rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Bruce Robinson Memorial Rally 2004

Lincoln Motor Cycle & Car Club

14th/15th February 2004

Clerk of the Course: Mike Angove & Kev Hutchinson

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 113 121 & 122

Starters: 45

Winners: Owen Turner/Graham Raeburn (Rover Metro GTi)

Owen Turner/Graham Raeburn took their Metro to a resounding win on the Bruce Robinson Memorial Rally; giving the driver his first National B victory.

Bruce Robinson Memorial Rally 2004

The Lincoln MC&CC event was the opening round of three major championships and attracted 45 entries. The crews faced a tough night of plot ‘n bash navigation.

Turner/Raeburn combined pace and accurate navigation to finish almost eight minutes clear at the Finish. John Haden/Iain Tullie had been close behind the winners for most of the event, but they hit a pot hole on Wickenby Airfield, the final test of the night; the impact pushed the sub frame back and broke the wiring loom on their Subaru, they failed to finish.

Two former members of the rally’s organising team drove on the event and took second and third; both had teenage navigators. Trevor Faulkner/Chris Faulkner were second and also won the Semi-Expert class, while John Dimbleby/David Dimbleby finished third.

Making it a good night for the Rover Metro, Nichola Hillier/Dave Broadley finished fourth in their version.

Steve Webster/Roger Hage matched the winners' pace throughout the night, but they missed to collect three code boards on a loop, adding 15 minutes to their total. They were classified in fifth.

Late entrants Mark Garraway/Dave Wilkinson (Vauxhall Nova) took the Novice award in sixth overall. Meanwhile the Historic category was won by Ray Heathcote/Pat Gadsby (Vauxhall Viva).

Frank Evans/Dan Spittlehouse (Toyota Corolla) suffered a puncture in the second half and also lost time after water got onto the distributor as they traversed the Biscathorpe fords, but they still managed to claim tenth place.

Simon Randall/Charlie Wheeldon (BMW M3) and Craig Burgess/Lee Burgess (Peugeot 205 GTi) withdrew after struggling with the, at times, ambiguous navigation. The latter crew had also been off the road at one point.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Owen Turner Graham Raeburn Rover Metro GTi 7m 31s
2 Trevor Faulkner Chris Faulkner Ford Orion 15m 16s
3 John Dimbleby David Dimbleby Ford Fiesta XR2 16m 21s
4 Nichola Hillier Dave Broadley Rover Metro 22m 15s
5 Steve Webster Roger Hage Subaru Impreza 23m 09s
6 Mark Garraway Dave Wilkinson Ford Fiesta XR2 29m 27s
7 John Ross Graeme Potter Subaru Impreza 30m 11s
8 Russ Jones David Wilson Mini 1098 31m 15s
9 Mark Whitford Steve Porter Ford Escort 31m 45s
10 Frank Evans Dan Spittlehouse Toyota Corolla 36m 59s
11 Dave Chapman David Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 37m 53s
12 Simon Tate Richard Wilson Opel Manta 39m 00s
13 Alastair Crosby John Thornton Peugeot 205 GTi 39m 14s
14 Adrian Ancliffe John Chadwick Ford Escort 40m 24s
15 Craig Whitehead Lee Hudson Ford Fiesta XR2 41m 14s
16 Richard Chown Mark Wagstaff Peugeot 205 GTi 42m 07s
17 Nick Toplis Mick Fern Vauxhall Nova 43m 24s
18 Ray Heathcote Pat Gadsby Vauxhall Viva 44m 18s
19 Nik Kershaw Paul Nelson Peugeot 205 GTi 44m 53s
20 Simon Taylor Ian Faulkner Peugeot 205 GTi 45m 22s
21 Tim Daltry Paul Fillis Peugeot 205 GTi 45m 59s
22 Simon Banham James Savage Peugeot 205 GTi 53m 58s
23 David Howell Stephen Taylor Opel Manta 54m 09s
24 Chris Faulkner Chris Thorley Ford Sierra 55m 51s
25 Bill Chadwick Alan Edwards Peugeot 205 GTi 61m 06s
26 Jonathan Starkey Julian Sheilds Peugeot 205 GTi 64m 28s
27 John Taylor Bill Grainger Riley 1.5 90m 59s
28 Mick Smith Dave Mellor Ford Escort 1F 41m 59s
29 Bernie Watkins Adam Roper Vauxhall Cavalier 1F 51m 17s
30 James Carter Jonathan Stockdale Ford Escort 2F 31m 01s
31 Jonathan Byard Glyn Byard Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 67m 17s
32 Abe Shenker Peter Cox Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 68m 01s
33 Mark Randall Craig Grist Vauxhall Nova 5F 108m 14s
34 Kevin Hardwick Richard Calcroft Peugeot 205 GTi 6F 92m 39s
35 Graham Nunn Richard Lumb Peugeot 205 GTi 7F 52m 00s
36 Steve Hall Philip Hall Citroen AX 9F 132m 00s
37 Adrian Green Paul Hudson Seat Ibiza 15F 130m 00s
38 Mark Casey Glyn Casey Vauxhall Nova 15F 165m 00s
39 Kevan Gresham Chris Newton Mini 1000 16F 139m 14s
40 Vicki Mellor Rhiannon Blythe Mini 998 21F 231m 00s