rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Bro Caron 2001

Sponsored by Dalton's ATVs

Lampeter & District Motor Club

17th/18th February 2001

Clerk of the Course: Dave Boucher

Route: 125 Miles

Maps: 146

Starters: 72

Winners: John 'Mark 1' Thomas'/Owen Dodd (Ford Escort)

Rali Bro Caron 2001
Winners: John 'Mark One'/Owen Dodd (Ford Escort)
Photograph: M&H Photography

John Thomas is known in the West Wales road rally community as 'John Mark One' and it was naturally in a Mark One Escort that he, partnered by Owen Dodd, won Lampeter MC's Rali Bro Caron.

However it was a narrow win as the Astra of Martyn O'Connor/Peter Collins was just seven seconds down on Evans/Dodd at the end of the 120 mile rally.

The Bro Caron was under new management with a fresh set of organisers in place, but the event followed its normal format with just two competitive sections, seperated by the petrol halt. The going was made even more tricky by a deep frost that made the roads extremely slippery. With an inexperienced team, the event was withdrawn from the Welsh Championship.

Rali Bro Caron 2001

There was a low retirement rate among the Expert crews with all the top ten seeds classfied as finishers. However for the lower numbers it proved a tougher test as only 46 of the 72 starters made it back to the Finish.

It was an unhappy event for the previous year's winners, Keith Daniels/John Hands (Vauxhall Nova), not only did they fail to match the pace of the faster runners, but they picked up a fail for a missed signature and finished 35th overall.

Toby Adam/Pat Gadsby (Ford Escort) were another crew to be penalised a fail after a code board infringement and thus lost out on a top ten finish.

Hefin George/Dilwyn John made the most of their Nissan Sunny GTi-R's four wheel drive to finish third, with the Toyota Corolla of Tony Davies/Ieaun Thomas in fourth.

Gareth 'Gog' Jones/Carl Williamson (Ford Escort XR3i) took the Standard Production Award by finishing sixth, while Christian Prynne/Doody Farmer continued their successful series of outings as they took the Semi-Expert Award and 10th overall.

Arwyn Rees/Colette Medland (Ford Escort) were clearly the class of the Novice field as they finished over twenty minutes in front of their nearest rival.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 John 'Mark 1' Thomas Owen Dodd Ford Escort 6m 48s
2 Martyn O'Connor Peter Collins Vauxhall Astra GTE 6m 55s
3 Hefin George Dilwyn John Nissan Sunny GTi-R 8m 55s
4 Tony Davies Ieuan Thomas Toyota Corolla 9m 43s
5 Gareth 'Factory' Evans Dylan Evans Ford Escort 9m 49s
6 Gareth 'Gog' Jones Carl Williamson Ford Escort XR3i 10m 10s
7 Ceri Richards Aled Jones Ford Escort 11m 34s
8 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 11m 43s
9 Andy Oakes Ian Cooke Toyota Corolla 13m 25s
10 Christian Prynne Doody Farmer Peugeot 205 GTi 16m 35s
11 Gary Evans Iestyn Leyshon Ford Escort 17m 14s
12 Manfred Kampschulte Paul Jenkins Vauxhall Astra 18m 20s
13 Steve Rogers Paul Jones VW Polo 18m 52s
14 Aled Thomas Aneurin James Toyota Corolla 19m 03s
15 Richard Briddon Edryd Evans Toyota Starlet 20m 08s
16 Gavin Perry Dalis Ifans Ford Sierra 4x4 20m 15s
17 Grant Parker Paul Edwards Toyota Corolla 21m 57s
18 Richard Green Ian Taylor Ford Escort 24m 46s
19 Paul Randerson Neil Evans Vauxhall Astra 30m 05s
20 Christian Howells Andrew Hughes Peugeot 205 GTi 30m 31s
21 Andrew Williams Wyn Davies Vauxhall Astra 31m 06s
22 Arwyn Rees Colette Medland Ford Escort 33m 01s
23 Chris Lewis Brian Thomas Talbot Sunbeam 33m 26s
24 Peter Andrew Thomas Hefin Thomas Peugeot 205 GTi 34m 10s
25 Darrell George Hefin Jones VW Golf GTi 34m 25s
26 Aled Jones Geraint Jones Vauxhall Astra 34m 44s
27 Michael Rowlands Ken Owen Vauxhall Astra 35m 18s
28 Robert Rees Ann Rees Ford Escort 41m 50s
29 Mike James Richard Evans Vauxhall Chevette 48m 14s
30 Mike Davies Alan Lloyd Ford Escort 56m 12s
31 Roy Thomas Michele Thomas Peugeot 205 GTi 60m 46s
32 Robert James Eurig James Vauxhall Astra 62m 10s
33 Elfed Evans Geraint Davies Vauxhall Astra 64m 04s
34 Toby Adam Pat Gadsby Ford Escort 1F 10m 16s
35 Keith Daniels John Hands Vauxhall Nova 1F 16m 24s
36 Doreen Davies Anthony Davies Ford Escort 1F 24m 17s
37 Ieuan Reeves Philip Evans Ford Sierra 1F 41m 56s
38 Jon Stobbs Bill Williams Toyota Corolla 2F 24m 43s
39 Robert Price Lionel Plant Vauxhall Astra 2F 66m 45s
40 Mark Lloyd Delyth Morgan Vauxhall Astra 3F 45m 06s
41 Rhydian Jenkins Gary Davies Ford Escort 3F 84m 38s
42 Geraint Jones Simon Chandler Ford Escort 5F 29m 35s
43 Gary Baxter Huw Jones Renault Clio 8F 53m 30s
44 Aled Williams Wayne Williams Peugeot 205 12F 21m 43s
45 Gethin Humphreys Alex Crowley Vauxhall Astra 16F 78m 59s
46 Barry Phillips Mark Davies Vauxhall Astra 63F 13m 35s