rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rally of the Dams 2002

Sheffield & Hallamshire Motor Club

30th August/1st September 2002

Clerk of the Course: Richard King

Route: 130 Miles

Maps: 110

Starters: 20

Winners: Thirteen crews tied on zero penalties

Sheffield and Hallamshire MC’s Rally of the Dams finished with thirteen of the twenty starters completing the event clear of any penalties. A dry night, quick roads and a large number of fast crews resulted in the thirteen way tie for the win.

The event, which returned after a two year absence, was designed to attract newcomers to the sport, it used only tarmac roads and route definition was pre-plot with map references only. The 130 mile route took in classic roads in the Peak District between Sheffield and Glossop, including Heldon Moor and Strines Moor.

Of the eleven Expert class starters only one failed to clean the event, the unlucky crew were Dave Chapman/Dave Taylor who dropped a minute on one section. Most competitors had a trouble free run, however an exception to this rule were the top seeds, Graham Hepworth/Iain Tullie. They went off the road, picking up a puncture in the process. They recovered from this but their Nova then started to loose oil and they had to divert to a 24 hour petrol station to get some more lubricant. They were still one of the crews to clean the rally.

Two Novice crews were among those that finished penalty free, these were Joe Woodward/Chris Wallett and Mark Quinn/Mike Roberts, the latter from a start number of 20.

The event was a round of the Millennium Challenge and this section was won by novice driver Paul Wilson, who was partnered by Charlie Wheeldon in a Vauxhall Cavalier.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Graham Holdsworth Iain Tullie Vauxhall Nova 0m 00s
1 Adrian Green Steve Coupland Ford Fiesta 0m 00s
1 Guy McDonald Graham Raeburn VW Golf GTi 0m 00s
1 Steve Webster Roger Hage Subaru Impreza 0m 00s
1 Peter Reeson Richard Hage Peugeot 205 GTi 0m 00s
1 Sandie Taylor Paul Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 0m 00s
1 Bruce Dunsmore Mike Fern Vauxhall Nova 0m 00s
1 Martin Langley John Thornton Ford Escort 0m 00s
1 Kevin Lomax James Haigh Nissan 200 RX 0m 00s
1 Chris King Paul Davenport Vauxhall Astra TD Van 0m 00s
1 Joe Woodward Chris Wallett Peugeot 205 0m 00s
1 Mark Quinn Mike Roberts Subaru Impreza 0m 00s
EMAMC Millennium Road Rally Championship
1 Paul Wilson Charlie Wheeldon Vauxhall Cavalier 0m 00s