rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Bruce Robinson Memorial Rally

Lincoln Motor Cycle & Car Club

9th/10th February 2002

Clerk of the Course: Trevor Faulkner

Route: 140 Miles

Maps: 113 121 & 122

Starters: 37

Winners: John Haden/Iain Tullie (Subaru Impreza Estate)

The first time pairing of John Haden/Iain Tullie took a narrow win on the Bruce Robinson Rally after a night long battle with Bob Marshall/Roger Hage.

Bruce Robinson Memorial Rally 2002
Winners: John Haden/Iain Tullie (Subaru Impreza Estate)
Photograph: Mark Kerton

The matter was only decided on the last section, a regularity test on the tracks of Wickenby Airfield. Haden/Tullie, competing in a Impreza, were almost a minute faster than any other crew over this section, this gave them a winning margin of just eleven seconds over the Corsa of Marshall/Hage.

The Lincoln Motor Cycle and Car Club event used a testing 140 mile route in north-eastern Lincolnshire. Thirty-seven crews took the start, with 28 reaching the Finish. The rally was a round of the EMAMC, the ANEMMC and the ANCC Road Rally Championships.

Top seeds Guy Robinson/Charlie Wheeldon took third in their Nova with Andy Baker/Lee Burgess fourth in the AB Motorsport Peugeot 205. Among the leading crews not to make the finish were Mark Turner/Richard Pashley, who withdrew after the driver became unwell, and Terry Martin/Simon Bentley, who had a stone hole the radiator on an early section.

The Semi-Expert Class was won by Sandie Taylor/Paul Taylor, who were sixth overall, while the leading Novices were Jason Cutter/George Cowling in a Peugeot 309.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 John Haden Iain Tullie Subaru Impreza 8m 42s
2 Bob Marshall Roger Hage Vauxhall Corsa 8m 53s
3 Guy Robinson Charlie Wheeldon Vauxhall Nova 9m 48s
4 Andy Baker Lee Burgess Peugeot 205 GTi 11m 01s
5 Jamie Turner Graham Raeburn MG Metro GTi 17m 02s
6 sandie Taylor Paul Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 18m 23s
7 David Williams Richard Booth Renault Clio 20m 27s
8 Allan Sayers Bob Stokoe Ford Fiesta 20m 40s
9 Gavin Smith Michael Ogram Peugeot 205 GTi 20m 42s
10 Owen Turner Andrew Dadswell Hillman Imp 21m 16s
11 Graham Nunn Paul Nelson Peugeot 205 GTi 23m 46s
12 Keith Astley Jez Pole Vauxhall Astra 25m 42s
13 Andy Lewin Gary Orton Peugeot 205 GTi 32m 45s
14 Peter Noad Peter Cox Audi 80 GT 33m 54s
15 Len Smith Richard Lumb Mini Cooper S 35m 42s
16 Jon Lawson Chris Pringle Subaru Legacy 36m 21s
17 Andy Stinchcombe Malcolm Young Ford Sierra Sapphire 37m 23s
18 Jason Cutter George Cowling Peugeot 309 GTi 40m 26s
19 Russ Jones David Wilson Mini 41m 22s
20 Nichola Hillier Dave Broadley Rover Metro 41m 24s
21 John Savage Paul Rhodes Mini 49m 26s
22 Chris Faulkner Chris Thorley Ford Sierra 53m 45s
23 Mark Slatcher Justin Chapman Vauxhall Astra GTE 54m 26s
24 Bernie Watkins Adam Roper Vauxhall Cavalier 62m 57s
25 James Ashton Ian Beech Vauxhall Corsa 66m 53s
26 Richard Atherton Chris Bowden MG Maestro 84m 17s
27 Jason Birks Christopher White Vauxhall Cavalier 160m 44s
28 Malcolm Holdsworth Richard Holdsworth Toyota Corolla 1F 109m 30s