rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Cossack Rally 2003

Sponsored by Visual Packaging

Eastwood & District Motor Club

1st/2nd November 2003

Clerk of the Course: Roger Hage

Route: 160 Miles

Maps: 121 & 130

Starters: 57

Winners: Guy Robinson/Charlie Wheeldon (Proton Persona)

Two weeks after winning the 061 Rally, Guy Robinson/Charlie Wheeldon took their second win of the year on Eastwood & District MC’s highly popular Visual Packaging Cossack Rally. It was a close contest as Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie were just eight seconds behind after battling through 160 miles of Lincolnshire lanes and tracks.

Cossack Rally 2003

Each half of the rally started with a loop around the Barkstone Heath airfield. After the second visit Hawkins/Tullie felt that they had done enough to secure the win, but, despite a wrong slot that cost them almost a minute, the power and traction of Robinson/Wheeldon’s Proton Persona propelled them to victory. However the result gave Hawkins and Tullie the East Midlands Championship.

Andy Baker/Lee Burgess dropped vital time when a lorry obscured a slot, they thus finished third, a minute down on the leaders. Event sponsor Steve Webster, navigated by John Pickavance, finished in fourth.

John Dimbleby/David Dimbleby, started at No.17 and suffered some baulking on their run to fifth, while Martin Betts/Mick Fern dropped two minutes searching for a misplaced code board and were sixth.

Mark Whitford/Steve Porter had a short rally, retiring on the first section with gearbox problems on their Escort. Bernard Watkins/Adam Roper also failed to make it to the halfway point after they put their Cavalier into a ditch.

The leading Novice crew were David Wilkinson/Mark Garraway, who finished in twenty-seventh place overall. James Carter/Jonathan Stockdale were the first Historic crew home, just behind them were Colin Evans/Nigel Raeburn, who took their first finish of the year.

Dave Lewis/Charlie Tynan ((Ford Escort Mexico) picked up a fail for a wrong depart from the very first control. They finished in 46th place, out of 49 finishers.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Guy Robinson Charlie Wheeldon Proton Persona 5m 04s
2 Carl Hawkins Iain Tullie Vauxhall Nova GTE 5m 12s
3 Andy Baker Lee Burgess Peugeot 205 GTi 6m 11s
4 Steve Webster John Pickavance Subaru Impreza 6m 36s
5 John Dimbleby David Dimbleby Ford Fiesta XR2 7m 55s
6 Martin Betts Mick Fern Ford Escort 9m 00s
7 Paul Davis Mark Wagstaff Peugeot 309 GTi 9m 05s
8 Malcolm Holdsworth Richard Holdsworth Toyota Corolla GT 9m 15s
9 Dan Robinson Ian Gibbins Peugeot 205 GTi 9m 29s
10 Stan Featherstone Mike Ogram Ford Sierra 9m 54s
11 Pete Gabbatiss Andrew Hughes Toyota Corolla GT 12m 07s
12 Nik Kershaw Paul Nelson Peugeot 205 GTi 12m 20s
13 Mark Slatcher Justin Chapman Vauxhall Astra GTE 12m 43s
14 Jeremy Rodgers Mark Fearon MG Maestro EFi 13m 23s
15 Andy Stinchcombe Malcolm Young Ford Sierra Sapphire 13m 31s
16 Bill Douglas Stephen Hancock Volvo 240 GLT 14m 08s
17 David Williams Richard Booth Renault Clio 16m 22s
18 Simon Randall Paul Davenport BMW M3 16m 40s
19 Terry Martin Simon Bentley Peugeot 205 GTi 17m 09s
20 Dave Chapman David Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 17m 13s
21 John Ross Oliver Ross Subaru Impreza 17m 27s
22 Dill Marshall Dave Oliver Peugeot 205 GTi 19m 59s
23 Jon Lawson Chris Pringle Honda Civic 20m 25s
24 Simon Tate Richard Wilson Opel Manta 22m 04s
25 Bob Wisniewski Paul Lettington Vauxhall Nova 24m 03s
26 Adrian Ancliffe John Chadwick Ford Escort RS2000 25m 15s
27 David Wilkinson Mark Garraway Lada Riva 26m 51s
28 Alastair Crosby John Thornton Peugeot 205 GTi 26m 09s
29 Richard Lumb Andrew Lumb Vauxhall Nova 30m 13s
30 Graham Nunn Gary Orton Peugeot 205 GTi 32m 02s
31 James Carter Jonathan Stockdale Ford Escort 35m 35s
32 Colin Evans Nigel Raeburn MGB GT 36m 04s
33 Bill Chadwick Alan Edwards Peugeot 205 GTi 36m 16s
34 Brian Moore Paul Dimbleby Ford Escort 36m 57s
35 Dave Collyer Chris Thorley Vauxhall Nova GSi 37m 18s
36 Simon Banham James Savage Peugeot 205 GTi 37m 18s
37 Rob Walter Dave Jones Peugeot 309 GTi 38m 00s
38 Tim Daltry Paul Fillis Ford Escort RS2000 38m 26s
39 Craig Whitehead Lee Hudson Ford Fiesta XR2 40m 32s
40 Annette Pashley Steve Pashley Vauxhall Nova 42m 51s
41 Frank Evans Dan Spittlehouse Toyota Corolla GT 49m 52s
42 Simon Byard Glyn Byard Peugeot 205 GTi 55m 13s
43 Simon Taylor Ian Faulkner Peugeot 205 GTi 83m 13s
44 John Stephens Paul Stephens Citroen Visa 94m 33s
45 Nick Toplis Paul Holmberg Vauxhall Nova GTE 1F 22m 14s
46 David Lewis Charlie Tynan Ford Escort Mexico 1F 23m 07s
47 David Howell Stephen Taylor Opel Manta 2F 54m 04s
48 Nichola Hillier David Broadley Lada Riva 3F 219m 11s
49 Antony Baren Matty Fox Peugeot 205 GTi 10F 281m 21s