rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Bro Cader 1998

Sponsored by John Roberts (Ffestiniog) Ltd

Harlech & District Motor Club

19th/20th September 1998

Clerk of the Course: Chris Evans

Route: 148 Miles

Maps: 124

Starters: 64

Winners: Ian Jones/Alan Jôs (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Ian Jones/Alan Jôs took a clear victory on Harlech & District MC's Rali Bro Cader. The North Wales event was a round of all three major road rally championships; the Welsh, West Midlands and North Western. It used a 148 mile route which took crews in a clockwise loop around Map 124 in southern Snowdonia.

Rali Bro Cader 1998

An opening regulairty section from Trawsfynydd to Llanuwchllyn led to a run through the Dolgellau maze, before crews moved to the tight stonewalled lanes in the Harlech area for the second half.

Local favourites Jones/Jôs were on the pace all night in their Peugeot 205, they led from the second section to the end. Dennis Quinn/Andrew Thomson picked up least penalties over the first section, but fell back with a slipping clutch on their Escort to finish second. However the result consolidated their already substantial lead in both the Welsh and West Midlands Championships.

Geraint Davies/Sarah Gluyas were third in their Toyota Corolla, although they had lost over two minutes to most of their rivals on the first regularity section. Peter Zjalic/Ricard Preece, in another Corolla, were fourth. These results gave the two crews an outside chance of denying Quinn/Thomson the two championship titles. Similarly Paul Holmberg/Paul Jones came home fifth to keep the driver's hope of a third successive North Western crown alive, as he narrowed the gap to Brian Harrison, who could only manage twelfth place.

The 1997 winners, Kevin Ikin/Rob Jones, had a very short rally as the engine on their Escort went sick after just a couple of miles. The 1996 winners faired little better; Cyril Crook/Chris Ware lost several minutes in the first half after drowning out in a ford, they then went out of the event on the penultimate section when they their Sunbeam made substantial contact with a stonewall. Dave Jones/Gareth Price were another crew to visit the water when they put their Corolla off the road in the first half.

Meanwhile both Huw James/Deian Rees and Elgan Jones/Aled Jones, having passed scrutineering, were excluded from the event for the use of illegal tyres.

The Semi-Expert award went to Nick Bloxham/Martyn Allen who brought their Peugeot home in 14th overall, while the leading novice crew, Robin Jones/Gerallt Jones, were six places further back in their Escort XR3. Of the 64 starters 38 made it to the finish of a very well received event.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Ian Jones Alan Jôs Peugeot 205 GTi 8m 06s
2 Dennis Quinn Andrew Thomson Ford Escort 9m 29s
3 Geraint Davies Sarah Gluyas Toyota Corolla 12m 31s
4 Peter Zjalic Richard Preece Toyota Corolla 12m 54s
5 Paul Holmberg Paul Jones Ford Escort 16m 03s
6 Tudor Morris Gerallt Davies Ford Escort 18m 48s
7 Michael Pedley David Pedley Ford Escort 19m 37s
8 Pete Cotton Dave Pitchford Ford Escort 19m 53s
9 Richard 'Tyson' Morris Owen Dodd Toyota Corolla 20m 01s
10 Jason Hardy Stephen Roberts VW Golf 21m 04s
11 Neil Griffiths Carl Williamson Ford Escort 22m 52s
12 Brian Washbrook Cliff Washbrook Ford Escort 23m 52s
13 John Jones Dave Stocking Renault 11 Turbo 24m 59s
14 Nick Bloxham Martyn Allen Peugeot 205 GTi 42m 00s
15 Martyn Evans Ceri Davies Nissan Micra 45m 05s
16 Ian Elias Phil Roach Ford Escort 48m 47s
17 Gerallt Davies Michael Evans Toyota Corolla 1F 15m 49s
18 Iwan Pritchard Paul Owen Ford Escort 1F 18m 51s
19 Steve Barrett Neil Coulson Mitsubishi Cordia 1F 40m 44s
20 Steve Hughes Karl Sieben Ford Capri Laser 2F 46m 00s
21 Jenny Patterson Arial Jones Subaru RX Coupe 3F 34m 40s
22 Richard Roberts Ian Monaghan Ford Escort 4F 33m 09s
23 Robin Jones Gerallt Jones Ford Escort XR3i 4F 51m 38s
24 Carwyn Edwards Rees Owen Ford Escort 4F 40m 17s
25 Iorwerth Jones Bill Robertson Peugeot 205 GTi 4F 59m 35s
26 Kevin Jones Keith Jones Toyota Corolla 4F 69m 00s
27 Bryn Jones Rhun Ellis Ford Escort 5F 42m 48s
28 Richard Jones Heath Griffiths Ford Escort 6F 29m 58s
29 Elfed Williams Ian Evans Talbot Samba 7F 51m 28s
30 Trystan Bevan Dylan Jones Vauxhall Chevette 8F 35m 09s
31 Paul Jones Steve Roberts Vauxhall Nova 10F 47m 14s
32 Wayne Morris Paul Middleton Ford Escort 11F 21m 59s
33 Elfyn Davies Paul Roberts VW Golf GTi 16F 21m 33s
34 Gareth Davies Andrew Davies Vauxhall Chevette 22F 43m 54s
35 Stephen Jones Leon Jones Vauxhall Nova 29F 65m 27s
36 Simon Cottrell Marcus Watmough Toyota Corolla 51F 30m 30s
37 Derek Dauncey Brendan Bailey Peugeot 205 GTi 56F 49m 04s
38 Gareth Hughes David Evans Vauxhall Astra 78F 63m 20s