rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Dafydd Richards Memorial Rali Dyffryn Aeron 2002

Sponsored by Mountwalk Garage

Lampeter & District Motor Club

12th/13th October 2002

Clerk of the Course: Dafydd 'Budgie' Williams & Carwyn Jones

Route: 140 Miles

Maps: 146

Starters: 75

Winners: Nigel Davies/Karen Davies (Ford Escort)

The Dafydd Richards Memorial Rali Dyffryn Aeron commonly known as the 'Lampeter Sixty Car' broke with tradition for 2002 and raised the maximum entry to 75 starters.

Rali Dyffryn Aeron 2002
Winners: Nigel Davies/Karen Davies (Ford Escort)
Photograph: M&H Photography

The popularity of the rally was demonstrated by the fact that the entry was full within four days, and this was despite the rally clashing with the Classic Lanes in North Wales.

Crews faced a 140 mile demanding route generally between Aberaeron and Lampeter, although a visit was made to the 90s road across the river from Lampeter. The rally was sponsored by Gareth Jones of Mountwalk Garage, who started at Car 2.

Three crews set a pace well clear of the rest of the field, these were Nigel Davies/Karen Davies, Gareth 'Gog' Jones/Patrick Walsh and Ceri Richards/Aled Jones. After a few near misses in the last few years Davies/Davies eventually managed to win the rally, sealling the victory by being almost thirty seconds quicker than Jones/Walsh at ITC9. They were fortunate however in that they lost over a minute just prior to Petrol when their Escort stalled and wouldn't restart, this would have demoted them to second but for a faulty clock that caused the penalties for the crucial control to be cancelled.

Rali Dyffryn Aeron 2002

Richards/Jones were the only other crew on the winners' pace but they lost a certain third place when a rotor arm broke on their Escort early in the second half.

There was a close battle for third place albeit four minutes behind the leaders. This was won by Wayne Morris/Paul Middleton who ignored the more local to them Classic Lanes for the truly classic lanes of Map 146 and secured third place as a reward.

Daniel Jones/Daniel Maclachlan were the fastest crew in the second half and they moved up two places in the process taking fourth at the Finish. Jon Stobbs/Gary Robbins continued their good season by taking fifth, only ten seconds off third place. They also won the Under 1400cc Award.

There was a high attrition rate, less than half the field finished. Top seeds, Aled Evans/Eryl Evans, were one of the first retirements, the engine of their Sierra going sick at ITC6. Martyn O'Connor/Peter Collins put their Astra into a ditch just prior to ITC10; they managed to get the car out but, athough the car was driveable, it wasn't up to continued competitive motoring.

Great interest surrounded the return of Eynon Price to road rallying after a lay off of thirteen years, but, partnered by Elgan Davies, he had a short event disappearing on the second section.

The top seed in Class Two after a few years layoff was Gary Davies, with Aled Richards on the maps, he was fancied to take a top result. However their rally came to a sudden end when they crashed their Gareth Lloyd hired Escort in the first half. The accident was a heavy one with the car rolling twice before coming to rest.

Other retirements included:
Alun Davies/Richard Davies - Brakes
Ian Williams/Aled Jones - Head Gasket
Darrell George/Chris Chester - Blown Engine
Geraint Jones/Phil Ralphs - Blown Diff
Wyn 'Spot' Hughes/Paul Jenkins - Crash
Bryan Thomas/Huw Mathias - Crash
Owen Edwards/Dorian Davies - Crash
Rhydian Rees/Joanna Bond - Crash
Karen Morgan/Martin Griffiths - Crash
Alan Hands/Jon Hands - Suspension, only two miles from the finish

Class Two was won by Mark Daniel/Hywel Ifans, who finished ninth, having been just outside the top ten at Petrol. They were just one place in front of second in class Darren Thomas/John Gilbey.

Dorian Davies/Donna Thomas had a minute and a half lead in Class Three at Petrol and seemed to be cruising to a class win and a top fifteen finish when the engine on their Ford Sierra 4x4 went sick in the second half. This left the win to go to Aled Evans/Martin Richards in a Vauxhall Nova.

The Standard Production Award went to Hefin George/Dilwyn John who were competing in the VW Golf they'd used on the Cilwendeg as their Nissan Sunny was still receiving attention to its head gasket. They finished eighth overall.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Nigel Davies Karen Davies Ford Escort 1m 19s
2 Gareth 'Gog' Jones Patrick Walsh Ford Escort XR3i 1m 32s
3 Wayne Morris Paul Middleton Ford Escort 5m 17s
4 Daniel 'Lwni' Jones Daniel Maclachlan Ford Escort 5m 21s
5 Jon Stobbs Gary Robbins Toyota Corolla 5m 27s
6 Kevin Jones Emyr Jones Ford Escort XR3i 6m 23s
7 Adrian Davies Dorian Davies Ford Escort 6m 31s
8 Hefin George Dilwyn John VW Golf GTi 6m 47s
9 Mark Daniel Hywel Ifans Peugeot 205 GTi 8m 49s
10 Darren Thomas John Gilbey Vauxhall Astra GTE 9m 17s
11 Carwyn Evans Mark Andrews Vauxhall Astra GTE 9m 48s
12 Andrew Thomas Hefin Thomas Peugeot 205 GTi 9m 53s
13 Aled Garner Dylan Garner Toyota Corolla 10m 34s
14 Mario Mangano Leighton Williams Fiat Tipo 11m 41s
15 Barry Davies Mark Lloyd Peugeot 205 GTi 12m 07s
16 Robert Mangano Steve Weston Ford Escort 12m 33s
17 Chris Davies Ian Cooke Peugeot 205 GTi 13m 29s
18 Bernard Elliott Andy Oakes Ford Sierra 4x4 15m 34s
19 Aled Evans Martin Richards Vauxhall Nova 19m 12s
20 Arwel Davies Afan Thomas Ford Escort Van 21m 24s
21 Rob Price Lionel Plant Vauxhall Astra GTE 21m 40s
22 Aled James Philip Griffiths Vauxhall Nova 30m 40s
23 Mark Coleman Christian Male Ford Escort 37m 55s
24 Roy Thomas Michelle Thomas Peugeot 205 GTi 1F 29m 22s
25 Sean Crowley Alex Crowley Ford Escort 1F 37m 40s
26 Mike Roberts David Roberts Peugeot 309 GTi 1F 41m 02s
27 Arthur Cole Hywel Lloyd Vauxhall Astra GTE 1F 86m 53s
28 Gethin Lewis Amanda Maczak Ford Escort 2F 24m 12s
29 Hefin Jones Llinos Jones Peugeot 205 GTi 2F 27m 32s
30 Gethin Humphries Delyth Morgan Ford Escort 2F 45m 49s
31 Ceri Jones Edrian Monk Peugeot 205 GTi 3F 35m 23s
32 Mark Hockin Gary Brown Ford Escort 3F 55m 43s
33 Fred Davies Alan James Peugeot 205 GTi 3F 60m 21s
34 Arwel Thomas Dafydd Jones Ford Fiesta XR2 6F 33m 10s