rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Durham Dales Rally 2004

Durham Auto Club

13th March 2004

Clerk of the Course: Gordon Dundee

Route: 95 Miles

Maps: 92 & 93

Starters: 16

Winners: Peter Gibson/Richard Holdsworth (Peugeot 205 Rallye)

For the second year running Peter Gibson/Richard Holdsworth won Durham AC’s Durham Dales Rally on a tie break and for the second year running the crew that lost out were David Tubman/John Tubman. Both crews dropped a minute on each of the first two sections of the 95 mile event, the result therefore had to be determined by engine capacity.

Gibson/Holdsworth had a troubled first section; they wrong slotted and had to reverse a long way to regain the correct route, they then drowned out in Langton Ford.

Andy Whittaker/Charlie Tynan got caught out by the navigation on the opening section, where navigation was by avoid map references, and dropped five minutes, however they then cleaned the rest of the route and finished in third.

James Tyson/Neil Harrison had been level with the winners after two sections but dropped four minutes later in the evening and finished in fourth. Malcolm Holdsworth/Ian Winter survived a drowning in a ford and a fire at the rear of their Corolla to take fifth.

The Newcomer and Historic categories used easier navigation and therefore weren’t eligible for overall positions.

Dave Bell/Chris Roper repeated their Shaw Trophy success by winning the Newcomers Rally. There had been a three way battle for victory, but both Pete Masters/Sarah Navin (VW Golf) and Jonathan Lodge/Caroline Lodge (Suzuki Swift) missed a code board each, adding 15 minutes to their totals.

The Historic Rally was won by Neil Walker/Roy Hewitt (Ford Escort), who led from Start to Finish. There was a close battle for second place throughout the night between Eric Ritchie/Allan Blake (MGB GT) and Nigel Cardale/Robert Leech (Triumph TR6), with the former crew pulling out an advantage over the last section.

In total there were 16 starters and all the crews made the Finish.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Peter Gibson Richard Holdsworth Peugeot 205 Rallye 2m 00s
2 David Tubman John Tubman Peugeot 205 2m 00s
3 Andy Whittaker Charlie Tynan Peugeot 205 GTi 5m 00s
4 James Tyson Neil Harrison Mini 1275GT 6m 00s
5 Malcolm Holdworth Ian Winter Toyota Corolla 15m 00s
6 Paddy Jones Tony Longstaff Ford Cortina 20m 00s
7 Christopher Dodds Andrew Gibon Peugeot 205 31m 00s
8 Chris Langan Bob Coulston BMW 325i SE 34m 00s
Newcomer Class
1 Dave Bell Chris Roper Honda Civic 21m 00s
2 Pete Masters Sarah Navin VW Golf 34m 00s
3 Jonathan Lodge Caroline Lodge Suzuki Swift 35m 00s
Historic Rally
1 Neil Walker Roy Hewitt Ford Escort 4m 00s
2 Eric Ritchie Allan Blake MGB GT 15m 00s
3 Nigel Cardale Robert Leech Triumph TR6 18m 00s
4 Stuart Bankier David Alexander Volvo 122S 136m 00s
5 Gordon Furness Lisa Furness Wolsley Hornet 249m 00s