rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Bro Dyfi 1999

Sponsored by Geoff Jones Rallysport

Dovey Valley Motor Club

30th/31st January 1999

Clerk of the Course: Phil Pugh

Route: 145 Miles

Maps: 124 & 135

Starters: 60

Winners: Alan Gaunt/Marc Jones (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Alan Gaunt/Marc Jones started their road rally season with a convincing win on the Rali Bro Dyfi. The Dovey Valley MC event proved to be a tough test as only twenty-two of the sixty starters were classified as finishers

Rali Bro Ddyfi 1999

The rally used 145 miles of the tight lanes and tracks in the Machynlleth/Dogellau area, including some stretches in both the Coed-yr-Brenin and Dyfi Forests.

Rali Bro Ddyfi 1999
Winners: Alan Gaunt/Marc Jones (Peugeot 205 GTi)
Photograph: Aled Richards

Gaunt/Jones, in their immaculately prepared Peugeot 205, romped away to win, this gave them an ideal start to their Welsh Championship challenge. Richie Lewis/Richard Preece had led after the first of the rally's six sections but had dropped to second and then picked up a fail for a missed signature by the petrol halt. They eventually finished in tenth place

Dennis Quinn/Andrew Thomson had a bad start to their title defence when they lost seventeen minutes as their Escort RS2000 became stuck after a wrong slot; then in the confusion of recovering they failed to pick up four signatures and trailed home in fifteenth place.

The 1997 winner, Clive Williams, partnered by Owen Dodd, had been expected to be among the leading runners in their road standard Ford Fiesta, however after having to drive for four miles on a punctured front tyre on the first section, he picked up a fail in Coed-yr-Brenin

For Huw Evans/Patrick Walsh it was a happier event, as, despite a intermittent misfire, they brought their Escort RS2000 home in the runner up spot, two minutes behind the winners.

Most of the leading Welsh Championship contenders did well. A duo of Mark 1 Escorts filled third and fourth places, as Toby Adam/Pat Gatsby led home Neil Griffiths/Carl Williamson. Geraint Davies/Sarah Gluyas were fifth after surviving clutch problems on their Toyota Corolla, while Wayne Morris/Steve Price scooped the Under 1300 category in their Escort

There were only five non-Expert finishers as the going proved tough for the lower runners. Steve Rogers/Paul Jones had been the Semi-Expert pacesetters, but then retired their Mini with gearbox failure.

The class win then went to Nicholas Yates/Simon Yates, with John Whitehurst/Phil Ralphs in second. The only finishers in the Novice class were Martin Bradley/Gordon Bradley and Jerry Jones/Phil Lewis.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Alan Gaunt Marc Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 11m 37s
2 Huw Evans Patrick Walsh Ford Escort 13m 54s
3 Toby Adam Pat Gadsby Ford Escort 17m 10s
4 Neil Griffiths Carl Williamson Ford Escort 18m 46s
5 Geraint Davies Sarah Gluyas Toyota Corolla 19m 19s
6 Wayne Morris Steve Price Ford Escort 20m 38s
7 Gerallt Davies Michael Evans Toyota Corolla 24m 41s
8 Tudor Morris Gerallt Davies Ford Escort 29m 51s
9 Aled 'Cacen' Evans Eryl Evans Ford Sierra 34m 05s
10 Richie Lewis Richard Preece Toyota Corolla 1F 10m 45s
11 Paul Holmberg Dave Pitchford Ford Escort 1F 19m 14s
12 Richard 'Tyson' Morris Iestyn Leyshon Talbot Samba 1F 42m 27s
13 Gary Jones Ian Cooke Toyota Corolla 2F 27m 25s
14 Keith Parry Perry Roe Opel Manta 3F 33m 17s
15 Jason Hardy Steven Roberts VW Golf GTi 3F 54m 37s
16 Dennis Quinn Andrew Thomson Ford Escort 4F 29m 20s
17 Nicholas Yates Simon Yates Ford Escort 6F 47m 19s
18 Keith Daniels Aneurin James Vauxhall Nova 10F 32m 54s
19 Martin Bardley Gordon Bradley Ford Escort 14F 45m 27s
20 John Whitehurst Phil Ralphs Ford Escort 16F 48m 18s
21 Jimmy Paterson Adrian Smart Subaru RX Turbo 20F 45m 05s
22 Jerry Jones Phil Lewis BL Mini 22F 80m 51s
23 Clive Williams Patrick Walsh Ford Fiesta 27F 19m 18s
24 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Mini 1275GT 35F 63m 06s
25 Greg McGuire Dave Edwards Ford Escort 43F 62m 12s