rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Bro Cader 1997

Sponsored by John Roberts (Ffestiniog) Ltd

Harlech & District Motor Club

13th/14th September 1997

Clerk of the Course: Alan Williams

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 124 & 135

Starters: 48

Winners: Kevin Ikin/Rob Jones (Ford Escort)

Kevin Ikin/Rob Jones took their second victory of the year on the Rali Bro Cader. Harlech & District MC's 160 mile road rally was a round of the Welsh, West Midlands and North Western Championships, and as expected at this stage in the season its outcome had a significant affect on all the title races.

Rali Bro Cader 1997

The rally had been due to run on the previous weekend, but had be postponed at short notice as this would have clashed with the funeral of Princess Diana. The situation being made more sensitive as the rally route passed near the home of Trevor Ress-Jones, the bodyguard seriously injured in the crash that killed the Princess.

The rally started with a seven mile regularity in the northern end of the Dolgellau maze, before moving south for the rest of the first half in the lanes and tracks to the east of Machynlleth. The second hlaf took crews back to the north via Cader Idris and two section on the lanes, unused by road rallies for several years, in the Harlech area.

It proved to be an event which had a long list of pontential victors, however bad luck intervened in a large number of cases. Cyril Crook/Chris Ware dominated the opening regularity section but then dropped over six minutes when their Sunbeam picked up a puncture. Geraint Davies/Sarah Gluyas, despite the loss of fourth and fifth gears on their Corolla, were leading at Petrol but retired soon afterwards when the car's petrol tank broke loose.

The Corolla of Richie Lewis/Phil Clarke became stuck for several minutes in a ford at PC38 (776ΒΌ946). This incident also delayed Graham Evans/Ian Mills; they lost three minutes, which probably cost them second place at the Finish. Lewis/Clarke got going again, but, in the confusion, missed the following passage control, the resulting fail dropped them out of the top ten in the final standings.

Ikin/Jones had been second to Crook/Ware after the regularity section, then a steady and trouble free run over the following standard sections allowed them to take victory by almost a minute. The result meant that Ikin still had an outside chance of denying Paul Holmberg the North Western Championship, but to do so he needed to win two of the remaining three rounds.

Holmberg, who had Phil Harrison as a last minute stand in navigator, had to contend with the rear brakes on his Escort sticking on for most of the event, plus a faulty starter motor. They survived to finish in third place.

Pete Cotton/Dave Pitchford finished second to give them maximum Welsh Championship points for the second round in succession, but the battle for the title still appeared to be between Dennis Quinn/Andrew Thomson and Baron Glaze/Pete Davies. Glaze and Davies' hold on the championship race looked slightly less secure after the Bro Cader as Quinn/Thomson finished fourth, meanwhile they were well down the field after picking up two fails for booking into a control early. The result also meant that Quinn/Thomson were now in a commanding position in the West Midlands Championship with just two rounds left.

The Experts class was won by the local crew of Gwylym Davies/Michael Evans, who were an impressive fifth overall. The Semi-Expert award went to the Corolla driven by Huw Jones, the navigator being Hywel Davies, one of the leading Welsh road rally drivers of the Eighties. Jim Patterson/Martin Jones were the only finishers in the Novice Class; their Talbot Samba finished in 35th and last place. And it was another Samba, that of Richard 'Tyson' Morris/Owen Dodd, that won the Standard Production Award.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Kevin Ikin Rob Jones Ford Escort 4m 26s
2 Pete Cotton Dave Pitchford Ford Escort 5m 14s
3 Paul Holmberg Phill Harrison Ford Escort 5m 30s
4 Dennis Quinn Andrew Thomson Ford Escort 5m 56s
5 Gwilym Davies Michael Evans Talbot Sunbeam EFi 7m 04s
6 Richard 'Tyson' Morris Owen Dodd Toyota Corolla 7m 24s
7 Arwel Griffiths Baz Green Peugeot 205 GTi 7m 30s
8 Graham Evans Ian Mills Toyota Corolla 7m 50s
9 Huw Evans Patrick Walsh Ford Escort 8m 42s
10 Chris Wilson Roger Fildes Vauxhall Astra 9m 47s
11 Cyril Crook Chris Ware Talbot Sunbeam 10m 37s
12 Mal Acott John Youd Toyota Corolla 16m 20s
13 Huw Jones Hywel Davies Toyota Corolla 18m 54s
14 Richard Roberts Paul Roberts Ford Escort 22m 03s
15 Nick Broadway Andy Oakes Ford Sierra 24m 06s
16 Adrian Evans Clive Selby Ford Escort 28m 11s
17 Peter Zjalic Richard Preece Toyota Corolla 1F 5m 37s
18 Richie Lewis Phil Clarke Toyota Corolla 1F 8m 05s
19 Toby Adams Steve Durbin Ford Escort 1F 12m 29s
20 Stephen Edwards Peter Morris Talbot Sunbeam 1F 13m 14s
21 Andy Sheppard Chris Froom Toyota Corolla 1F 14m 27s
22 Paul Pritchard Paul Middleton Ford Escort 1F 14m 34s
23 Gareth Jones Iestyn ap Dafydd Toyota Corolla 1F 16m 24s
24 Carl O'Grady Gwyn Williams VW Golf GTi 1F 16m 53s
25 Iwan Pritchard Paul Owen Ford Escort 1F 31m 17s
26 Brian Harrison Cliff Washbrook Ford Escort 1F 32m 44s
27 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Mini 1275GT 1F 43m 11s
28 Baron Glaze Pete Davies Ford Escort 2F 6m 15s
29 Des Phasey Steve Price Ford Escort 2F 8m 13s
30 Arial Jones Steve Jones Ford Escort 2F 9m 02s
31 Dai John Paul Bevan Toyota Corolla 2F 15m 35s
32 Neil Griffiths Carl Williamson Ford Escort 2F 16m 57s
33 Iorwerth Jones Ewen Davies Peugeot 205 2F 21m 37s
34 Carwyn Edwards Tecwyn Jones Ford Escort 12F 39m 30s
35 Jim Patterson Martin Jones Talbot Samba 26F 43m 42s