rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Bulldog Clubman Rally 2000

Sponsored by Bulldog Security Products

Wolverhampton & South Staffs Car Club

21st October 2000

Clerk of the Course: John Trevethick

Stages: 4 (43 Stage Miles)

Venue: Dyfi & Aberhirnant

Starters: 30

Winners: Shaun Gardener/Dave Brick (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo3)

A fast time on the first stage of the Bulldog Clubmans Rally allowed Shaun Gardener/Dave Brick to take their Mitsubishi Lancer Evo3 to victory on the National B event, which ran alongside the Bulldog National Rally.

Bulldog Clubman Rally 2000

The rally, the final round of the Sweet Lamb Welsh Clubmans Championship, used the last four stages of the National event and provided 43 competitive miles.

Gardener was quick out of the blocks and stormed through Dyfi nineteen seconds faster than the Escort Cosworth of Simon Rodgers/Andrew Sankey. Rodgers matched Gardener's pace for the rest of the day and took the fastest time on the last stage, but despite this he was still twenty-four seconds behind at the Finish.

Two minutes further back in third place were Alistair Adams/Andrew Adams, they'd had a clear run, although an oil leak from the diff left a smoke haze trailing their Escort RS2000 for much of the day.

Fourth place was taken in impressive form by Kris Meeke/Andrew Bargery, the driver making his rallying debut in preparation for an assault on the 2001 ANCRO series. After a cautious start, Meeke set third fastest time on both the second and third stages, but dropped to fourth fastest on the last stage after a brief spin cost him 15 seconds. The pair won Class 2 by over four minutes.

Other than a slight off on the last stage, Martin Lowe/Lee Willmetts had a trouble free outing to bring their Escort into fifth place, but for the second event in succession Jeff Wincott/Nigel Bayley lost out on a top three position and for exactly the same reason - the turbo on their Sierra Cosworth came loose on the very last stage - they dropped 20 seconds and came in sixth.

Simon Woodley/Carl Williamson (Ford Escort Cosworth) suffered a puncture on SS1 and then had a fuse box come loose on SS2. They survived to end up in 14th place at the Finish. Peter Beards/Guy Weaver (Ford Escort) also picked up a rear wheel puncture on the first stage.

Dennis Pritchard/Dave Evison (Ford Escort) ended up in 15th place after having to cope without a working intercom for the first two stages.

James Young/David Young, winners of the event in 1998, only got as far as the first corner of the first stage before breaking a driveshaft on their Astra, they stopped and changed it which resulted in them taking a maximum and coming home in 25th and last place.

Neil Andrew was sixth quickest through Dyfi Main but then put his Sierra off the road and out of the event in Dyfi Gartheniog. John Collins/John Smart (Ford Escort) and Paul Jackson/Sean Dale (Ford Escort) met a similar fate on the last stage, Penllyn.

A loose plug lead caused a severe misfire for the Opel Manta of Adrian Allen/Mike Wilding on the final stage. Meanwhile Hugh Jones/Kelvin Savage (Ford Sierra) were hampered by having made the wrong tyre choice.


Pos Driver Co-Driver Car Penalty
1 Shaun Gardener Dave Brick Mitsubishi Lancer Evo3 42m 44s
2 Simon Rodgers Andrew Sankey Ford Escort Cosworth 43m 08s
3 Alistair Adams Andrew Adams Ford Escort RS2000 45m 12s
4 Kris Meeke Andrew Bargery Peugeot 106 GTi 45m 23s
5 Martin Lowe Lee Willmetts Ford Escort 45m 25s
6 Jeffrey Wincott Nigel Bayley Ford Sapphire Cosworth 45m 41s
7 Andy Kenny Gary Kenny Mitsubishi Lancer 46m 16s
8 Peter Beards Guy Weaver Vauxhall Astra 46m 19s
9 Martin Kenny Steve Quine Ford Escort 47m 04s
10 Darryl Andrews Neil Selley Ford Escort 47m 44s
11 Dave Price Richard Wheeler Mitsubishi Lancer 48m 00s
12 Hugh Jones Kelvin Savage Ford Sierra 48m 18s
13 Adrian Allen Mike Wilding Opel Manta 49m 06s
14 Simon Woodley Carl Williamson Ford Escort Cosworth 49m 14s
15 Dennis Pritchard Dave Evison Ford Escort 49m 30s
16 Michael Jones Andy Wynn Peugeot 106 S16 49m 45s
17 Iwan Evans A Davies Toyota Corolla GTi 51m 26s
18 Philip Hammonds Adrian Hammonds Rover 220 GTi 51m 30s
19 Nathan Crewe Chris Clifford Ford Escort 51m 33s
20 Scott Bennett James Bennett Vauxhall Astra 51m 50s
21 John Moffatt Justin Brooks Talbot Samba 52m 11s
22 Ronald Taylor Russell Joseph Ford Escort 53m 02s
23 Colin Hughes Bob Ashley Skoda Favorit 54m 21s
24 James Alexander Helen Alexander Peugeot 106 Rallye 56m 38s
25 James Young David Young Vauxhall Astra 58m 21s