rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Bro Dyfi 1998

Sponsored by Geoff Jones Rallysport

Dovey Valley Motor Club

31st January/1st February 1998

Clerk of the Course: Phil Pugh

Route: 130 Miles

Maps: 124 135 & 136

Starters: 47

Winners: Hywel Davies/Huw Lewis (Toyota Corolla)

Hywel Davies made a triumphant return to the driver's seat when he and Huw Lewis took victory on Dovey Valley MC's Rali Bro Dyfi. Davies, a leading road rallyist of the Eighties, used his local knowledge as a postman in the Machynlleth area to good affect and came home over a minute clear of 1997 winners, Clive Williams/Patrick Walsh.

Rali Bro Dyfi 1998

The Bro Dyfi was the opening round of the Welsh, West Midlands and North Western Road Rally Championships. The organisers received an almost full 60 car entry, however a large number of non-starters meant that only 47 crews took the start. Despite this the quality at the front of the field was very high, with any of the top twenty being capable of taking the win.

The 130 mile event started with four easy sections but these led crews to a run over the tracks of event sponsor Geoff Jones' farm. Davies/Lewis emerged as leaders after this decisive section and consolidated it by being the only crew to clean the second half. Williams/Walsh, in a very standard Nissan Almera, were close to the winner's pace at Petrol, but picked up further penalties on the last test to be a minute down at the end.

The fifth section saw the only leading retirement of the event, the Corolla of Graham Evans/Ian Mills became wedged on a triangle. This incident delayed Dennis Quinn/Andrew Thomson, however they still managed to come home third, a solid start to their championship campaign. Also in trouble on the fifth section were Pete Cotton/Dave Pitchford and Gareth Lloyd/Dorian Evans, both crews becoming stuck and dropping time after wrong slotting. Lloyd/Evans added to this misery by picking up a fail at the very last passage control of the rally.

The 1996 winners, Huw James/Owen Dodd managed a seventh place finish after having to contend with severe brake problems on their Cavalier for most of the event. Similarly slowed by mechanical ailments were Elgan Jones/Byron Jones (Astra) and Cyril Crook/Chris Ware (Sunbeam). Most unfortunate of all were Ian Jones/Alan Williams, they were heading for third with only a few miles to go when their Peugoet 205 cut out, they resumed but the four minutes they had lost dropped them to eleventh.

The Semi-Expert class fell to the Astra of Roger Harris/Chris Winn, after the majority of the class took a mass wrong slot on the notorious fifth section and picked up a pocketful of fails as a result. The novice class was won by Iorwerth Jones, another top driver of the Eighties making a return, he was partnered by Bill Robertson in a Peugeot 205.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Hywel Davies Huw Lewis Toyota Corolla 4m 58s
2 Clive Williams Patrick Walsh Nissan Almera 6m 04s
3 Dennis Quinn Andrew Thomson Ford Escort 7m 39s
4 Wynne Pickersgill Shaun O'Gorman Ford Escort 7m 41s
5 Kevin Nunns Neil Spiers Toyota Corolla 7m 45s
6 Peter Zjalic Richard Preece Toyota Corolla 8m 20s
7 Huw James Owen Dodd Vauxhall Cavalier 8m 32s
8 Geraint Davies Sarah Gluyas Toyota Corolla 8m 46s
9 Cyril Crook Chris Ware Talbot Sunbeam 9m 13s
10 Des Phasey Steve Price Ford Escort 9m 29s
11 Ian Jones Alan 'Fanta' Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 10m 49s
12 Elgan Jones Byron Jones Vauxhall Astra GTE 11m 50s
13 Pete Cotton Dave Pitchford Ford Escort 11m 50s
14 Gareth Jones Iestyn ap Dafydd Toyota Corolla 12m 21s
15 Dave Boucher Jon Stobbs Ford Escort 20m 22s
16 Karl Hancocks Steve Durbin Ford Escort 31m 35s
17 Roger Harries Chris Winn Vauxhall Astra 36m 01s
18 Gareth Lloyd Dorian Evans Ford Escort 1F 10m 28s
19 Toby Adam Mark Robinson Ford Escort 1F 15m 29s
20 Martyn Evans Ceri Davies Nissan Micra 1F 21m 02s
21 Iwan Pritchard Paul Owen Ford Escort 1F 23m 53s
22 Keith Daniels Aneurin James Ford EScort 1F 24m 57s
23 Will Parry Iestyn Leyshon Ford EScort XR3 1F 28m 29s
24 Alwyn Jones Aled Pennant Ford Escort 6F 15m 08s
25 Bernie Harrison Cliff Washbrook Ford Escort XR3i 6F 20m 09s
26 Ian Elias Phil Roach Ford Escort 11F 19m 00s
27 Bryan Glass Stephen Kerr Ford Escort 12F 8m 35s
28 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Mini 1275GT 12F 39m 31s
29 Adrian Higman Cyril Jones Talbot Sunbeam 13F 22m 26s
30 Paul Davies Phil Ralphs Ford Escort 13F 33m 29s
31 Chris Rowlands Brian Jenkins Toyota Corolla 13F 34m 12s
32 Iorworth Jones Bill Robertson Peugeot 205 14F 27m 17s
33 Arwyn Williams Glyn Evans Ford Escort 14F 29m 06s
34 Gwyn Williams Elfyn Richards Vauxhall Nova 19F 19m 59s