rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Carpetbagger Rally 2004

Sponsored by Newlands Holiday Park

Bournemouth & District Car Club

24th/25th January 2004

Clerk of the Course: Roger Hunt

Route: 190 Miles

Map: 193

Starters: 60

Winners: Michael Pedley/David Pedley (Ford Escort DB4)

Michael Pedley/David Pedley took their first rally win in nine years when they emerged as victors of Bournemouth MC’s Carpetbagger Rally.

Carpetbagger Rally 2004
Winners: Michael Pedley/David Pedley (Ford Escort DB4)
Photograph: M&H Photography

The 190 mile event, open to modern and historic crews, proved a tough test for competitors as the maze of tight lanes in East Devon demanded utmost concentration from both crew members. Virtually every one of the sixty starters reported at least one incident during the night.

Owen Turner/Graham Raeburn had built up a lead of almost two minutes by the time the rally had reached the three-quarter mark, however they then put their Metro off the road and lost thirteen minutes. They eventually finished fifth.

Pedley/Pedley survived a three minute wrong slot on an early section and an encounter with a wall to come home three minutes clear to claim the lead and the win after Turner/Raeburn’s incident. Toby Adam/Mark Appleton took second, a couple of timing errors costing them any chance of a win.

Doug Kingsley/Ben Greenfield had led the battle of the southern crews and held third place after three time cards. However a couple of time consuming wrong slots in the later stages dropped them behind championship rivals Steve Cole/Bob Blows by the Finish. Cole/Blows finished third, while Kingsley/Greenfield were fourth.

Worth Birkill/Dave Harris made the worst possible start to the rally when they picked up a five minute penalty for missing the very first passage control, but they fought back to finish in seventh place and were the first historic crew home.

On the 2003 Carpetbagger Barry Luxton/Nic Jones took the Novice class win, in 2004 they won the Semi-Expert category, finishing in twentieth position. Gavin Braddock/Chris Goddard, who were campaigning a Vauxhall Belmont, were the first Novice crew home.

Gary Jones/Andy Oakes withdrew after loosing a large amount of time when a wheel worked loose on their Escort on one of the first sections. Martin Leonard/Phil Jones were also on the retirement list after spending time in a ditch and picking up a puncture. Simon Bentley/Iain Tullie had an unhappy night, going OTL after picking up a double puncture on an early section.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Michael Pedley David Pedley Ford Escort DB4 14m 49s
2 Toby Adam Mark Appleton Ford Sierra 17m 41s
3 Steve Cole Bob Blows Peugeot 205 GTi 22m 07s
4 Doug Kingsley Ben Greenfield Vauxhall Nova GTE 22m 13s
5 Owen Turner Graham Raeburn Rover Metro 24m 08s
6 Ian Orford Bob Jones Mazda 323 29m 48s
7 Worth Birkill Dave Harris Morris Mini 31m 46s
8 Darren Dixon Peter Barnard Peugeot 205 GTi 35m 05s
9 Gavin Rogers Paul Robinson Ford Escort 35m 20s
10 Paul Heal Matt Heal MGB GT 39m 46s
11 Pete Horsburgh Bob Hargreaves Mini Cooper S 41m 47s
12 Bill Wyatt Andy Ballantyne Triumph TR4 44m 13s
13 Dave Hughes Peter Blackett Volvo Amazon 46m 07s
14 Ian Mepham Ian Collings Peugeot 205 GTi 46m 28s
15 Ken Pape John Stringer Ford Escort 49m 00s
16 Wes Massam Shon Gosling Volvo Amazon 49m 04s
17 Olly Smith David Coles Peugeot 309 GTi 52m 53s
18 Dave Gilbert Richard Dix Mini Cooper S 57m 28s
19 Paul Simmonds Michael Gray Ford Cortina GT 57m 28s
20 Barry Luxton Nic Jones VW Golf GTi 61m 44s
21 Simon Bush John Upham VW Golf GTi 61m 58s
22 Roy Gillingham Paul Hollingham Rover 416 GTi 65m 07s
23 Jonah Nuttgens Lizzie Pope Peugeot 205 GTi 65m 30s
24 Chris Jenkins Tony Brooks Austin Mini 71m 19s
25 Geoff Twigg Graham Carter Mini Cooper S 73m 26s
26 Jim Cassidy Chris Perry Peugeot 205 GTi 74m 24s
27 John Griffiths John Broughall Volvo 144 DL 78m 44s
28 Paul Swindells Zip Zerihan Triumph TR7 81m 25s
29 Toby Jeffries Nick Clarke Vauxhall Nova SR 83m 43s
30 Peter Pratt Ryan Pickering Triumph TR2 84m 57s
31 Gavin Braddock Chris Goddard Vauxhall Belmont 92m 44s
32 Jack Curran Dave Bardwell VW Golf GTi 95m 54s
33 Andrew Isherwood Dave Cooper Mini 97m 44s
34 Phil Collings Mark Collings Peugeot 205 GTi 111m 50s
35 Timo Rumary Daryl Powell Audi 80 Quattro 111m 53s
36 Richard White Richard Scott Austin Healey 100/6 206m 35s
37 Phil Bennett Rebecca Baldock Ford Sierra 227m 00s
38 Issac Zarmati Sarah zarmati VW Beetle 281m 00s
39 John Wright Perry Roe Peugeot 205 GTi 284m 07s
40 Peter Joy Matt Fowle Lotus Elite 352m 19s
41 Ken Watts Josh Cotton Volvo Amazon 383m 56s
42 Rob Aslett Gus Hyne Peugeot 205 GTi 493m 00s