rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Dafydd Richards Memorial Rali Dyffryn Aeron

Sponsored by J Griffiths & Son

Lampeter & District Motor Club

9th/10th October 1999

Clerk of the Course: Dafydd 'Budgie' Williams & Carwyn Jones

Route: 100 Miles

Maps: 146

Starters: 60

Winners: Gareth 'Gog' Jones/Owen Dodd (Ford Escort XR3i)

Rali Dyffryn Aeron 1999
Winners: Gareth 'Gog' Jones/Owen Dodd (Ford Escort XR3i)
Photograph: M&H Photography

Gareth Jones/Owen Dodd (Ford Escort XR3i) took a narrow victory on Lampeter MC's Rali Dyffryn Aeron. This was the driver's first outright win.

The closed to club event attracted a capacity 60 car entry and proved a stern challenge as the autumn weather had left the West Wales lanes in a treachorous state. There were numerous reports of brushes with the scenery. Fog in the second half just added to the problems.

At the Finish Jones/Dodd were only eleven seconds ahead of Aled Evans/Eryl Evans, who made the most of their 4x4 Sierra's grip in the slippery conditions.

The 1998 winners, Wyn Thomas/Jon Hands (Ford Escort), were third; running first car on the road they dropped a minute looking for a tricky slot however the marks they left made it easier for following crews to find the correct route. Valley Services winners, Arwyn Thomas/Andy Bowen (Ford Escort) were fourth, with the Nova of Keith Daniels/Iestyn Leyshon in fifth.

Rali Dyffryn Aeron 1999

Gary Jones/Andy Oakes (Toyota Corolla) took sixth and the Standard Production Award; they could have been higher but lost a minute after a mix up a regularity time control. Clive Wakeley/Carl Williamson (Ford Escort) dropped to seventh place after picking up a puncture on a crucial section.

Eighth and ninth places were decided on a tie break. Matthew Warner/John Gilbey (Vauxhall Astra) and Richard Briddon/Wyn Lewis (Toyota Starlet) both ended on the same penalty, but Warner/Gilbey had been one second quicker on the first section. Briddon/Lewis did however have the consolation of picking up the top Semi-Expert award. Gwynfor Jones/Aled Richards (Peugeot 205), reversing their usual navigator/driver roles, won the Novice class

There were very few retirements among the top crews although Clive Williams/Patrick Walsh and Hefin George/Dilwyn John failed to take the start. Nigel and Karen Davies were expected to do well but retired in the first half after a halfshaft broke on their Escort.

Gethin Lewis/Aled Jones had an unhappy event - a rear shock broke on their Escort early in the rally and they then picked up large penalties after a time was incorrectly entered on their time card. Martyn O'Connor/Peter Collins were going well but a mistake at a three metre control meant they picked up a fail.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Gareth 'Gog' Jones Owen Dodd Ford Escort XR3i 1m 31s
2 Aled 'Cacen' Evans Eyrl Evans Ford Sierra XR4x4 1m 42s
3 Wyn Thomas Jon Hands Ford Escort 3m 04s
4 Arwyn Thomas Andy Bowen Ford Escort 3m 11s
5 Keith Daniels Iestyn Leyshon Vauxhall Nova 4m 36s
6 Gary Jones Andy Oakes Toyota Corolla 4m 39s
7 Clive Wakeley Carl Williamson Ford Escort 4m 56s
8 Matthew Warner John Gilbey Vauxhall Astra 5m 04s
9 Richard Briddon Edryd Evans Toyota Starlet 5m 04s
10 Chris Painter Steve Quine Vauxhall Nova 5m 52s