rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Cossack Rally 2002

Sponsored by Visual Packaging

Eastwood & District Motor Club

2nd/3rd November 2002

Clerk of the Course: Roger Hage

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 121 & 130

Starters: 57

Winners: Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie (Vauxhall Nova)

Cossack Rally 2002

Eastwood & District MC maintained the high standards expected of the Cossack Rally with a well received 2002 event. It had a demanding route and the plot ‘n bash navigation worked well.

As in previous years the rally was supported by Visual Packaging of Nottingham. The Cossack was a round of both the North East Midlands and Northern Road Rally Championships, as well as counting towards the East Midlands Historic Series.

The 150 mile route started and finished at Grantham. The rally opened with a regularity section which included two loops of Barkston Heath Airfield. This was followed by further regularity sections around the whites at Ermine Street, Temple Bruer and Thompson’s Bottom. Crews then moved to the Sleaford area for the second half with a decisive section in the Swaton area on either side of the A52.

Fifty-seven crews took the start, notable among the non-starters were Tim Tordoff/Ian Frazer who broke the gearbox on their Nova on the way to the event.

At the petrol halt Steve Webster/Steve Porter led, the four wheel drive of their Impreza proving a useful tool on the whites that had been made muddy by the previous days of rain. They had a twenty second lead over the Nova of Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie at that point, however they then lost two minutes with a wrong slot on the Swaton section. Hawkins/Tullie overshot the same junction but recovered and only dropped three minutes on the section to Webster/Porter who dropped five. This sealed the result with Hawkins/Tullie taking their third win of the year. The victory also secured the ANCC navigators’ title for Tullie, the second time he’d won the award.

Cossack Rally 2002
Winners: Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie (Vauxhall Nova)
Photograph: M&H Photography

Andy Baker/Lee Burgess had been in third place at the halfway halt, forty seconds off the lead. Their rally however became unstuck on the Swaton section when, in an effort to make up the deficit they guessed the route, cleaned the section but missed out a loop with two code boards. They realised their mistake and collected the boards but altered the timecard in doing so. As all other crews dropped at least three minutes at the time control their deed was quickly spotted and, having confessed all, they were duly excluded.

Mark Whitford/John Pickavance were third in their Toyota Corolla, while Guy Robinson/Charlie Wheeldon had a subdued run to fourth. However, with Baker/Burgess’ demise, the result allowed Wheeldon them to make a decisive break at the top of the North East Midlands Championship Table. In the drivers’ series John Haden extended his lead, partnered by Paul Holmberg he finished fifth on the Cossack.

It was a good night for Loughborough MC. Club members Andy Lewin/Gary Orton started at Number 23 but after an impressive run finished in sixth place, while Richard Lumb/Andrew Lumb won the Novice Class award in their Skoda Estelle.

Cossack Rally 2002
Winners: Steve Webster/Steve Porter (Subaru Impreza)
Photograph: M&H Photography

A number of crews lost out on good finishes when they all missed the same code board in the first half. Crews affected included Jamie Turner/Dave Smoley, Graham Nunn/Paul Nelson, Sandie Taylor/Paul Taylor and John Dimbleby/David Dimbleby.

In the ANCC Drivers’ Championship Gavin Smith, who finished seventh, opened up a lead at the top of the table. Of his main rivals, Sandie Taylor finished 30th, while Terry Martin didn’t start the event as his car is still being repaired after his accident on the 061, however he marshalled and picked up points for that function.

The Historic rally was won by the MGB GT of Colin Evans/Pat Gadsby, who were the only Historic crew fail free at the end of the event. Jean Appleton/Stan Appleton struggled on the whites in their Austin A40, missing out a number of tracks to conserve the car and the driver’s back.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Carl Hawkins Iain Tullie Vauxhall Nova GTE 14m 58s
2 Steve Webster Steve Porter Subaru Impreza 16m 51s
3 Mark Whitford John Pcikavance Toyota Corolla 17m 18s
4 Guy Robinson Charlie Wheeldon Vauxhall Nova GTE 19m 18s
5 John Haden Paul Holmberg Subaru Impreza 19m 38s
6 Andy Lewin Gary Orton Peugeot 205 GTi 20m 36s
7 Gavin Smith Mike Ogram Peugeot 205 GTi 20m 45s
8 Martin Betts Mick Fern Ford Escort 20m 48s
9 Keith Astley Jez Pole Vauxhall Astra GTE 22m 27s
10 Owen Turner Andrew Dadswell Hillman Imp 22m 53s