rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Bullnose Rally 2002

Oxford Motor Club

7th/8th September 2002

Clerk of the Course: David Smith

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 173 & 174

Starters: 37

Winners: Mike Biss/Cath Woodman (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Mike Biss/Cath Woodman took their fifth win of the season on Oxford MC's Bullnose Rally. The event used a 120 mile route which started and finished at the Membury Service Area. The route formed a figure of eight with the M4 service area at the crux. Many fast B-roads were used, but crews also had to tackle around eight miles of whites on the Lambourne Downs. Fog was a problem on some sections.

Thirty-seven crews took the start, including twelve in the Clubmans section. All were to finish the event. There had been three non-starters from the original full entry.

Bullnose Rally 2002
Second Semi: Bob Wisniewski/Paul Lettington (Vauxhall Nova)
Photograph: M&H Photography

Biss/Woodman once again showed their skill on southern navigational events by cleaning all of the standard sections. The eleven seconds they dropped on the one regularity section was the only penalty they incurred all night. The Semi-Expert crew of Jo Simmons/Rob Watson took the runner up spot, dropping three minutes on the standard sections but just twenty-five seconds on the regularity.

Phil Collings/Mark Collings also picked up three minutes penalty on the standard sections, but were almost two minutes out at the regularity control and so were placed third. Rob Dance/Graham Dance took fourth to make it a Peugeot 205 GTi 1-2-3-4, in fact the French marque filled the first six places. Andy Coshan/Zip Zerahan were seventh in a Talbot Sunbeam.

The winners of the Novice Class were Christopher Stratton/Marti Moore, who finished in thirteenth place overall in their Rover Metro GTi.

The Clubmen were given simplier navigation and this allowed the leading crew, David Edmunds/Dominic Jeans, to finish in what would have been eighth overall position in their Toyota Corolla. They were almost thirty minutes ahead of second in class Rob Aslett/Ceri Owen; a last minute pairing, Aslett/Owen were competing in yet another Peugeot 205 GTi.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Mike Biss Cath Woodman Peugeot 205 GTi 0m 11s
2 Jo Simmons Rob Watson Peugeot 205 GTi 3m 25s
3 Phil Collings Mark Collings Peugeot 205 GTi 4m 44s
4 Rob Dance Graham Dance Peugeot 205 GTi 5m 19s
5 Chris Moore Tom Jenkins Peugeot 106 Rallye 6m 22s
6 Phil Kendall David Coles Peugeot 309 GTi 8m 34s
7 Andy Coshan Zip Zerihan Talbot Sunbeam 15m 58s
8 Simon Harris Dave Cooper Vauxhall Corsa 16m 15s
9 Peter Horsburgh Graham Carter Mini Cooper S 17m 35s
10 Mike Cawthra Brian Cammack Subaru Impreza 18m 30s
11 Ian Orford Peter Barnard Mazda 323 Turbo 22m 29s
12 Christopher Stratton Marti Moore Rover Metro GTi 24m 00s
13 Allan Sayers Bob Stokoe Ford Fiesta XR2 22m 54s
14 Peter Noad Peter Cox Audi 90 Quattro 23m 12s
15 Clive Anstey Verity Anstey Vauxhall Nova 23m 33s
16 Bob Wisniewski Paul Lettington Vauxhall Nova 35m 27s
17 Tim Daltry Paul Fillis Ford Escort RS2000 42m 18s
18 Dave Barbara Stephen Champion Alfa Romeo 33 58m 51s
19 Chin Chris Rose Opel Manta 75m 43s
20 Dominic Taylor Phil Haines Mazda 323 Turbo 77m 37s
21 Chris Powney Chris Head Peugeot 309 GTi 97m 17s
22 Graham Child Kevin Ablitt Ford Escort Mexico 1F 30m 07s
23 Geoff Skillen Ian Collings Ford Mondeo 1F 37m 46s
24 Iain McKee Jon Francis Opel Manta GTE 1F 75m 14s
25 Emily Newman Andrew Tarling Citroen AX GT 7F 243m 20s
Clubman Rally
1 David Edmunds Dominic Jeans Toyota Corolla 16m 21s
2 Rob Aslett Pete Davies Peugeot 205 GTi 41m 05s
3 Warren Till Nigel Hogg Peugeot 205 GTi 44m 58s
4 Tim Green Rob Smith Subaru Impreza WRX 65m 53s
5 Duncan Cox Tim Hawson Peugeot 205 Rallye 132m 34s
6 Paul Morley Paul Hardy Vauxhall Astra 1F 10m 48s
7 Roger Fletcher Amy Burton Vauxhall Nova SR 1F 107m 31s
8 Tonya Heap Zenya Heap Vauxhall Astra GTE 1F 139m 19s
9 Joseph Byrne Athur Byrne VW Scirocco 2F 96m 00s
10 P Helliwell G Earle-Payne Saab 96 2F 140m 03s
11 Colin Hiscock Chris Hiscock Skoda Favorit 6F 117m 00s
12 Mick Rose William Smith Peugeot 205 7F 281m 43s