rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Classic Lanes Rally 1998

Sponsored by Owen's Motor Factors

Welsh Border Car Club

25th/26th July 1998

Clerk of the Course: Kev Nunns

Route: 130 Miles

Maps: 125 126 & 136

Starters: 64

Winners: Phil Turner/Owen Dodd (Talbot Sunbeam)

Phil Turner/Owen Dodd once again underlined their dominance of road rallying in the Oswestry area when they took victory on the Classic Lanes Rally. The Welsh Border CC event was a counter for the West Midlands Championship and used a familiar Oswestry to Dinas Maddwy and back route, which proved popular with the competitors.

Classic Lanes Rally 1998

Turner/Dodd dominated the event. By the petrol halt they were almost a minute clear of the field. They had penalties of 2m 31s, while Dave Jones/Baz Green (Toyota Corolla), in second place, were on 3m 24s. In third were Geraint Davies/Sarah Gluyas (Toyota Corolla) but, with a total of 4m 52s, they were 90 seconds further back. In contrast Adrian Hodgson/Sean Caddick (Ford Escort) were right behind Davies/Gluyas, they were on 4m 58s in fourth.

Davies/Gluyas weren't destined to make it to the Finish. They put their Corolla off the road and out of the event on the B-road running along the southern edge of Lake Vyrnwy.

Two other leading crews suffered offs in the early stages of the event. Cyril Crook/Chris Ware (Talbot Sunbeam) had been expected to challenge for the win, but an off only a few miles into the rally caused them to drop two minutes. Andy Sheppard/Mike Hart (Toyota Corolla) also visited the scenery but with more serious consequences as they were unable to continue.

Turner/Dodd were still going strong when the engine of their Sunbeam went very sick as they reached the latter stages. Despite this the dropped just 3 seconds after Petrol, while no one else survived with less than 2 minutes added to their total. Thus they finished 3m 07s ahead of Jones/Green. The result made it three victories from four starts on Welsh Border CC rallies in two years for Turner/Dodd.

Cyril Crook/Chris Ware, recovering from their earlier excitement, and Adrian Hodgson/Sean Caddick ended on the same total, 7m 28s, with third place being awarded to the Sunbeam crew thanks to them having cleaned the section to STC2, while Hodgson/Caddick dropped 7 seconds.

Alan Walker/Nick Darkin (Ford Escort) with the closest on outright speed to the winners, but a missed PC in the first half dropped them down the order in 18th place.

The Semi-Expert award went to Steve Bishop/Tim Kear (Ford Escort), who were sixth overall; they were chased hard by Glyn Price/Huw Jones (Ford Escort) who came in only 40 seconds behind at the end. The leading Novice crew were Martin Bradley/Gordon Bradley (Ford Escort), the latter contesting his first rally since 1974.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Phil Turner Owen Dodd Talbot Sunbeam 2m 34s
2 Dave Jones Baz Green Toyota Corolla 5m 41s
3 Cyril Crook Chris Ware Talbot Sunbeam 7m 28s
4 Adrian Hodgson Sean Caddick Ford Escort 7m 28s
5 Wayne Morris Paul Middleton Ford Escort 8m 23s
6 Steve Bishop Tim Kear Ford Escort 10m 05s
7 Glyn Price Huw Jones Ford Escort 10m 45s
8 Peter Zjalic Richard Preece Toyota Corolla 10m 46s
9 Paul Hughes Steve Lloyd Vauxhall Astra 11m 21s
10 John Kendrick Roger Evans Toyota Corolla 15m 59s
11 Richard 'Tyson' Morris Keith Davies Talbot Samba 16m 45s
12 Chris Wilson Roger Fildes Vauxhall Astra GTE 17m 03s
13 Paul Jones Chris Rowlands Vauxhall Nova 17m 09s
14 Jamie Burton Dave Dewson Ford Escort 19m 16s
15 Graham Evans Shaun O'Gorman Ford Escort 19m 52s
16 Sean Rowlands Mark Hill Peugeot 205 GTi 23m 00s
17 Polly M Southall Peugeot 205 24m 25s
18 Alan Walker Nick Darkin Ford Escort 1F 2m 53s
19 Nick Bloxham Martyn Allen Peugeot 205 1F 11m 55s
20 Nick Onions Chris Lightburn Talbot Sunbeam 1F 16m 49s
21 John Jones Dave Stocking Renault 11 Turbo 1F 16m 56s
22 Brian Spurr Jim Clarke Ford Escort 1F 22m 10s
23 Richard Jones Heath Griffiths Ford Escort 1F 22m 22s
24 K Pashley John Thornton Peugeot 205 1F 23m 57s
25 Peter Crighton Amanda Ceely Peugeot 205 1F 24m 37s
26 Martin Bradley Gordon Bradley Ford Escort 1F 25m 32s
27 Neil Arden Giles Corbett Ford Escort RS2000 1F 27m 11s
28 Chris Bolver Denny Harris Ford Anglia 1F 27m 45s
29 O Lomax D Alcock Ford Escort 2F 22m 24s
30 G Davies A Davies Vauxhall Chevette 2F 27m 48s
31 R Williams I Jones Ford Escort 3F 44m 13s
32 Derek Tracey Chris Hughes Mini 1000 4F 30m 28s
33 W Austin P Edwards Renault 8F 56m 07s
34 A Clayworth P Grantham Ford Escort 8F 75m 37s