rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Bro Caron 2002

Sponsored by Dalton's ATVs

Lampeter & District Motor Club

16th/17th February 2002

Clerk of the Course: Eryl Evans

Route: 85 Miles

Maps: 146

Starters: 72

Winners: Dennis Quinn/Rob Richardson (Ford Escort)

The Rali Bro Caron was a short but demanding rally. The route was 85 miles in length and consisted of just two sections, which were split by a ‘splash and dash’ petrol halt.

Rali Bro Caron 2002

The win was taken by the first time pairing of Dennis Quinn/Rob Richardson, on what was the navigator’s first rally for over three years. However the victory margin was a narrow one as Rali Bro Dyfi winners, Huw Evans/Patrick Walsh, were just six seconds slower.

As in previous year’s the Rali Bro Caron received backing from John Dalton’s ATV’s Honda. As ever the 75 car entry for the Lampeter MC event was oversubscribed with all places being taken within three days of the regulations being published.

Route definition was via high quality photocopied maps, however it was not an easy night’s rallying as the tight and twisty nature of the West Wales lanes made it a challenging event.

The first time control was after just two miles of competitive motoring in the lanes around Cellan. Three crews managed to clean the section, these were the eventual winners, the 2001 winners John Thomas/Owen Dodd and Gareth ‘Gog’ Jones/Carl Williamson. The latter pairing blotted their copy book shortly afterwards when they went off the road damaging their Escort’s exhaust and losing four minutes in the process. The damage was repaired at the petrol halt and they survived to take eighth place at the Finish.

Thomas/Dodd, in a hired car, failed to quite match the speed of the leading two runners and finished third, thirty seconds down on Evans/Walsh.

The Bro Caron was the second round of the Welsh Championship and their second place put Evans and Walsh into a commanding lead. Their nearest rivals were Martyn O’Connor/Peter Collins who finished fifth on the Bro Caron and took the Standard Production Award.

Rali Bro Caron 2002
Fifth Placed: Martyn O’Connor/Peter Collins (Vauxhall Astra GTE)
Photograph: M&H Photography

A few miles into the event O'Connor/Collins, along with Tony Davies/Dylan Evans, Gary James/Ieaun Thomas and Aled Thomas/Nigel Nelson, lost time visiting a field on the tricky 60 right following a crest at 582462. James/Thomas were delayed further when the cut out switch broke on their Avenger later in the rally.

There was a very low retirement rate among the leading runners with Toby Adams/Pat Gadsby being the only non-finisher in the top ten. They withdrew after loosing a large amount of time with two wrong slots. Hefin George/Dilwyn John had a problematic night having lost time when a brake pipe failed on their Nissan Sunny, they dropped a further five minutes after picking up a puncture on a white.

Ian Orford/Bob Jones enjoyed their first foray into Welsh rallying but were delayed when their Mazda 323 became stuck on a grassy triangle. Jason Stone/Paul Holmberg finished 12th but were lucky to survive as they suffered brake failure on their Peugeot 205 on the last section.

The leading Semi-Expert crew, Mike Abbot/Edryd Evans in a Toyota Starlet, made it into tenth place, second in class, Barry Davies/Aled Richards, were one place further back in a Escort. The leading novice crew were Criss Lewis/Bryan Thomas also in an Escort.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Dennis Quinn Rob Richardson Ford Escort 4m 10s
2 Huw Evans Patrick Walsh Ford Escort 4m 16s
3 John 'Mark 1' Thomas Owen Dodd Ford Escort 4m 47s
4 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 5m 18s
5 Martyn O'Connor Peter Collins Vauxhall Astra GTE 6m 06s
6 Tony Davies Dylan Evans Toyota Corolla 6m 45s
7 Ceri Richards Aled Jones Ford Escort 7m 02s
8 Gareth 'Gog' Jones Carl Williamson Ford Escort XR3i 8m 32s
9 Jason Stone Paul Holmberg Peugeot 205 GTi 9m 03s
10 Mark Abbott Edryd Evans Toyota Starlet 9m 12s
11 Barry Davies Aled Richards Ford Escort 9m 53s
12 Gerwyn Jones Ceri Davies Ford Escort 10m 50s
13 Graham Evans Ian Mills Toyota Corolla 11m 23s
14 Gary James Ieuan Thomas Hillman Avenger 11m 27s
15 Gavin Perry Dalis Ifans Ford Sierra 4x4 11m 27s
16 Darren Williams Dylan Jones Vauxhall Astra 20m 15s
17 Llwyd Edwards Dorian Davies Vauxhall Astra 16m 04s
18 Mark Harris Neil Bevan Peugeot 206 GTi 16m 13s
19 Alun Davies Richard Davies Ford Sierra 17m 24s
20 Dai Bevan Paul Bevan Vauxhall Astra 18m 02s
21 Andrew Williams Wyn Davies Vauxhall Astra 18m 22s
22 Islwyn Watkins Martin Jones Vauxhall Astra GTE 18m 53s
23 Doreen Davies Paul Davies Ford Escort 19m 35s
24 Roger Hunt Peter Barnard Peugeot 205 GTi 21m 02s
25 Andy Oakes Dean George Toyota Corolla 22m 02s
26 Keith Collier Steve Herbert Peugeot 205 GTi 24m 05s
27 Hefin George Dilwyn John Nissan Sunny GTi-R 26m 10s
28 Ian Orford Bob Jones Mazda 323 Turbo 27m 42s
29 Criss Lewis Bryan Thomas Ford Escort 28m 57s
30 Gary Evans Iestyn Leyshon Ford Escort RS2000 29m 29s
31 Ashley Morris Michael Hardwick Peugeot 205 GTi 30m 23s
32 Dylan Owen Iwan Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 32m 37s
33 Ieuan Reeves Philip Evans Ford Escort 45m 22s
34 Wayne Morris Paul Middleton Ford Escort 1F 9m 03s
35 Aled Thomas Nigel Nelson Toyota Corolla 1F 13m 37s
36 Lee Heywood Mark Hamilton Ford Escort RS2000 1F 22m 02s
37 Andrew James Daniel Maclachlan Vauxhall Nova 1F 25m 56s
38 Jon Stobbs Gary Robbins Toyota Corolla 1F 27m 03s
39 Gordon Thomas Malcolm Walters Toyota Corolla 1F 31m 31s
40 Robert Price Lionel Plant Vauxhall Astra GTE 1F 35m 29s
41 Jason Sugden Jonathan Thomas Vauxhall Nova 1F 43m 38s
42 Aled Williams Wayne Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 21m 10s
43 Arwel Thomas Dafydd Jones Ford Fiesta 2F 46m 18s
44 Hefin Owen Gethin Morgan Peugeot 205 GTi 3F 56m 19s
45 Robert Evans Mark Wakefield Ford Escort 4F 65m 31s