rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Buglass Trophy Rally 2003

Berwick & District Motor Club

22nd/23rd February 2003

Clerk of the Course: Robin Scott

Route: 67 Miles

Maps: 74 & 75

Starters: 16

Winners: Malcolm Holdsworth/Chris Pringle (Toyota Corolla)

Despite missing two code boards Malcolm Holdsworth/Chris Pringle ended up winners of Berwick & District MC’s Buglass Trophy Rally.

The rally which was the first round of the Tyneside Motor Sport Group Rally Series saw 16 starters tackle a 67 mile route in the very north-east of England.

Holdsworth/Pringle, who were competing in the driver’s regular Toyota Corolla, failed to locate a loop through a farmyard and with fifteen minutes added for each of the missed board, their total penalties for the event were thirty-two minutes.

The runners up were Monty Pearson/Robbie Pearson, on what was the navigator’s first ever rally. They had missed one board and gained a wrong depart from another control, thus ending up on thirty-three minutes penalty.

Stuart Bankier/Richard Gilbert also missed two boards but collected third overall and the historic category win in their Riley Elf. James Tyson/Neil Harrison dropped just three minutes on time but missed three boards to put themselves in fourth place.

Andy Whittaker/Charlie Tynan had been expected to go well but were in trouble almost from the start as they picked up a wrong depart on the second of the event’s ten sections. They over came this, two missed boards plus overheating worries on their 205 to finish fifth. The 2002 winners, Peter Gibson/Richard Holdsworth, were sixth.

Twelve crews made it back to the Finish at Wooler, amongst those that didn’t were Andrew Stephenson/Ken Bills, who ran short of fuel in the Impreza, and Keith Brown/Paul Taylor who broke the exhaust on their Nova.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Malcolm Holdworth Chris Pringle Toyota Corolla 32m 00s
2 Monty Pearson Robbie Pearson VW Golf 33m 00s
3 Stuart Bankier Richard Gilbert Riley Elf 40m 00s
4 James Tyson Neil Harrison Mini 1275GT 48m 00s
5 Andy Whittaker Charlie Tynan Peugeot 205 GTi 50m 00s
6 Peter Gibson Richard Holdsworth Peugeot 205 68m 00s
7 Ian Guthrie Neil Morrison Mini 87m 00s
8 Michael Deans Tony Hume Colt Mirage 90m 00s
9 Barry Clough Mark Clough Ford Escort 101m 00s
10 Neil Walker Roy Hewitt Ford Escort 152m 00s
11 Christopher Dodds Drew Gibon Peugeot 205 162m 00s
12 John Straughan Jonathan Roley Vauxhall Nova 163m 00s