rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Bro Caron 2004

Sponsored by Dalton's ATVs + Get Connected!

Lampeter & District Motor Club

14th/15th February 2004

Clerk of the Course: Eryl Evans

Route: 100 Miles

Maps: 146

Starters: 75

Winners: Gareth 'Gog' Jones/Carl Williamson (Toyota Corolla)

Gareth Jones/Carl Williamson dominated the Dalton’s ATVs Rali Bro Caron, leading from the start, to take their second successive victory on the Lampeter MC event.

Rali Bro Caron 2004

The 100 mile rally, the first round of the Welsh Championship, boasted a 75 car maximum entry. There were only two sections prior to Petrol and the second half was a single competitive regularity.

The event started from the premises of the rally sponsor, Dalton's ATV. RS1 was within a mile of the start venue. The route looped around to the north-west, before finishing near Cribyn. There were three ITCs.

Almost all crews cleaned up to ITC1. Jones/Williamson and Huw Evans/Patrick Walsh tied on 58s at ITC2 and then 02s at ITC3, however at RF1 the top seeds were 14 seconds in front. It was a lead they weren't to lose.

The 2000 Bro Caron winning driver Mark Daniel, with Hywel Ifans navigating, held third at this point. They slipped out of the top ten on the second section, but recovered to finish in sixth place at the Finish.

The slippery conditions caught out a number of crews including reigning Welsh Champions Gerwyn Jones/Ceri Davies, who damaged their Escort in the second half. Meanwhile neither Wayne Morris/Paul Middleton nor Mei Jones/Steve Herbert got any further than the opening test before going off the road. Dafydd 'Budgie' Williams/John Hands also had a short rally, their Sunbeam broke its transmission after 10 miles.

Evans/Walsh kept Jones/Williamson in sight for the first five ITCs of the second section, in fact they brought the difference between them down by two seconds at ITC10. However, the leaders blitzed the run to the TC before Petrol, which used the twisty lanes to the north of Ffarmers. They cleaned it, while no other crew got within a minute of the target; Evans/Walsh lost 1m 07s.

At Petrol Jones/Williamson were therefore on 2m 01s, while Evans/Walsh had a total of 3m 20s. Martyn O'Connor/Peter Collins (Vauxhall Astra GTE) were third on 3m 50s.

The second half started with a run to the south, going as far as Salem, before heading back towards Lampeter, skirting Brechfa Forest and finishing with the lanes between the A482 and A485 to the west of Cwmann.

Rali Bro Caron 2004
Third Placed: John Davies/Neil Bevan (Vauxhall Astra GTE)

The battle for the lead altered soon after the restart as Huw Evans/Patrick Walsh withdrew from the rally.

This allowed Jones/Williamson to extend their lead to exactly three minutes by the Finish. O'Connor/Collins took the runner up spot, with John Davies/Neil Bevan getting a good start to their Welsh Championship campaign by finishing in third place.

Dennis Quinn/Paul Holmberg were competing in a standard Sierra as Quinn’s regular Escort was not ready, they finished in thirteenth place.

Aled Davies/Lee Plant led the Semi-Expert class initially but, after their retirement, Paul Jenkins/Brian Thomas came through to take the class win, finishing in fourteenth place overall. Tomas Davies/Huw Jones were the winners of the Novice category.

