rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Bro Preseli 2004

Sponsored by Maxspeed Motorsport + Arjay Factors

Teifi Valley Motor Club

7th/8th February 2004

Clerk of the Course: Richard Evans & Jon Stobbs

Route: 110 Miles

Maps: 157

Starters: 60

Winners: Hywel Greaves/Geraint Jones (VW Polo)

Hywel Greaves/Geraint Jones won the Rali Bro Preseli in their newly built VW Polo by a comfortable margin of almost five minutes.

Rali Bro Preseli 2004

The Teifi Valley MC organised event was aimed at novice and beginners crews, with expert competitors excluded from entering. Despite this restriction the club received 128 entries in two days for the 60 car starting places. The successful ones faced a 110 mile rally which used many Pembrokeshire lanes that hadn’t seen a road rally for several years.

In the first half of the rally Greaves/Jones were challenged for the lead by Mark Andrew/Edwin Venville, and the latter crew led at the petrol halt, which was taken at about two-thirds distance. However a number of wrong slots saw Andrew/Venville drop back in the latter stages and gave Greaves/Jones the win.

After a slow start Roy Thomas/Michelle Thomas grasped second place from Andrew/Venville at the penultimate control, but then lost it again on the final test; they were nine seconds behind the runners up at the finish.

Eiros Edwards/Iwan Williams took fourth, while the leading Novice crew were Richard Davies/Huw Phillips who brought their Vauxhall Astra into fifth place overall.

The 2003 winners, Mark Lloyd/Delyth Morgan, had an unhappy event, withdrawing at Petrol with gear linkage problems. Wayne James/Jenny James went out on the first section also with gearbox failure, while engine problems forced Peter Collins/Joanna Collins out.

Rob Pardoe/Tony Davies had been expected to go well but they were also on the retirement list when the distributor broke on their Corolla just five miles into the rally.

A broken gearbox put Car No.2, Wayne James/Jenny James (Peugeot 205), out at an early stage. Ceri Jones/Edrian Monk had an character building rally; they missed a triangle control, then hit a hedge and were finally forced out when the gear linkage on their Peugeot 205 broke.

Dave Howells had 12 year old James Morgan as his navigator; they finished in 21st position.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Hywel Greaves Geraint Jones VW Polo 9m 00s
2 Mark Andrew Edwin Venville Peugeot 205 13m 50s
3 Roy Thomas Michelle Thomas Peugeot 205 13m 59s
4 Eiros Edwards Iwan Williams Ford Mondeo 14m 56s
5 Richard Davies Huw Phillips Vauxhall Astra 15m 43s
6 Marc Jones Bill Williams Ford Sierra 17m 14s
7 Wayne Hayhurst Jason Sugden Peugeot 205 19m 35s
8 Max Jones Geraint Mayes Ford Sierra 20m 11s
9 Mark Jameson Delyth Brown Ford Escort 21m 22s
10 Barry John Seyyan John Ford Escort 24m 23s
11 Kevin Evans Owain Thomas Vauxhall Nova 26m 47s
12 Tom Barber Geraint Hands Peugeot 309 29m 14s
13 Eurig Davies Darren Williams Vauxhall Nova 30m 33s
14 Matthew Wood-Griffiths Tom Henderson Peugeot 205 33m 35s
15 Sterling Jenkins Simon Charles Vauxhall Nova 33m 54s
16 Elrik Davis Andrew Davis Vauxhall Nova 35m 37s
17 Angharad Lloyd Clive Phillips Peugeot 205 37m 55s
18 Aled Johnson Gethin Sollis Rover 216 41m 54s
19 Adrian Convery Alan Williams Vauxhall Nova 50m 17s
20 Mark Phillips Dafydd Gibby Vauxhall Astra 1F 27m 29s
21 Dave Howells James Morgan Peugeot 309 1F 39m 45s
22 Hefin Jones Llinos Jones Ford Escort 2F 11m 41s
23 Daniel Bowden Marc Jonah Peugeot 205 2F 20m 17s
24 John James Mike Crayford Rover 216 2F 37m 06s
25 Tom Layton Andrew Layton Peugeot 205 2F 1h 05m 08s
26 Paul Davies Steve Hicks Vauxhall Nova 3F 30m 54s
27 Andrew Davies Andrew Rees Peugeot 205 3F 39m 55s
28 Brian Morgan Ruth Morgan Ford Escort 3F 1h 08m 07s
29 Hannah Morgan Lisa Whitney Vauxhall Nova 4F 30m 13s
30 Wyn Mathias Laura Lee Renault Clio 4F 35m 37s
31 Gareth Thomas Andrew Rees Peugeot 205 6F 1h 03m 49s
32 Richard Evans Dai Evans VW Golf 7F 29m 45s
33 William Jenkins Ben Evans Vauxhall Nova 17F 3h 34m 13s
34 Dylan Jones Terry Jones Ford Escort XR3i 18F 35m 57s
35 James Rees Nicky Eldridge Ford Sierra 19F 35m 23s
36 Tim Hand Dylan Davies Ford Sierra 28F 1h 28m 27s
37 Huw Morris Laura Morris Proton Compact 47F 38m 06s