rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Bro Caron 2000

Sponsored by Tuf Treads

Lampeter & District Motor Club

19th/20th February 2000

Clerk of the Course: Aneurin James

Route: 110 Miles

Maps: 146

Starters: 75

Winners: Keith Daniels/John Hands (Vauxhall Nova)

A nimble Nova proved the perfect tool in the twisty Carmarthenshire lanes for Keith Daniels/John Hands to take victory on the Rali Bro Caron.

Rali Bro Caron 2000

The Lampeter MC organised 110 mile event was the second round of the Welsh Championship and as ever attracted an over subsrcribed entry of 75 starters. Fifty-six of these starters made it to the Finish.

The route used mainly tarmac roads but included a run through Brechfa Forest as a finale. The results were eventually decided over four sections, all were less than three miles in length. A fifth, five minute section, where all crews would have dropped time, was lost after the marshal's clock failed.

Route definition was by photocopied maps, which were of a high quality allowing navigators to read directly from them.

The retirement list opened early as Aled Evans/Eryl Evans failed to make it to the start of the first competitive section as the gearbox on their Sierra failed on the run out.

The other notable retirement in the first half was that of Rali Bro Dyfi winners, Huw Evans/Patrick Walsh, they damaged their Escort's steering rack after sliding into a ditch.

The lead at the petrol halt was held by the Astra of Martyn O'Connor/Peter Collins, however they put the car into a ditch as they entered Brechfa and broke a halfshaft.

Daniels/Hands arrived at Petrol with a badly dented passenger door - they had been 'T-boned' by another competitor after spinning at a junction. After O'Connor/Collins had retired, they took over the lead and, despite picking up unnecessary penalties for booking into a regularity control early, they held on to win by over 30 seconds.

Gareth 'Gog' Jones/Owen Dodd (Ford Escort XR3i) claimed the runner spot and opened their Welsh Championship account with a maximum score. Third was the Toyota Corolla of Paul Evans/Gwyndaf Lloyd, who could have won but mistakenly waited an extra minute at a easily cleanable control. They were not alone in missing out on a top place due to errors; Mark Kampschulte/Paul Jenkins would have been second but missed a code board and dropped to forty-second place at the Finish.

More fortunate were Graham Evans/Ian Mills (Toyota Corolla) who lost a minute with a wrong slot but still finished sixth and collected the Standard Production Award.

Dennis Quinn/Andrew Thomson (Ford Escort) finished fifth after losing time on the last section when they picked up a puncture, however they now led the Welsh Championship. Toby Adam/Pat Gadsby (Ford Escort) were eighth and took maximum points in the West Midlands series, but Gary Jones/Dave Pitchford (Toyota Corolla) still led that title race after finishing tenth, despite breaking a halfshaft on their Corolla.

The Semi-Expert class was won by a comfortable margin by Andrew Thomas/Elgan Davies (Peugeot 205), they were 14th overall, three minutes clear of their nearest rivals, who were Aled Garner/Dylan Garner (Toyota Corolla).

In the Novice class Nigel James/Arwel Evans were first, with Barry Davies/Carwyn Evans in second, these two Ford Escort crews being over fifteen minutes clear of the rest of the class.

