rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Bro Dyfi 2001

Sponsored by Geoff Jones Rallysport

Dovey Valley Motor Club

3rd/4th February 2001

Clerk of the Course: Phil Pugh

Route: 140 Miles

Maps: 124 135 & 136

Starters: 75

Winners: Huw Evans/Patrick Walsh (Ford Escort)

With a comfortable winning margin, Huw Evans/Patrick Walsh made it two victories in two years on the Rali Bro Ddyfi.

Rali Bro Ddyfi 2001

The Dovey Valley MC event attracted 75 entries but after 140 miles of motoring the Aberyswyth pairing were over two minutes clear of their nearest rivals.

The rally moved its route further south for this year, venturing as far as the Clywedog Dam road and abandoning the Dolgellau area. However as in previous years the event was decided on the tracks of rally sponsor Geoff Jones' farm.

Evans/Walsh were a minute and half quicker than any other crew over this section, thus securing the victory and top Welsh Championship points. They were followed home by series rivals Graham Evans/Ian Mills in second place and Dennis Quinn/Dave Evison in third.

Witch Way winners Stuart Newby/Paul Holmberg were fourth in the Impreza, a result that after just three rounds puts them in a strong position in the North Western Championship.

Phil Turner/Owen Dodd survived an electrical fire early in the event, which left them without interior lights, to finish fifth, while late entrants Kev Parry/Gareth Price came in sixth and took the Standard Production Award.

Martin Lloyd/Steve Herbert continued their good run of results by totally dominating the Semi-Expert Class, coming home seventh overall. They were the only Class Two crew free of fails and twenty-five minutes quicker than their nearest challenger.

Dafydd Evans/Hywel Davies were equally emphatic winners in the Novice Class, only being denied a top ten finish due to the fact that they missed a code board.

Top south-eastern crew Mike Biss/Kath Woodman made the long journey to Machynlleth and were rewarding with eleventh overall and the Mixed Crew Award. This was just one place ahead of fellow long distance travellers John Harmer/Pat Gadsby.

Rali Bro Ddyfi 2001
Class 2 Winners: Martin Lloyd/Steve Herbert (Ford Escort)

The organisers introduced a new concept to Welsh road rallying with the use of Greek lettering on some code boards. Reigning West Midlands Champions Gary Jones/Dave Pitchford became a victim of one of these after picking up a fail for a infringement regarding one of the boards. It was an expensive mistake as they lost what would have been second place as a result of the penalty.

On the retirement list were Clive Wakeley/Byron Jones whose Escort succumbed to electrical problem early on in the rally, while Tony Davies/Dilwyn John also failed to make the petrol halt after a ball joint broke on their Corolla.

Nick Bloxham/Carl Williamson made a more dramatic exit from the rally when they rolled their Peugeot 205, severely damaging the newly built car. Gerwyn Jones/Ceri Davies were going well but then their Escort's head gasket failed almost immedately after the petrol halt.

Grant Parker/Gwyn Williams broke a halfshaft on their Corolla, while Howard Price/Steve Griffith went out when their similar car suffered a broken manifold. Haydn Davies/Alan Williams had a problematic event, going off on the first corner, then getting stuck in a farmyard for twenty minutes before finally crashing out of the rally.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Huw Evans Patrick Walsh Ford Escort 2m 03s
2 Graham Evans Ian Mills Toyota Corolla 4m 00s
3 Dennis Quinn Dave Evison Ford Escort 4m 33s
4 Stuart Newby Paul Holmberg Subaru Impreza 5m 14s
5 Phil Turner Owen Dodd VW Golf GTi 6m 00s
6 Kev Parry Gareth Price Ford Escort 6m 51s
7 Martin Lloyd Steve Herbert Ford Escort 6m 55s
8 Hefin George Andy Oakes Nissan Sunny GTi-R 7m 10s
9 Ian 'Dude' Roberts Nigel Roberts VW Golf GTi 12m 08s
10 Elfyn Richards Alan Jôs VW Golf GTi 13m 21s
11 Mike Biss Cath Woodman Vauxhall Nova 13m 46s
12 John Harmer Pat Gadsby MG Maestro 20m 21s
13 Mark Harris Neil Bevan Peugeot 205 GTi 31m 31s
14 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 1F 3m 12s
15 Gary James Dylan Evans Hillman Avenger 1F 7m 09s
16 Dafydd Evans Hywel Davies Toyota Corolla 1F 12m 04s
17 John Griffiths Allan Jordan Vauxhall Nova GTE 1F 16m 30s
18 Wayne Morris Paul Middleton Ford Escort 1F 16m 54s
19 Kev Nunns Cyril Jones Ford Sierra 1F 29m 28s
20 Christian Prynne Doody Farmer Toyota Corolla 1F 30m 54s
21 Barry Phillips Aled Richards Vauxhall Astra 1F 31m 46s
22 Doreen Davies Anthony Davies Ford Escort 1F 40m 05s
23 Jerry Jones Ian Cooke Mini Clubman 2F 24m 56s
24 Paul Price Gemma Price Vauxhall Nova 3F 15m 15s
25 Steven Roberts Darren Garrod Toyota Corolla 3F 18m 46s
26 Eifion Thomas Afan Thomas Ford Escort 3F 38m 59s
27 Andrew Williams Wyn Davies Vauxhall Astra 3F 43m 45s
28 Simon Chandler David Manning Ford Escort 4F 58m 22s
29 Paul Mumford Glenn Latham Peugeot 309 GTi 5F 26m 34s
30 Ashley Morris Michael Cartwright Peugeot 205 GTi 5F 28m 25s
31 Claire Evans Allen Hart Vauxhall Astra 5F 30m 01s
32 Stephen Wynn Chris Wynn Ford Escort 6F 48m 02s
33 Mal Jones Ian Fellows Peugeot 205 GTi 7F 63m 53s
34 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Vauxhall Nova 7F 63m 53s
35 Gareth Jenkins Sharon Clarke Ford Escort 11F 25m 01s
36 Darren Jones Heddwyn Jones Vauxhall Nova 15F 9m 54s
37 Mike Davies Alan Jones Ford Escort 30F 52m 13s
38 Trevor Pritchard Paul Hughes MG Maestro 31F 29m 36s