rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Bro Teifi 2003

Sponsored by John Roberts (Ffestiniog) Ltd + Cware, Pantgwyn Quarry

Teifi Valley Motor Club

5th/6th April 2003

Clerk of the Course: Mark Jukes & Peter Collins

Route: 140 Miles

Maps: 145 & 146

Starters: 75

Winners: Ceri Richards/Aled Jones (Ford Escort)

After a number of near misses Ceri Richards/Aled Jones finally achieved their maiden win when they took victory on the Rali Bro Teifi.

Rali Bro Teifi 2003

The Teifi Valley MC event had been included in the Welsh Road Rally Championship for the first time and saw a 75 car field tackle a 140 mile route. Numerous farmyards and tracks were utilised to make it a demanding night for crews. To add to the difficulty there were also patches of thick fog throughout the night.

The first section started at Cennarth, then looped, via the tracks at Bryngwrog, to finish at Cwm Cou. Arwyn Thomas/Patrick Walsh (Ford Escort) were fastest over this short section. They were four seconds ahead of the eventual winners, who in turn were just one second ahead of Gerwyn Jones/Ceri Davies (Ford Escort) and Adrian Davies/Dorian Evans (Ford Escort).

Failed gearboxes caused two early retirements. Both the Peugeot 309 of Huw Davies/Rob Duke and the Golf of Tony Davies/Rob Richardson suffered transmission breakages before the end of the first section. Aled Thomas/Nigel Nelson (Subaru Impreza) had a big accident in the fog; this put them out of the rally before RF1.

The second section was a long one, with seven ITCs. It started just north of Newcastle Emlyn on the B4571 and the early part used farm tracks to the west of the B-road. Richards/Jones were on home ground here and took the lead at the first Intermediate Time Control on the section, ITC3.

Thomas/Walsh were just one second behind at ITC3, and went back in front at ITC5, the approach to which used the track and ford through Cefnmaes. By ITC7 the pair had a lead of 23 seconds, however, on tracks through Glyn-yr-odyn, they dropped off the road and lost over six minutes before they could regain the road. There was no damage and they completed the event in ninth place.

Richards/Jones stormed through the latter part of the second section and by the petrol halt they had established a lead of almost three minutes, a margin they maintained to the Finish.

Rali Bro Teifi 2003
Winners: Ceri Richards/Aled Jones (Ford Escort)
Photograph: M&H Photography

The immaculately prepared Escort of Toby Adam/Byron Jones took second. Ieaun Thomas was a last minute replacement navigator for Gareth Jones, as Jones' intended partner Carl Williamson had left for Italy to prepare for the Coppa Liburna Città di Radicofani, where he was co-driving for Jari-Matti Latvala. On the Bro Teifi, Jones/Thomas came home in third place narrowly beating Adrian Davies/Dorian Evans to the place.

Gerwyn Jones/Ceri Davies were in fourth place at Petrol, but fell back to 11th at the Finish after losing six minutes in the second half locating a PC. Gary Jones/Andy Oakes were delayed by a throttle cable breakage just before Petrol; they finished in sixth place.

Top seeds Hefin George/Dilwyn John were lying in fifth place when they were forced out with a broken engine in the later stages. A broken clutch cable put the Escort of Dylan Parry/Dylan Evans out of the event. Meanwhile David Watts/Peter Watts went out after the compressor fell on to their Peugeot 205's engine, breaking a belt.

The Sierra 4x4 of Aled Evans/Eryl Evans went out after breaking two engine mountings, this pushed the fan into the radiator, leading to a overheating engine. They had been in fifth place at Petrol.

Marc Jones/Anthony Davies (Ford Sierra 4x4) had been in third place at ITC5, having been the only crew to clean that section. They then left the road near Maesllyn. The off caused damage to their Sierra. By the time they had repaired the damage, to stay within their time limit, they had to cut route. They completed the rally in 37th position.

Barry Davies/Mark Davies finished eight minutes clear of their nearest class rival to win the Semi-Expert category, while Wayne James/Jenny James were the only Novice crew to finish fail free.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Ceri Richards Aled Jones Ford Escort 12m 30s
2 Toby Adam Byron Jones Ford Escort XR3i 15m 17s
3 Gareth 'Gog' Jones Ieuan Thomas Ford Escort 16m 50s
4 Adrian Davies Dorian Evans Ford Escort 16m 59s
5 Ian Carter Phil Clarke Subaru Impreza 19m 33s
6 Gary Jones Andy Oakes Toyota Corolla 19m 39s
7 Delfryn Owens Jeff James Reanult Clio RSi 20m 22s
8 John Davies Neil Bevan Vauxhall Nova 20m 53s
9 Arwyn Thomas Patrick Walsh Ford Escort 21m 33s
10 Andy Sheppard Justin Brookes Vauxhall Astra 22m 49s
11 Gerwyn Jones Ceri Davies Ford Escort 24m 23s
12 Barry Davies Mark Davies Ford Escort 24m 49s
13 Marc Jones Bill Williams Ford Sierra 27m 07s
14 Dennis Quinn Pat Gadsby Ford Escort 27m 12s
15 Jason Hardy Alan Jôs VW Golf GTi 27m 52s
16 Huw Myfyr Darren Garrod VW Golf GTi 28m 28s
17 Mark Daniel Hywel Ifans Peugeot 205 GTi 28m 37s
18 Carwyn Evans Mark Andrew Vauxhall Astra 28m 40s
19 Ian Orford Peter Barnard Mazda 323 4x4 31m 41s
20 Wayne Edwards Sharon Jarvis Suzuki Swift 32m 33s
21 Owain Llwyd Edwards Dorian Dvaies Vauxhall Astra 32m 59s
22 Aled Rees Heulyn Phillips Ford Escort 33m 34s
23 Alan Hands Melanie Hands Vauxhall Chevette 34m 40s
24 Chris Davies Matthew Maidment Peugeot 205 XS 35m 09s
25 Wayne James Jenny James Peugeot 205 36m 10s
26 Eurig Evans Paul Jones Ford Capri 37m 50s
27 Julian Smith Chris Short Toyota Corolla 44m 43s
28 Aled Richards Delyth Morgan Peugeot 205 GTi 45m 43s
29 Kevin Price Jane Price Vauxhall Nova 1F 31m 30s
30 Lee Heywood Mark Hamilton Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 31m 50s
31 Gary Jenkins Eric Tong Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 47m 34s
32 Gareth Williams Owen Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 48m 10s
33 Roger Harries Beth Evans Vauxhall Astra 3F 42m 55s
34 Huw Evans Garil Evans Toyota Corolla 4F 1h 19m 08s
35 Mike Roberts David Roberts Peugeot 205 GTi 10F 1h 02m 40s
36 John James Nike Crayford Rover 216 GSi 10F 1h 11m 12s
37 Marc James Anthony Davies Ford Sierra 4x4 15F 23m 00s
38 Tom Barber Geraint Hands Peugeot 309 GTi 28F 1h 34m 03s
39 Elrik Davis Andrew Davis Vauxhall Nova 50F 1h 29m 31s
40 Clive Mortimer Stafford Morgan Opel Manta 54F 1h 08m 15s