As had become their custom, Steve Rogers/Paul Jones once again won the Under 1300cc class in their Mini. Their main rivals, Jerry Jones/Ian Cook, also in a Mini, had a problematic night, going off the road into a field in the first half and then retiring after picking up two punctures in the second.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Keith Daniels John Hands Vauxhall Nova 4m 03s
2 Gareth 'Gog' Jones Owen Dodd Ford Escort XR3i 4m 37s
3 Paul Evans Gwyndaf Lloyd Toyota Corolla 4m 48s
4 Arwyn Davies Carwyn Lloyd Ford Escort 4m 54s
5 Dennis Quinn Andrew Thomson Ford Escort 5m 04s
6 Graham Evans Ian Mills Toyota Corolla 5m 25s
7 Alun 'Timo' Evans Carl Williamson Subaru Impreza 5m 32s
8 Toby Adam Pat Gadsby Ford Escort 5m 49s
9 Hefin George Dilwyn John Nissan Sunny 5m 50s
10 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 5m 54s
11 Alan Jones Mark Andrew Vauxhall Astra 6m 41s
12 Gareth Evans Dylan Evans Ford Escort 6m 56s
13 Paul Webb Justin Brooks Vauxhall Astra 7m 02s
14 Andrew Thomas Elgan Davies Peugeot 205 8m 15s
15 Gethin Lewis Deian Rees Ford Escort 8m 32s
16 Nick Broadway Martin Saunders Ford Sierra 8m 41s
17 Richard Roe Chris Ware Talbot Sunbeam 9m 07s
18 John 'Mark 1' Thomas Ian Taylor Ford Escort 9m 55s
19 Steve Rogers Paul Jones BL Mini 10m 29s
20 Mark Lloyd Alan Davies Vauxhall Astra 10m 42s
21 Pete Cotton Duncan Pinnegar Ford Escort 10m 59s
22 Kark Hancocks Byron Jones Toyota Corolla 11m 14s
23 Aled Garner Dylan Garner Toyota Corolla 11m 43s
24 Nick Evans Alan Hands Ford Escort 11m 57s
25 Jonathan Hands Tracey Giddings Vauxhall Chevette 12m 35s
26 Darren Williams Dylan Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 13m 15s
27 Paul Harris Mark Hamilton Ford Escort 15m 00s
28 Llion Rees TBA Vauxhall Cavalier 15m 29s
29 Arwyn Rees Dylan Hughes Ford Sierra 15m 29s
30 Philip Davies Dave Williams Ford Escort 15m 54s
31 Ian Davies Mark Davies Ford Escort 15m 59s
32 Andrew Williams Wyn Davies Vauxhall Astra 17m 17s
33 Nigel James Arwel Evans Ford Escort 19m 10s
34 Matthew Warner John Gilbey Vauxhall Astra 20m 07s
35 Barry Davies Carwyn Evans Ford Escort 21m 42s
36 Clive Greves Rob Duke Vauxhall Chevette 22m 43s
37 Robert Rees Ann Rees Ford Escort 23m 24s
38 Gerwyn Mathias Huw Mathias Ford Escort 30m 56s
39 Eirwyn Davies Alan Meredith Renault 5 34m 58s
40 William Evans Philip Edwards Ford Escort 37m 42s
41 James Martin Katie Boddison Vauxhall Astra 46m 22s
42 Mark Kampschulte Paul Jenkins Vauxhall Astra 1F 4m 10s
43 Sean Crowley Hywel Greves Ford Escort 1F 10m 59s
44 John Whitehurst Phil Ralphs Fiat Uno 1F 17m 53s
45 Daniel Jones Alun Jones Ford Escort 1F 27m 51s
46 Christian Howells Andrew Hughes Peugeot 205 1F 29m 37s
47 Robert Pardoe Nigel Griffiths Talbot Sunbeam 1F 48m 49s
48 Mark Harris Neil Bevan Ford Escort 2F 28m 45s
49 Mick Bradley Dean George Peugeot 309 GTi 3F 18m 14s
50 Marc Jonah Justin Halfpenny Peugeot 205 3F 35m 52s
51 Alun Davies Dai Smith Opel Manta 4F 12m 31s
52 Andrew Ranston Jonathan Humphreys Ford Escort 4F 14m 54s
53 Arwel Evans Merlin Whiteland Vauxhall Nova 5F 8m 38s
54 Bryan Thomas Criss Lewis Ford Capri 8F 35m 12s
55 Roy Thomas Mick Wilcox Austin Mini 11F 19m 33s
56 Gavin Lloyd Aled Richards Ford Escort 15F 13m 16s