rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Countdown Navigational Rally 2004

Sponsored by Wayne Lee Motorsport

Spadeadam Motor Club

17th/18th July 2004

Clerk of the Course: Jerry Hettrick

Route: 95 Miles

Maps: 85 & 86

Starters: 20

Winners: Terry Martin/Paul Taylor (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Terry Martin/Paul Taylor overcame a number of problems to win Spadeadam MC’s Countdown Navigational Rally. This was the first running of the event in four years.

Countdown Navigational Rally 2004

Having picked up a five minute penalty for a missed code board early on in the 95 mile event, they then cracked the windscreen on their Peugeot 205 after a heavy landing. After that they had a fire in the car when a short in the navigator's poti set light to his paperwork. However, overcoming these dramas, they stormed through the latter stages well clear of the field.

Malcolm Holdsworth/Richard Holdsworth (Toyota Corolla) felt that they’d had a poor night and were surprised to find themselves in the runner up spot at the Finish, just ahead of Pete Tyson/Neil Harrison (Mini Cooper S). Top seeds Malcolm Grisedale/Bob Hargreaves had led by three minutes after the first of three time cards, but a problematic second half saw them finish fourth.

The Rocket Historic Rally ran alongside the Countdown and was won by the Porsche 911 of John Hartley/Stephen Coombes, they would have been classified in fifth place on the main event.

Mark Binney/Tom Wilcox (Peugeot 205 GTi), were second fastest over the last card and finished in fifth place; they took the Non-Expert class award.

Andy Whittaker/Charlie Tynan (Peugeot 205 GTi) could only finish seventh, having missed two code boards, but still led the Tyneside motorsport Group Championship


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Terry Martin Paul Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 10m 00s
2 Malcolm Holdsworth Richard Holdsworth Toyota Corolla 20m 00s
3 Pete Tyson Neil Harrison Mini Cooper S 22m 00s
4 Malcolm Grisdale Bob Hargreaves Subaru RX Coupe 24m 00s
5 Mark Binney Tom Wilcox Peugeot 205 GTi 30m 00s
6 Andy Whittaker Charlie Tynan Toyota Corolla 32m 00s
7 Alex Willan Paul Allen Vauxhall Astra GTE 35m 00s
8 Paul Schatz Jonathan Brass Peugeot 205 GTi 36m 00s
9 Dan Willan Heather Grisdale Vauxhall Astra 40m 00s
10 Jonathan Lodge Caroline Lodge Suzuki Swift 2F 59m 00s
Rocket Historic Rally
1 John Hartley Stephen Coombes Porsche 911 27m 00s
2 Robert McClean Susan McClean Rover P4-100 33m 00s