rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Classic Lanes Rally 2000

Welsh Border Car Club

14th/15th October 2000

Clerk of the Course: Chris Rowlands

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 116 117 & 125

Starters: 72

Winners: Gareth Jones/Carl Williamson (Ford Escort XR3i)

Gareth Jones/Carl Williamson rekindled their West Midlands Road Rally Championship hopes by taking victory in the Escort XR3 on the Classic Lanes Rally.

The Welsh Border CC organised event moved further north than its usual stamping ground, with the 120 mile route being based at Wrexham.

Jones/Williamson dropped a minute on the first section, which was cleaned by a number of other crews, but avoided problems to take the quickest time on the tie breaker section, and came home thirty seconds clear of their nearest challenger.

Classic Lanes Rally 2000
Seventh Placed: John Jones/Alan Thompson (Renault 11 Turbo)
Photograph: M&H Photography

Grant Parker/Andy Oakes took second place, giving the driver his best career result to date, while Dave Jones, partnered by veteran navigator Pete Forrester, was third. Gary Jones/Dave Pitchford held on for fourth place and retained their lead in the West Midlands title race.

Kev Parry/Paul Holmberg were looking for their fourth win of the year, but retired when the fuel pump failed on their Corolla. Kev Ikin/Rob Jones were also on the non-finisher list after the severe misfire, which put them out of the Gogledd, reappeared.

Haydn Davies/Michael Evans had held the lead at the Petrol but had a clutch fail early in the second half. Dave Jones/Iain Vale and Kevin Hesketh/Andy Moss both retired after making significant contact with the scenery. Andy Sheppard/Patrick Walsh completed the route but could only manage 24th overall as they incurred two fails along the way.

Tony Gush/Brynmor Pierce took fifth overall and the Semi-Expert class award on what ws only the driver's fourth rally and the navigator's third. In the Novice class, top navigator Byron Jones swapped seats so that fifteen year old Matthew Maidment could have a go in the left hand seat; the experiment was a success as they finished seventeenth overall and took the class win.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Gareth 'Gog' Jones Carl Williamson Ford Escort XR3i 3m 56s
2 Grant Parker Andy Oakes Toyota Corolla 4m 27s
3 Dave Jones Pete Forrester Peugeot 309 GTi 4m 49s
4 Gary Jones Dave Pitchford Toyota Corolla 5m 08s
5 Tony Gush Brynmor Pierce Peugeot 309 GTi 6m 41s
6 Tudor Morris Gerallt Davies Ford Escort 7m 45s
7 John Jones Alan Thompson Renault 11 Turbo 7m 52s
8 Adrian Higman Cyril Jones MG Maestro 8m 04s
9 Simon Cottrell Marcus Watmough Talbot Sunbeam 10m 19s
10 Ian Furniss Russell Roberts Peugeot 205 GTi 10m 33s
11 Mike Bradley Dean George Peugeot 309 GTi 10m 40s
12 Iain Scott Jez Harris Toyota Corolla 10m 53s
13 Mal Acott Roger Davies Toyota Corolla 11m 29s
14 Stephen Edwards Richard Vaughan Ford Sierra 11m 58s
15 Pete Cotton Duncan Pinnegar Ford Escort 12m 27s
16 Elfed Williams Ian Evans Toyota Corolla 15m 09s
17 Byron Jones Matthew Maidment Peugeot 309 GTi 26m 11s
18 Delwyn Price Steve Price Ford Escort 1F 9m 43s
19 Nick Banks Reg Gradden Citroen ZX 1F 21m 04s
20 Graham Davies Roger Powley Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 23m 43s
21 Dewi James Sion James Honda Civic CRX 1F 23m 46s
22 Mal Jones Ian Fellows Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 30m 20s
23 Keith Gush Jenny Gush Alfa Romeo 33 1F 32m 11s
24 Andy Sheppard Patrick Walsh Toyota Corolla 2F 4m 49s
25 Richard Roe Chris Ware Talbot Sunbeam 2F 6m 48s
26 Wayne Morris Paul Middleton Ford Escort 2F 8m 03s
27 Simon Harrison Paul Mount Ford Escort RS 2F 10m 28s
28 Trystan Bevan Dylan Jones Peugeot 205 2F 11m 18s
29 Peter Gill David Kelly Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 14m 09s
30 Jim Patterson Harry Stanley Subaru RX Turbo 2F 15m 40s
31 Stephen Wynn Chris Wynn Peugeot 309 GTi 2F 18m 16s
32 Greg McGuire Matthew Richards Subaru Legacy 2F 19m 07s
33 Stew Dale Scot Layton Vauxhall Astra 3F 14m 20s
34 Martin Lloyd Stuart Frost Ford Escort Mexico 3F 16m 06s
35 Gareth Jenkins Sharon Clarke Ford Escort 5F 16m 22s
36 Bob Gush Jeff Edwards Vauxhall Astra 5F 26m 46s
37 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Vauxhall Nova 7F 53m 08s
38 Richard Suff Rebecca Wareham Peugeot 205 GTi 8F 21m 14s
39 Keith Jones Colin Jones Hillman Avenger 8F 36m 56s
40 Terry Micklethwaite Matthew Pierce VW Jetta GTi 8F 38m 10s
41 Pete Morgan Timothy Gill Ford Fiesta XR2 12F 28m 39s
42 Mike Cooper Chris Wilson Ford Escort 13F 29m 05s
43 Joe Woodward Chris Wallett Peugeot 205 31F 23m 55s
44 Alan Bennett Craig Williams Ford Fiesta XR2 36F 9m 00s