rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Border 100 Road Rally 2002

Sponsored by Philip Paul Used Car Centre

Welsh Border Car Club

6th/7th April 2002

Clerk of the Course: Steve Herbert

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 125 & 126

Starters: 70

Winners: Glyn Price/Huw Jones (Ford Escort)

Glyn Price/Huw Jones made the most of local knowledge as they took a decisive win on Welsh Border CC’s Border 100 Rally in their Ford Escort.

Border 100 Rally 20002

The 120 mile event, a counter towards the West Midlands Championship, used a demanding but well received route. The first half used the lanes between Oswestry and Lake Vyrnwy, with the second half taking crews North to finish at Chirk.

By the petrol halt Price/Jones had built up a lead of over two minutes as the route took them over home territory. An equally forceful drive in the second half, aided by the demise of their nearest challengers, meant that they finished with a winning margin of over five minutes.

Gary Jones/Dave Pitchford would have finished second but a missed Passage Control relegated them to twenty-third place at the end. Moonbeam winners Wayne Morris/Paul Middleton were also set for the runner up spot but a broken anti-roll bar on their Escort meant that they had to miss most of the last quarter of the route, the resulting fails dropping them to thirty-third place.

This allowed the last minute partnership of Brynli Thomas/Paul Holmberg to take second place, but it was a narrow call as Howard Price/Carl Williamson were just two seconds further back in third.

Delwyn Price/Steve Price were fourth, while in fifth were Mark Robinson/Nigel Nelson, who also took the Standard Production Award.

Pre-event favourites Phil Turner/Owen Dodd retired their Golf with gearbox problems, which left them with only third gear, soon after the start. Derwyn Evans/Dave Evison had an equally short rally as they planted their Nova into a tree on the first section.

Border 100 Road Rally 2002
Winners: Glyn Price/Huw Jones (Ford Escort)
Photograph: M&H Photography

It was not a good night for the Evans family as Derwyn's daughter Claire was forced to retire after a fire in the Astra she shared with navigator Allen Hart. Kev Parry/Gareth Price withdrew after losing a large amount of time in the first half with a wrong slot, while Baron Glaze/Pete Davies had a clutch cable break on their Escort. Adrian Higman/Cyril Jones were going well until mechanical problems halted their Golf GTi.

The leading Semi-Experts were Ian Lloyd/Adrian Smart who finished in eighth place overall, seven minutes clear of their nearest class rivals who were Steve Wynn/Chris Wynn.

The Novice class was won by the Nova of Dafydd Roberts/Gavin Richards, with John Broadhurst/Gareth Williams second and Griff Evans/Robin Evans third, the latter navigator was only fifteen years old and on only his second ever rally.

Of the seventy starters thirty-five were classified as finishers, the event having proved a challenge for experts but also allowing novices to keep up with the pace, there were eleven Class 3 crews among the finishers.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Glyn Price Huw Jones Ford Escort 13m 38s
2 Brynli Thomas Paul Holmberg Ford Escort RS2000 10m 11s
3 Howard Price Carl Williamson Toyota Corolla 10m 13s
4 Delwyn Price Steve Price Ford Escort 13m 13s
5 Mark Robinson Nigel Nelson Toyota Corolla 14m 00s
6 Richie Suff Craig Parry Peugeot 205 GTi 14m 53s
7 Michael Pedley David Pedley Ford Escort G4 16m 16s
8 Ian Lloyd Adrian Smart Toyota Corolla 19m 57s
9 Alyson Acreman Byron Jones Honda Civic 20m 23s
10 Dave Cox Darren Garrod Peugeot 205 GTi 23m 04s
11 Steve Wynn Chris Wynn Ford Escort 26m 58s
12 Dafydd Roberts Gavin Richards Vauxhall Nova SR 28m 56s
13 Richard Tuckey Dean George Peugeot 106 Rallye 29m 07s
14 Mike Hart Polly Vauxhall Astra 31m 52s
15 John Broadhurst Gareth Williams Ford Escort 33m 13s
16 Griff Evans Robin Evans Peugeot 205 GTi 34m 36s
17 Mike Cartwright Steve Warrington Vauxhall Nova 35m 51s
18 Bob Gush Kevin Warlow Vauxhall Astra GTE 44m 03s
19 Ped Jones Heath Griffiths Ford Sierra 44m 30s
20 Steve Price Tim Gill Toyota Corolla 51m 27s
21 Justin Sharples Peter Morris Toyota Corolla 52m 19s
22 Lee Bartlett Richard Edwards Peugeot 309 GTi 57m 28s
23 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 1F 08m 10s
24 Ian Furniss Russell Roberts Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 13m 21s
25 Islwyn Watkins Martin Jones Vauxhall Astra 1F 36m 16s
26 Ian Jones Peter Tomlinson VW Golf GTi 1F 44m 52s
27 Gareth Clarke Shaun Baker Peugeot 309 GTi 1F 45m 50s
28 Paul Edwards Jonty Bloxham MG Maestro 2F 29m 19s
29 Gareth Jones Iwan Jones Vauxhall Astra GTE 3F 24m 19s
30 Berwyn Roberts Paul Harrington Vauxhall Astra GTE 4F 43m 05s
31 Chris Thompson Justin Cotton VW Golf GTi 5F 44m 11s
32 David Edwards Jeff Edwards Ford Escort 5F 44m 48s
33 Wayne Morris Paul Middleton Ford Escort 6F 07m 15s
34 Steve Barret Jon Dyke Peugeot 205 GTi 7F 46m 18s
35 Alan Bradbury Geoff Evanson Ford Escort 17F 41m 18s