rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Classic Tracks Rally 2004

Llandysul Motor Club

30th May 2004

Clerk of the Course: Glan Harbud

Route: 50 Miles

Maps: 145 & 146

Starters: 38

Winners: Mike Roberts/Dai Roberts (Ford Escort)

Mike Roberts/Dai Roberts (Ford Escort) followed up their win on the previous December's Morswyn Williams Memorial Rally, by taking a clear win on the first running of the Classic Tracks Rally. The Llandysul MC organised event was a daylight road rally. It utilised farm tracks on fifteen different properties, these tests were linked by public road sections to provide a 50 mile route.

The rally was split into just two regualrity sections, with a mid-point break back at the event's start venue at Penrhiwpal. This halt was the only opportunity during the three hour event that crews had to attend to any mechanical ailments that the tracks may have inflicted on their vehicles.

Classic Tracks Rally 2004

There was an time control at the start and finish of each farm track section. There was a low 20 mph average for public road sections, while all the tracks were timed at 30 mph. The need to adher to the time schedule throughout caught out a large number of crews, they picked up unnecessary penalties by booking in early or late at ITCs at the end of road sections.

The first half contained six tracks, the longest being just under a mile and a half in length. These were all in the lanes between Penrhiwpal and Newcastle Emlyn. The second half, which used nine tracks, the first of which was two and half miles long. This half took competitors south past the club's home town to the Finish at Rhos.

Spring sunshine shone brighly for the first third of the rally, but a short, but heavy, downpour made the going more difficult in the latter part of the day.

Martyn O'Connor/Dyfan Davies (Vauxhall Astra GTE) were quickest over the first track, five seconds ahead of John Davies/Rob Duke (Vauxhall Astra) and Roberts/Roberts, who were tied in second. Despite this good start, Davies/Duke had a troubled event; a puncture meant that they arrived at the halfway halt in sixth position. After the restart they suffered another puncture and then the Astra's fan broke and they had to withdraw with a overheating engine.

Tony Davies/Mark Lloyd were the first retirement when they rolled their Golf GTi on the first test. Rhydian Jenkins/Ifor Jones got as far as the start of the second track before their rally ended when a halfshaft broke on their Peugeot 205 GTi. The Sierra of Carwyn Evans/Mark Andrew retired in the first half with engine and exhaust problems.

Kevin Morgan/Iestyn Leyshon (Subaru Legacy) had been only sixth fastest through the first track, but arrived at Halfway in the lead.

The positions at the halfway halt were:
Kevin Morgan/Iestyn Leyshon (Subaru Legacy) 3m 50s
Peter Collins/Joanne Collins (Vauxhall Astra GTE) 5m 11s
Alan Hands/Ryan Thomas (Vauxhall Chevette) 5m 33s
Mike Roberts/Dai Roberts (Ford Escort) 5m 34s
Martyn O'Connor/Dyfan Davies (Vauxhall Astra GTE) 5m 59s

Morgan/Leyshon held the lead until the three-quarter mark, then they put their Legacy off the track at Ffos Esgob. They continued, but missed a Passage Control on the final two mile track. They were classified in 20th position.

Peter Collins/Joanne Collins dropped from second at halfway to sixth at the end after losing time when the engine of their Astra cut out.

In contrast Roberts/Roberts were fastest through the second half of the rally to take a comfortable win. They finished 1m 24s ahead of O'Connor/Davies, who, in turn, were 1m 30s in front of the third placed Subaru Impreza of Ian Carter/Dylan Evans.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Mike Roberts Dai Roberts Ford Escort 11m 54s
2 Martyn O'Connor Dyfan Davies Vauxhall Astra GTE 13m 18s
3 Ian Carter Dylan Evans Subaru Impreza 14m 48s
4 Alan Hands Ryan Thomas Vauxhall Chevette 19m 47s
5 Mike Cartwright David Pedley Vauxhall Astra 20m 16s
6 Peter Collins Joanne Collins Vauxhall Astra GTE 23m 35s
7 Wyn Owens Gareth Thomas Ford Sierra 25m 41s
8 Tom Berber Geoff Foster Peugeot 309 GTi 25m 59s
9 Robert Price Mark Coleman Vauxhall Astra GTE 27m 22s
10 Hywel Greves Geraint Jones VW Polo 32m 40s
11 Gary Jones Andy Oakes Toyota Corolla 42m 27s
12 Mark Jameson Gareth 'Jaffa' Roberts Ford Escort 33m 16s
13 Max Jones Anthony Powell Ford Sierra XR4i 34m 32s
14 Barry John Seyyan John Ford Escort 35m 02s
15 Geraint Hughes Aled Roberts Ford Escort 35m 36s
16 Emyr Evans Alan Evans Opel Manta 37m 58s
17 Geoff Williams Stuart Oulton Vauxhall Nova 56m 57s
18 Wedros Jones Gareth Thomas Ford Sierra 57m 58s
19 Huw Scourfield Angharad Scourfield Mini 64m 49s
20 Kevin 'Steaky' Morgan Iestyn Leyshon Subaru Legacy 1F 12m 30s
21 Iestyn Davies Rhodri Davies Peugeot 205 1F 42m 44s
22 Dorrian Evans Clayton Gibbons Volvo 360 GLT 2F 36m 50s
23 Phil Evans Carwyn Harris Ford Escort 2F 62m 45s
24 Gethin Jones Arwel Thomas Ford Escort 3F 36m 13s
25 Geraint Davies Dylan Davies VW Golf 3F 40m 59s