rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Bro Cader 2000

Sponsored by John Roberts (Ffestiniog) Ltd

Harlech & District Motor Club

9th/10th December 2000

Clerk of the Course: Chris Evans

Route: 148 Miles

Maps: 124

Starters: 74

Winners: Gerallt Davies/Michael Evans (Toyota Corolla)

Gerallt Davies/Michael Evans took their first career victory on their local event, the Rali Bro Cader.

Rali Bro Cader 2000
Winners: Gerallt Davies/Michael Evans (Toyota Corolla)

It was a good night for Harlech MC Toyota Corolla crews, not only did Davies/Evans take the win, but they were followed home by the similarly mounted Carwyn Evans/Elfyn Richards; the two crews being just eleven seconds apart but over a minute and a half in front of the nearest opposition.

To add to the home club's success Elfed Williams/Ian Evans took seventh overall and the Semi-Expert Class win, while Eifion Thomas/Keith Jones were the leading Novices - again both crews were in Corollas.

The Bro Cader had originally been scheduled to run in September but was postponed due to the fuel crisis caused by protesters blocking oil terminals. This was the second time in three years that Harlech MC had had to postpone the event; in 1997 it had originally clashed with Princess Diana's funeral. Despite this delay, its proximity to Christmas and, due to the date change, the loss of Welsh Championship status, the rally attracted a full entry

The event was run in torrential rain and this combined with the Autumn's wet weather made the going very tough; of the 74 starters only 28 made it to the Finish.

Rali Bro Cader 2000

Among the long list of retirements were Michael Pedley/David Pedley (head gasket), Richard Lewis/Richard Preece (off), Geraint Davies/Patrick Walsh (fuel and lighting problems), Howard Price/Gareth Price (dropped valve) and Haydn Davies/Paul Roberts (collision with rock).

Most significantly, Jason Hardy/Alan Jôs broke their Golf's suspension after hitting a kerb near the end, at that point they had a lead of more than a minute.

The winners had been hampered, in the the heavy rain, by a broken connection which stopped the wiper motor on the first section. However they recovered to finish and take their maiden victory.

Carwyn Evans/Elfyn Richards lost second gear just before the petrol halt, but still managed to take the runner up spot, 11 seconds behind Davies/Evans.

The Bro Cader was the final round of the West Midlands Championship, Gary Jones/Dave Pitchford had already been crowned champions prior to the event, but came home fifth to round off a highly successful year.

Gareth 'Gog' Jones/Owen Dodd finished third, having lost three minutes after getting stuck on a hairpin in the Dolgellau Maze. The result secured the runner up spot in the West Midlands drivers' series for Jones.

Carl Williamson, navigating for Bryan Glass, finished sixth, which was enough for him to jump to second place in the final table. They had been stuck for almost seven minutes on the opening section.

The rally was also the final round of the North Western series, the championship had already been decided; winners Dave Jones and Paul Holmberg elected not to start the Bro Cader. However Elfed Williams' class win meant that he won the Novice Category for the series.

Due to an alternator problem on their Escort, Tudor Morris/Gerallt Davies had to contend with a severe misfire throughout the night. They ended up in 16th place.

The 1999 winners, Ian Jones/Alan Williams, should have started at Car 1, but Jones hurt his back on the Thursday before the Bro Cader and Williams had to draft in David Jones, on only his second rally, to do driving duties. They finished in fourth place.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Gerallt Davies Michael Evans Toyota Corolla 6m 23s
2 Carwyn Evans Elfyn Richards Toyota Corolla 6m 34s
3 Gareth 'Gog' Jones Owen Dodd Subaru Legacy 8m 07s
4 David Jones Alan Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 9m 02s
5 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 12m 59s
6 Bryan Glass Carl Williamson Ford Escort 15m 04s
7 Elfed Williams Ian Evans Toyota Corolla 15m 53s
8 Trystan Bevan Dylan Jones Peugeot 205 22m 46s
9 John Griffiths Alan Jordan Vauxhall Nova GTE 26m 54s
10 Adrian Higman Dave Evison MG Maestro 1F 10m 25s
11 Elfyn Davies Gwyndaf Evans Toyota Corolla 1F 13m 06s
12 Iain Scott Jez harris Toyota Corolla 1F 18m 35s
13 Richard 'Tyson' Morris Huw Lewis Toyota Corolla 1F 21m 24s
14 Dewi Williams Eilir Jones Vauxhall Nova 1F 21m 29s
15 Eifion Thomas Keith Jones Toyota Corolla 1F 22m 33s
16 Tudor Morris Gerallt Davies Ford Escort 1F 26m 33s
17 Ian Jones Peter Tomlinson VW Golf 1F 34m 29s
18 Jim Paterson Harry Stanley Subaru RX Turbo 1F 35m 27s
19 Dalis Ifans Aled Richards Vauxhall Astra 1F 39m 57s
20 Brian Jones Steve Herbert Peugeot 309 GTi 1F 24m 03s
21 Richard Hughes Stephen Kerr Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 19m 00s
22 Stephen Wynn Chris Wynn Peugeot 309 GTi 2F 35m 36s
23 Mike Ransley Neil Postlethwaite Vauxhall Astra 3F 35m 50s
24 Wyn Williams Nigel Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 5F 43m 21s
25 Stephen Dukes Tim Rice Ford Escort 7F 41m 47s
26 Andrew Dale Peter Dale Vauxhall Nova 9F 41m 44s
27 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Vauxhall Nova 11F 50m 42s
28 Merfyn Williams Derwyn Roberts Vauxhall Astra 22F 12m 47s
29 Malcolm Jones Ian Fellows Peugeot 205 GTi 32F 43m 36s