rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

VK Derbyshire Rally 2003

Sponsored by VK Vodka Kick

Matlock Motor Club

12th/13th April 2003

Clerk of the Course: Charlie Wheeldon

Route: 135 Miles

Maps: 119

Starters: 60

Winners: Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie (Vauxhall Nova)

Gearbox problems for their Nova failed to stop Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie winning Matlock MC’s VK Derbyshire Rally.

The event, a round of five major road rally championships, used a 135 mile route and attracted a capacity 60 car entry to Derbyshire.

VK Derbyshire Rally 2003
Winners: Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie (Vauxhall Nova)

Hawkins/Tullie lost second gear about a quarter distance into the rally and then fourth failed just after the petrol halt, however they still came home two minutes clear of the field to take their second win of the year.

Martin Betts/Richard Hage held second place at Petrol but fell back to fifth at the Finish, while John Haden/Steve Coupland, who had been third at the halfway point, retired in the second half when they holed the petrol tank on their Impreza. Bob Marshal/Roger Hage had been fourth but were also on the retirement list when the engine failed on their Corsa.

These events allowed Steve Webster/Lee Burgess to come through to take the runner up spot closing on the leaders as Hawkins/Tullie eased up on the last section.

Mark Whitford/Steve Porter debuted their newly built Escort, which had required an engine change on the night before the rally, and brought it into third place.

Jon Lawson/Chris Pringle had been expected to go well but retired after loosing the sump guard on the first white of the night. Bill Chadwick/Alan Edwards were a late entry, but rolled their Toyota Celica into retirement. Terry Martin/Simon Bentley lost so much time when a hose split on their 205 that they went OTL.

Stew Dale/James Savage won the Novice Class and finished in twelfth place overall, while the Millennium Challenge, which used a slightly shorter route than the main event, was won by James Vincent/Kevin Phipps.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Cark Hawkins Iain Tullie Vauxhall Nova 6m 26s
2 Steve Webster Lee Burgess Subaru Impreza 8m 15s
3 Mark Whitford Steve Porter Ford Escort RS 8m 22s
4 Owen Turner Graham Raeburn Hillman Imp 11m 29s
5 Martin Betts Richard Hage Ford Escort RS 12m 39s
6 Simon Gibson Alan Ogden Ford Escort RS 13m 57s
7 Mark Slatcher Craig Burgess Vauxhall Astra GTE 14m 00s
8 Nick Toplis Mick Fern Vauxhall Nova GTE 14m 04s
9 Pete Gabbitass Andrew Hughes Toyota Corolla GT 16m 25s
10 Dan Robinson Ian Gibbins Peugeot 205 GTi 19m 59s
11 Paul Wright Malcolm Barber Vauxhall Nova 20m 23s
12 Stew Dale James Savage Ford Sierra 4x4 21m 20s
13 Malcolm Grisedale Bob Hargreaves Subaru Coupe 23m 20s
14 Adrian Green Paul Hudson Ford Fiesta XR2 23m 52s
15 Iain Scott Jez Harris Peugeot 309 GTi 24m 01s
16 John Dimbleby David Dimbleby Ford Fiesta XR2 27m 06s
17 Graham Nunn Paul Nelson Peugeot 205 GTi 28m 00s
18 Tony Sims Gavin Ford Ford Sierra 4x4 34m 04s
19 Abe Shenker Steve Brown Peugeot 205 GTi 34m 43s
20 Frank Evans Owen Dodd Toyota Corolla 40m 07s
21 Dave Turner Steve Pashley Subaru Impreza 40m 42s
22 Martyn Armstrong Richard James Ford Sierra 42m 40s
23 John Stephens Paul Stephens Citroen AX 42m 54s
24 Bernie Watkins Adam Roper Vauxhall Astra GTE 45m 49s
25 Adrian Ancliffe John Chadwick Ford Escort RS 47m 03s
26 Nichola Hillier Dave Broadley MG Metro 48m 06s
27 James Carter Jonathan Stockdale Ford Escort 56m 39s
28 Dave Holland Mark Skellern Peugeot 205 GTi 59m 08s
29 David Williams Richard Booth Renault Clio 16v 67m 05s
30 Geoff Henman Sam Collis Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 31m 47s
31 Shane Swindells Simon Cottrell Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 54m 12s
32 Andrew Walker Dave Blackburn Vauxhall Astra 3F 75m 01s
33 Nigel Wright Dave McHaffie Vauxhall Nova GTE 5F 61m 43s
34 Peter Gibson Richard Holdsworth Peugeot 205 Rallye 7F 64m 43s
35 Paul Henman Richard Henman Ford Escort 9F 86m 11s
36 Simon Taylor Ian Faulkner Ford Escort RS2000 9F 118m 36s
37 Alan Roberts Paul Jones Ford Escort RS2000 11F 134m 12s
38 Simon Byard Glyn Byard Peugeot 205 GTi 12F 87m 27s
39 Simon Tate Richard Wilson Opel Manta 12F 88m 08s
40 Colin Cresswell Steve Prince Fiat Cinquecento 13F 83m 07s
Millennium Challenge
1 James Vincent Kevin Phipps Peugeot 205 XS 2F 42m 27s
2 Christopher Rider James Godley Citroen Saxo VTR 2F 78m 44s
3 Colin Stephens Kevan Gresham Mini 4F 135m 39s