rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Bro Preseli 2003

Sponsored by Riverlea Tractors + Robins Taxis

Teifi Valley Motor Club

25th/26th January 2003

Clerk of the Course: Richard Evans & Jon Stobbs

Route: 90 Miles

Maps: 145 & 157

Starters: 60

Winners: Mark Lloyd/Delyth Morgan (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Teifi Valley MC’s Rali Bro Preseli, an event aimed at novice competitors, was appropriately enough won by the novice crew of Mark Lloyd/Delyth Morgan. The ninety mile road rally saw a capacity entry of sixty cars tackle a route in north Pembrokeshire. Expert competitors were allowed to enter but only if they swapped from their normal seats for the event.

Rali Bro Preseli 2003

Lloyd/Morgan took the lead in their Peugeot 205 on the second section and retained it until the finish, coming home ninety seconds ahead of the Vauxhall Chevette of Alan Hands/Melanie Hands, who won the Semi-Expert category. Arwel Thomas/Wyn Lewis had held ninth place at the halfway point but they moved up to take third place at the Finish.

Wayne James/Jenney James had been in second place at Petrol, but a major error on the third section saw them miss a number of controls, this dropped them well down the order. Similarly Gaz Thomas/Edwin Venville, who had been just two seconds behind James/James, dropped down the standings after failing to find PC30.

Winners taking the overall award, the Novice Class Award went to Geoff Williams/Stuart Oulton, who finished in eighth place overall in their Nova.

For seventeen crews the Bro Preseli was their first full road rally, of these the highest placed finishers were James Rees/Nick Eldridge, they were classified in fifteenth place.

Robert James/Eurig Davies had the shortest rally of the night, retiring their Rover 216 after just a few hundred yards when a half shaft broke. Meanwhile gearbox problems halted the Sierra of Gethin Morgan/Martin Richards.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Mark Lloyd Delyth Morgan Peugeot 205 GTi 1m 17s
2 Alan Hands Melanie Hands Vauxhall Chevette 2m 56s
3 Arwel Thomas Wyn Lewis Ford Fiesta XR2 2m 58s
4 Dylan Owen Iwan Williams Peugeot 205 GTi 3m 23s
5 Roy Thomas Michelle Thomas Peugeot 205 GTi 3m 55s
6 Peter Collins Joanna Collins Vauxhall Astra 4m 47s
7 Marc Jones Bill Williams Ford Sierra 5m 02s
8 Geoff Williams Stuart Oulton Vauxhall Nova 5m 35s
9 Eiros Edwards Nigel Smith Ford Mondeo 5m 39s
10 Anwen Phillips Huw Phillips Peugeot 205 GTi 6m 16s
11 Rhys Evans Steffan Evans Peugeot 309 GTi 8m 08s
12 Huw James Wyn Mathias Nissan Sunny 10m 26s
13 Dai Hands Richard Davies Honda CRX 10m 59s
14 Michael Rodgers Meirion Rees Peugeot 205 GTi 13m 12s
15 James Rees Nick Eldridge Ford Fiesta 19m 43s
16 Paul Morris Simon Millars VauxhalL Astra GTE 1F 5m 38s
17 Gaz Thomas Edwin Venville Vauxhall Astra 1F 7m 14s
18 Marc Thomas Darren Williams Ford Orion 1F 8m 13s
19 Neil Reed Barry Davies Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 9m 16s
20 Richard James Aled Johnson Vauxhall Astra GTE 1F 12m 36s
21 Emyr Evans Dylan Davies Opel Manta 1F 16m 55s
22 Richard Lee Darren Phillips Mazda 323i 2F 3m 20s
23 Keith Evans Owain Thomas Vauxhall Nova GSi 2F 8m 39s
24 Alun Cole Euros Lloyd Ford Escort Mexico 3F 8m 07s
25 Robert Pardoe Delyth Brown Toyota Corolla 4F 3m 05s
26 I A Mangano Steve Weston Fiat Tipo 4F 4m 13s
27 Cefin Mathias Heulyn Phillips Ford Fiesta 4F 4m 25s
28 Hefin Jones Llinos Jones Ford Escort 4F 8m 17s
29 Mark Sugden Huw Jones Peugeot 205 4F 8m 47s
30 Aled Davies Lee Plant Vauxhall Astra 6F 27m 18s
31 Granville James Arwel Cole Ford Escort 7F 14m 26s
32 Karen Roberts Dave Roberts Peugeot 205 GTi 8F 9m 41s
33 Roddy Daniels Rhydian Ebenezer Vauxhall Cavalier 8F 22m 54s
34 Wayne James Jenny James Peugeot 205 GTi 9F 3m 14s
35 Mark Phillips John Rossiter Vauxhall Astra 9F 14m 41s
36 Barry John Seyyan John Toyota Celica 10F 15m 15s
37 Barry Phillips Clive Phillips Ford Escort 11F 9m 45s
38 Lloyd Davies Graham davies Ford Escort 11F 13m 06s
39 Peter Smith Paul Seabourne Ford Escort 11F 38m 21s
40 Robert Davies Steffan Crompton Peugeot 205 GTi 12F 17m 50s
41 James Evans Phil Morris Ford Fiesta 12F 21m 42s
42 Huw Morris Laura Morris VW Golf 12F 52m 38s
43 John James Mike Crayford Rover 216 GSi 13F 10m 00s
44 Huw Scourfield Rod Bowen Mini 1000 15F 22m 35s
45 Sterling Jenkins Simon Charles Vauxhall Nova 17F 17m 05s
46 Martin James John George Honda Civic 22F 15m 59s
47 Philip Evans Darren Williams Ford Escort 22F 16m 13s
48 Nick Giles Rhys Morgan Vauxhall Nova 39F 42m 17s
49 Andrew Davies Andrew Rees VW Golf GX 41F 22m 00s