rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

VK Derbyshire Rally 2002

Sponsored by VK Vodka Kick

Matlock Motor Club

13th/14th April 2002

Clerk of the Course: Charlie Wheeldon

Route: 135 Miles

Maps: 119

Starters: 35

Winners: Andy Baker/Lee Burgess (Peugeot 205 GTi)

VK Derbyshire Rally 2002

The VK Derbyshire Rally saw a close night long battle for the lead between the Peugeot 205 of Andy Baker/Lee Burgess and the Vauxhall Nova of Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie. The matter was only decided on the last section where the AB Motorsport Peugeot was a minute faster to give Baker/Burgess a first time win.

The Matlock MC event, a counter towards the Northern, East Midlands and North-Eastern Championships, used a 135 mile route, with fifty cars taking the start. The rally opened with pre-plot regularity sections before harder navigation was introduced for the second half, in particular an off-set cross roads near Elton saw a number of crews being penalised for Wrong Departs.

Baker/Burgess had a narrow lead by the halfway halt, but soon after the restart Hawkins/Tullie went to the front. They arrived at a timed to the minute control with just two seconds to spare. The Peugeot crew arrived at the same control two seconds into the following minute. A storming drive by Burgess over the last section saw him retake the lead as he regained the lost minute and took the win by just fifty seconds.

Mark Turner/Richard Pashley took third a minute further back to make it two AB Motorsport cars in the top three. Richard Hill/Daniel Stone finished fourth but could have challenged for the lead, having set a number of quickest times, but they lost ground as a plug lead constantly worked loose on their Sierra.

VK Derbyshire Rally 2002
Winners: Andy Baker/Lee Burgess (Peugeot 205 GTi)
Photograph: M&H Photography

There were a number of notable retirements; former winners Tim Tordoff/Ian Frazer broke an altenator on their Nova, Jamie Turner/Graham Raeburn were lying inside the top three when the diff exploded on their Metro and Owen Turner/Andrew Dadswell’s Imp had a timing belt problem.

Iain Scott/Jez Harris had a very short rally, their Corolla suffering total electrical failure on the very first section. Simon Cottrell/Keith Wain were a first time pairing out testing in preparation for the Oak Trophy, where Cottrell’s regular navigator Marcus Whatmough will be officating. Unfortunately they were forced to withdraw at the halfway halt with Wain feeling unwell.

The Novice Class was won by the Fiesta of Ade Green/Paul Hudson who were fifteenth overall, this was three places and ninety seconds in front of class rivals Chris Day/Ric Chalmers. The Millennium Challenge ran alongside the main event but with simpler navigation and a shorter route, this section was won by the Maestro of Michael Watkins/Graham Cherry.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Andy Baker Lee Burgess Peugeot 205 GTi 13m 02s
2 Cark Hawkins Iain Tullie Vauxhall Nova 13m 52s
3 Mark Turner Richard Pashley Peugeot 205 GTi 14m 57s
4 Richard Hill Dan Stone Ford Sierra 17m 43s
5 Steve Webster Bob Duck Subaru Impreza 20m 25s
6 Martin Self Steve Porter Subaru Legacy 27m 28s
7 Jamie Gratton-Smith Roger Hage Peugeot 205 GTi 27m 51s
8 Jonathan Bossen Richard Holdsworth Subaru Impreza 28m 23s
9 Simon Randall Paul Davenport Ford Escort 29m 35s
10 Bob Marshall Roger Hage Vauxhall Corsa 30m 22s
11 Sandie Taylor Paul Taylor Peugeot 205 GTi 32m 16s
12 John Haden Steve Coupland Subaru Impreza 33m 23s
13 Nigel Bowers Richard Todd VW Golf GTi 34m 24s
14 Stuart Oates Stuart Jervis Vauxhall Nova 36m 58s
15 Adrian Green Paul Hudson Ford Fiesta 38m 16s
16 Paul Wright PRAR Ford Escort 38m 55s
17 Terry Martin Simon Bentley Peugeot 205 GTi 39m 38s
18 Chris Day Ric Chalmers Mini Cooper 39m 38s
19 Dave Turner Geoff Atkinson Subaru Legacy 39m 55s
20 Jeremy Rodgers Mark Fearon MG Maestro 43m 38s
21 Bill Douglas Steve Hancock Volvo 240 GLT 46m 27s
22 Graham Nunn Paul Nelson Peugeot 205 GTi 49m 43s
23 John Bray Marcus Watmough Subaru Legacy 56m 26s
24 Joe Woodward Chris Wallett Peugeot 205 GTi 57m 40s
25 Shane Swindells Stew Dale Peugeot 205 GTi 66m 22s
26 Jason Birks Chris White Vauxhall Astra 91m 23s
27 Abe Shenker Steve Brown Peugeot 205 GTi 97m 02s
28 Oliver Lumb Richard Lumb Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 63m 46s
29 Peter Gibson TBA Ford Escort 1F 65m 59s
30 Mark Gregory Julian Evans Vauxhall Nova 3F 58m 22s
31 Richard Atherton Chris Bowden MG Maestro 5F 71m 41s
32 Peter Reeson Graham Reeson Peugeot 205 GTi 5F 90m 52s
33 Lee Hollinshead Mark Feibel Peugeot 205 GTi 14F 184m 58s
34 Adrian Hopwood Andrew Deaville Peugeot 205 GTi 16F 128m 39s

EMAMC Millennium Road Rally Championship

Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Michael Watkins Graham Cherry MG Maestro 1F 107m 53s
2 John Ross Oliver Ross Subaru Impreza 7F 98m 18s