price. The rally, a low key 'fun' event, attracted a full 50 car entry, who tackled a very wet 93 mile route in the Llanfyllin/Oswestry area. The rally was split into seven sections, with crews being provided with photocopied maps.

Pre-event favourite and rally sponsor Phil Turner, partnered by Owen Dodd, failed to make it to the finish after his Escort developed electrical and fuel pump problems. They weren't the only leading crews to hit problems - Maurice Leach/Dave Stocking had to retire their Sunbeam with brake problems early on, while Adrian Hodgson/Sean Caddick were running in second place when they were forced to retire their Escort on the third section. Craig Issac didn't even make the start after his Chevette's engine lost oil pressure between the noise test and scrutineering.

Parry/Price came home 50 seconds clear of Alan Walker/Nick Darkin. The latter duo having lost the internal electrics of their Escort after three sections; Darkin having to navigate by a torch with fading batteries for the rest of the night.

The Nova of Chris Painter/Phil Stocking led a contingent of Telford AC crews home in third, with Alan Thompson/Neil Boyd taking fourth and the Semi-Expert class in their Corolla. Dawn Watkins/Huw Jones took the Novice Class award and a very creditable seventh overall.

Guy Woodcock/Pete Welsh finished in eighth in a very standard diesel BMW 325. They would have finished a few places higher but for losing two to three minutes when they got the car stuck on a hairpin.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Kev Parry Gareth Price Toyota Corolla 2m 48s
2 Alan Walker Nick Darkin Ford Escort 3m 36s
3 Chrs Painter Phil Stocking Vauxhall Nova 3m 45s
4 Alan Thompson Neil Boyd Toyota Corolla 4m 54s
5 Jon Ross Steve Quine Ford Escort 5m 33s
6 Chris Wilson Garry Thomas Vauxhall Astra GTE 7m 03s
7 Dawn Watkins Huw Jones Hillman Avenger 7m 32s
8 Guy Woodcock Pete Welsh BMW 325D 8m 38s
9 Adrian Green Geraint Jones Ford Sierra 8m 49s
10 Adrian Higman Cyril Jones Talbot Sunbeam 9m 20s