rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Danum Rally 2002

Lindholme Motor Sports Club

18th/19th May 2002

Clerk of the Course: Ian Beech

Route: 140 Miles

Maps: 112 & 113

Starters: 29

Winners: John Haden/Iain Tullie (Subaru Impreza)

Lindholme Motor Sports Club ran a highly successful Danum Rally, a round of the both the ANCC and ANEMMC Championships. The organisers had laid on a 140 mile route in North Lincolnshire, using to a large extent roads that hadn't been rallied for a number of years.

Danum Rally 2002

The Danum used a 140 mile route on Maps 112 and 113, many of the roads not having being rallied for some years. This was very much a navigational event with only three miles of the route being on loose surface. Starting at Scunthorpe an initial loop took crews to the East for two 'warm up' sections before more testing roads in the Laughton Forest area saw everyone droppoing time. The navigation meant that even the fast roads south of Blyton and north of petrol at Caenby Corner were not easily cleanable. After Petrol the route moved into the fast flowing roads of the Wolds to the south and east of Caistor before a final 25 mile loop to the north of Brigg.

The organisers had warned crews that a firm line would be taken with regards to code boards, with a five minute penalty being imposed if one or two letters were recorded incorrectly and a fail if any more were wrong. This initiative was to have a crucuial influence on the final results.

John Haden/Iain Tullie were on the pace all night but, despite not being the outright fastest crew, they came home as winners as they avoided any errors. This was the crews' second rally together and their second win, having previous taken first on the Bruce Robinson earlier in the year.

The father and son combination of John Dimbleby/David Dimbleby dropped just one second in the first half but an incorrect codeboard meant that they had five minutes added to this total. With just a further minute dropped in the second half, despite their earlier mistake, they took the runner up spot and the Expert Class win.

Danum Rally 2002
Winners: John Haden/Iain Tullie (Subaru Impreza)
Photograph: Nick Huntridge

Bob Marshall/Roger Hage were also potential winners. They had been in third at the petrol halt and a second half clean of any time penalties should have seen them take the win as they passed Haden/Tullie, unfortunately for them they missed a code board on one of the new farm tracks and the resulting fail dropped them to ninth at the Finish. Sandie and Paul Taylor were another crew to have five minutes added to their score for a code board infringement but still finished third.

Abe Shenker/Steve Brown have recently swapped their Mini for a Peugeot 205 and they revelled in the performance of their new car. A mood that was reflected in their result, they finished sixth overall and first Semi-Experts. A Clubmans Rally ran alongside the main event, there were only three starters, the winners being Trevor Faulkner/Chris Faulkner in a Ford Orion.

There were twenty-nine starters with all but four making it back to the Finish. The most notable retirement was that of the Subaru Legacy of Ryemoor Trophy winners Jon Lawson/Chris Pringle, they withdrew with brake problems. Peter Reeson/Richard Hage had been going well, and looked set for a top ten finish, when they had the diff casing break on their Peugeot 205; they had to cut the last few sections, ultimately being classified in penultimate position.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 John Haden Iain Tullie Subaru Impreza 2m 32s
2 John Dimbleby David Dimbleby Ford Fiesta XR2 6m 01s
3 Sandie Taylor Paul Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 10m 03s
4 Steve Webster Steve Porter Subaru Impreza 12m 44s
5 Abe Shenker Steve Brown Peugeot 205 GTi 19m 50s
6 Gavin Smith Mike Ogram Peugeot 205 GTi 27m 28s
7 Jamie Gratton-Smith Roger Hage Peugeot 205 GTi 21m 00s
8 Andy Stichcombe Malcolm Young Ford Sierra Sapphire 39m 57s
9 Bob Marshall Roger Hage Vauxhall Corsa 1F 02m 06s
10 Terry Martin Simon Bentley Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 19m 00s
11 Andy Beaumont Mike Petch Proton Satria 1F 21m 08s
12 Andy Whittaker Charlie Tynan Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 27m 24s
13 Brian Moore Anton Lagzdins Ford Escort 1F 50m 00s
14 David Williams Richard Booth Renault Clio 1F 55m 38s
15 Nigel Bowers Richard Todd VW Golf 2F 29m 44s
16 Bernie Watkins Adam Roper Vauxhall Cavalier 2F 51m 43s
17 Paul Schatz Jerry Hettrick Citroen ZX 4F 14m 00s
18 David Howell Stephen Taylor Opel Manta 4F 57m 51s
19 Paul Dimbleby Ian Faulkner Ford Fiesta 9F 44m 18s
20 Jon Ross Oliver Ross Subaru Impreza 13F 110m 22s
21 Peter Reeson Richard Hage Peugeot 205 GTi 23F 21m 40s
22 Russ Jones John Chadwick BMC Mini 29F 39m 08s

Danum Clubmans Rally

Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Trevor Faulkner Chris Faulkner Ford Orion 39m 18s
2 Keith Astley Sue Bartley Vauxhall Astra GTE 1F 46m 18s
3 John Cottram Bill Parkin Subaru Impreza 10F 42m 10s