Marc James/Anthony Davies put their Ford Seirra 4x4 through a hedge at just over three-quarter distance. The car survived, but they had to cut the rest of the route. They were classified 54th out of 55 finishers.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Gareth Jones Carl Williamson Toyota Corolla 3m 44s
2 Martyn O'Connor Peter Collins Vauxhall Astra GTE 6m 44s
3 John Davies Neil Bevan Vauxhall Astra GTE 6m 55s
4 Gareth Evans Eurig Evans Ford Escort 8m 47s
5 Huw Myfyr Gwawr Hughes VW Golf GTi 9m 19s
6 Mark Daniel Hywel Ifans Ford Escort RS2000 9m 21s
7 Gary Jones Andy Oakes Toyota Corolla 10m 05s
8 Jon Stobbs Gary Robbins Mazda 323 GTi 10m 10s
9 Tony Davies Owen Dodd VW Golf GTi 11m 03s
10 Dylan Owen Dilwyn John Vauxhall Nova 11m 58s
11 Delfryn Owens Jeff James Renault Clio 12m 13s
12 Kevin Jones Wyn Lewis Ford Sierra XR4x4 12m 22s
13 Dennis Quinn Paul Holmberg Ford Sierra 4x4 12m 45s
14 Paul Jenkins Brian Thomas Ford Escort RS2000 13m 21s
15 Hefin George Daniel Thomas VW Golf GTi 13m 21s
16 Alan Hands Richard Green Vauxhall Chevette 13m 32s
17 Lee Heywood Mark Hamilton Peugeot 205 GTi 14m 15s
18 Hefin Jones Edrian Monk Ford Escort 14m 47s
19 Dai John Paul Bevan Toyota Corolla 15m 04s
20 Andrew Thomas Huw Mathias Peugeot 205 GTi 15m 15s
21 Wayne James Jenny James Peugeot 205 GTi 15m 45s
22 Eurig Davies Darren Williams Vauxhall Nova 15m 47s
23 Huw Jeffreys Avarina Connor Ford Escort RS2000 16m 03s
24 Gethin Morgan Martin Richards Ford Escort 16m 05s
25 Steve Wood Iestyn Leyshon Vauxhall Astra GTE 15m 58s
26 Roy Thomas Michelle Thomas Ford Escort 16m 35s
27 Baron Glaze Pete Davies Ford Escort RS2000 16m 36s
28 Tomas Davies Huw Jones Ford Escort 16m 46s
29 Ian Williams Elgan Davies Ford Escort RS2000 17m 03s
30 Dafydd Lewis Melanie Hands Ford Escort 17m 07s
31 Geraint Hughes Aled Roberts Ford Escort RS2000 18m 01s
32 Dorian Davies Beth Evans Ford Sierra XR4x4 18m 42s
33 Rob Chell Rob Thomas VW Golf 19m 07s
34 Dai Hands Ryan Thomas-Hands Honda Civic 20m 47s
35 Huw Evans Garyl Evans Toyota Corolla 20m 55s
36 David Jones Glyn Price Peugeot 205 GTi 21m 14s
37 Richard Briddon Katie Ann Briddon Toyota Starlet 21m 50s
38 Mark Jonah Dorian Davies Ford Escort RS2000 22m 27s
39 Kevin James Regan Irfon Richards VW Golf GTi 22m 44s
40 Doug Bowkett Cliff Jones Peugeot 309 GTi 25m 10s
41 Chris Rowlands Alan Pemberton Suzuki Baleno 25m 30s
42 Alan James Rhydian George Peugeot 205 GTi 25m 45s
43 Mark Hockin Mair Davies Vauxhall Nova 26m 27s
44 Geraint Jones Edryd Evans Vauxhall Nova 27m 08s
45 Jason Harries Geraint Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 27m 11s
46 Owain Llwyd Edwards Delyth Brown Vauxhall Astra SRi 29m 44s
47 Rhydian Jenkins Gwyndaf Lewis Peugeot 205 GTi 29m 48s
48 Dave Howells James Morgan Peugeot 309 GTi 30m 46s
49 Jason Jones Vicky Cutler Ford Escort 31m 39s
50 Sterling Jenkins Simon Charles Vauxhall Nova 36m 49s
51 Gethin Humphreys Karen Morgan Vauxhall Astra GTE 42m 16s
52 Huw Morris Laura Morris Proton Compact 56m 32s
53 Carwyn Roberts Dylan Jones Ford Escort XR3 3F 46m 01s
54 Mark James Anthony Davies Ford Sierra XR4x4 13F 22m 12s
55 Anthony Williams Alan Marsh Ford Escort 39F 39m 49s