rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Danum Rally 2003

Lindholme Motor Sports Club

4th/5th October 2003

Clerk of the Course: Ian Beech

Route: 140 Miles

Maps: 112 & 113

Starters: 29

Winners: John Haden/Iain Tullie (Subaru Impreza)

John Haden/Iain Tullie (Subaru Impreza) took the win for a second successive year on Lindholme MSC’s Danum Rally.

Danum Rally 2003

The event, which had been postponed from May, and took over the date freed by the cancellation of the Seven Dales Road Rally. It used a 140 mile route of plot ‘n bash rallying in the lanes of North Lincolnshire and Humberside.

Most crews were clean of penalties until the first regularity in the Sandtoft area, which used part of the old airfield. Graham Reeson/Roger Hage (Peugeot 205 GTi) were fastest here. Five seconds behind them were John Dimbleby/David Dimbleby (Ford Fiesta XR2), however they were penalised for recording three code boards incorrectly and fell to ninth place at the Finish.

Reeson/Hage held a thirty second lead at the petrol halt, just over halfway through the rally, however a number of major wrong slots cost them 16 minutes on the sections and they struggled home in eighth place.

This left the battle for the lead between Haden/Tullie and Nik Kershaw/Paul Nelson, with the former emerging as winners by forty seconds. These two crews were well clear of the third place Toyota Corolla of Malcolm Holdsworth/Richard Holdsworth, who took the Expert class win.

Andy Beaumont/Mike Petch had been in contention as well until they picked up three punctures during the section through Hemswell Airfield. Making good use of tyre mousse, they made it to the Finish in sixth place. Dave Chapman/David Taylor suffered two punctures at the same point.

The Semi-Expert class was won by the Ford Orion of Trevor Faulkner/Chris Faulkner, while the leading novices were Mick Smith/Jonathan Stockdale.

The win secured the ANCC navigator’s championship for Tullie, however the driver’s title race was still wide open with ten drivers still in with a chance of taking the series win. Malcolm Holdworth's third place finish on the Danum moved him back to the head of the table. Jon Lawson, who led before the event, was carless, so non-started and turned out to marshal instead.

Twenty-eight crews started the Danum, with twenty-seven making it to the finish, the one retirement was the Opel Manta of David Howell/Stephen Taylor which broke a brake caliper.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 John Haden Iain Tullie Subaru Impreza 4m 18s
2 Nik Kershaw Paul Nelson Peugeot 205 GTi 4m 54s
3 Malcolm Holdsworth Richard Holdsworth Toyota Corolla 7m 22s
4 David Tubman John Tubman Peugeot 205 GTi 9m 51s
5 Dan Robinson Ian Gibbins Peugeot 205 GTi 10m 48s
6 Andy Beaumont Mike Petch Proton Satria 15m 01s
7 Stan Featherstone Mike Ogram Ford Sierra 18m 03s
8 Graham Reeson Roger Hage Peugeot 205 GTi 18m 42s
9 John Dimbleby David Dimbleby Ford Fiesta XR2 20m 38s
10 David Williams Richard Booth Renault Clio 20m 45s
11 Trevor Faulkner Chris Faulkner Ford Orion 21m 53s
12 Bill Chadwick Alan Edwards Peugeot 205 GTi 23m 24s
13 Mick Smith Jonathan Stockdale Ford Escort 39m 19s
14 Dave Chapman David Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 42m 40s
15 Simon Tate Richard Wilson Opel Manta 52m 42s
16 David Wilkinson Dan Spittlehouse Rover Metro 54m 34s
17 Nick Toplis Mick Fern Vauxhall Nova GTE 62m 37s
18 Martin Langley John Thornton Ford Escort 65m 42s
19 Jon Ross Oliver Ross Subaru Impreza 72m 00s
20 Terry Martin Simon Bentley Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 16m 49s
21 Sandie Taylor Paul Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 10m 32s
22 Andy Whittaker Charlie Tynan Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 33m 18s
23 Craig Whitehead Lee Hudson Ford Fiesta XR2 1F 45m 16s
24 Brian Moore George Cowling Ford Escort 1F 70m 28s
25 Dave Broadley Michael McKenna Lada Riva 1F 84m 49s
26 Adrian Ancliffe John Chadwick Ford Escort 2F 65m 18s
27 Nichola Hillier Mark Garraway MG Metro 3F 52m 55s