rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Border 100 Road Rally 2004

Sponsored by Philip Paul Used Car Centre

Welsh Border Car Club

3rd/4th April 2004

Clerk of the Course: Nigel Roberts & Steve Herbert

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 125 & 126

Starters: 69

Winners: Phil Turner/Owen Dodd (Vauxhall Nova)

Competing in a near standard Vauxhall Nova, Phil Turner/Owen Dodd won the Oswestry based Border 100 Rally. This was the first time that the duo had won the Welsh Border CC event in seven years. They led from the very first section to the Finish.

Border 100 Rally 2004

The start and finish were in Oswestry. There were four sections prior to the petrol halt. The first started near Nantmawr and finished, after snaking north and south, at Llandegwyn. The second test ran south and west to Bwlch-y-Cibau. There was a short non-comp, before the third section, which finished at Pontrobert. A short fourth section started at Meifod and ended near Petrol at Guildsfield.

Turner/Dodd were using a standard Nova, the only modification to it was an upgrade to its brakes, but they arrived at the halfway halt with a lead of over a minute. Top seeds Ian 'Dude' Roberts/Phil Clarke (VW Golf GTi) were 1m 06s behind in second.

Third place was held by the leading Semi-Expert crew of Mark 'GT' Roberts/Denny Harris (VW Golf GTi). They were 24 seconds behind Roberts/Clarke. However they had hit a rock and damaged their steering on the section immediately before the halt. This caused them to retire from the event.

Glyn Price/Huw Jones (Ford Escort) were in fourth, while Howard Price/Carl Williamson, competing in an Escort recently bought from Huw Evans, were in fifth. They were the only other crew with fewer than seven minutes of penalties.

The second half, again split into four sections, looped around the outside of the first half to finish back at Oswestry.

Border 100 Road Rally 2004
Winners: Phil Turner/Owen Dodd (Vauxhall Nova)

Turner/Dodd finished with an extended lead of 1m 21s to take their third victory on the Border 100. The fastest crew in the second half however were Glyn Price/Huw Jones, they dropped 28 seconds less than the winners, and moved from fourth at Petrol to second at the Finish.

Roberts/Clarke came home in third, 22 seconds ahead of Price/Williamson, who were slowed by the navigator being unwell.

Dan Sharp/Allen Hart won the Semi-Expert class in their diesel powered Renault Clio. They finished eleven minutes ahead of their nearest class rival in 14th place overall. The Novice award was taken by Neil Roberts/Dale Furniss (Peugeot 205 GTi), who were the only crew in the class to finish without a fail.

The only non-finisher from the top ten starters were Tony Gush/Gareth Price who had an engine mount break on their 205.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Phil Turner Owen Dodd Vauxhall Nova 8m 59s
2 Glyn Price Huw Jones Ford Escort 10m 20s
3 Ian 'Dude' Roberts Phil Clarke VW Golf GTi 10m 42s
4 Howard Price Carl Williamson Ford Escort 11m 03s
5 Huw Myfyr Gwawr Hughes VW Golf GTi 13m 44s
6 Gareth Jones Iwan Jones Vauxhall Astra GTE 15m 55s
7 Delwyn Price Steve Price Ford Escort 16m 06s
8 Ian Lloyd Cyril Jones Toyota Corolla 16m 17s
9 Gary Jones Andy Oakes Toyota Corolla 17m 12s
10 Kevin Hesketh Shaun O'Gorman Ford Escort 20m 12s
11 Wayne Morris Paul Middleton Ford Escort 20m 30s
12 Paul Hughes Chris Ware Citroen AX GT 21m 38s
13 Kev Parry Brynmor Pierce Toyota Corolla 22m 20s
14 Dan Sharp Allen Hart Renault Clio Diesel 22m 52s
15 Ian Furniss Haydn Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 23m 06s
16 Michael Cartwright David Pedley Vauxhall Astra 24m 41s
17 Mal Acott Derwyn Roberts Ford Escort 25m 23s
18 Dave Jones Baz Green BMW 323i 26m 04s
19 Stuart Kelso Eilir Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 26m 12s
20 Nic Bamford Lee Evans Ford Fiesta 30m 52s
21 Neal Arden Giles Corbett Vauxhall Astra 31m 41s
22 Neil Nicholas Martin Phasey MG Maestro EFi 33m 10s
23 Adrian Griffiths Dean Davies Peugeot 309 GTi 35m 43s
24 Martin Ridge Simon Ridge Peugeot 205 XS 35m 51s
25 David Ricketts Richard Jones Toyota Corolla 36m 17s
26 Sion Dillon Dave Edwards Ford Escort 38m 41s
27 Daniel Williams John Tomley Vauxhall Nova 39m 07s
28 Steve Bishop Andrew Davies Ford Escort 45m 25s
29 Bob Gush Kevin Warlow Peugeot 306 49m 05s
30 Neil Roberts Dale Furniss Peugeot 205 GTi 54m 24s
31 Steve Southall Chris Webber Toyota Corolla 1F 28m 46s
32 Dawn Watkins Robert Edwards Vauxhall Nova 2F 40m 10s
33 Kev Luxmore Nick Dixon Peugeot 205 4F 36m 50s
34 Jon Ross Dave Stocking Ford Sierra RS Cosworth 5F 19m 17s
35 Eifion Davies Richard Jackson Peugeot 205 GTi 6F 35m 57s
36 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Vauxhall Nova 7F 71m 32s
37 Paul Edwards Mark Parsons Peugeot 205 GTi 8F 55m 46s
38 Peter Gill Tim Gill Peugeot 205 GTi 11F 39m 37s
39 Kevin Brown Martin Dudley Mini 1275 11F 64m 11s
40 Phillip Rock Phillip Drew Ford Escort 20F 61m 25s