rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Eagle Road Rally 1998

Newtown & District Automobile Club

23rd August 1998

Clerk of the Course: Graham Evans

Route: 50 Miles

Venue:: Sweet Lamb

Starters: 50

Winners: Andy Sheppard/Mike Hart (Ford Escort)

An article explaining how this event was set up and run can be found here

Andy Sheppard/Mike Hart took victory in atrocious weather conditions on the experimental Eagle Road Rally. Newtown & District Auto Club had organised an event to road rally regulations which was run during daylight at the Sweet Lamb Complex in Mid-Wales.

Eagle Road Rally Rally 1998

The route of eight sections was intended to take in four 'laps' of the Complex. However on the day the rally was called to a halt after six sections, as the wet and windy conditions made life extremely miserable for the marshals.

A number of the 50 starters were in trouble as they negotiated the swollen ford within a few hundred yards of the start. Dave Painter/Peter Lewis and Nick Broadway/Andy Oakes both retired with engine maladies after drowning out and Paul Evans/Tony Davies lost so much time that they went OTL.

The early pace setters were Clive Williams/Patrick Walsh, who were over 90 seconds clear after two sections. Unfortunately they put the car off the road and into retirement two miles into the third section. Chris Wilson/Roger Fildes then led briefly before dropping back to finish the event in fifth.

It was the Toyota Corolla of Gareth Jones/Iestyn ap Daffydd who took over at the front and stayed there all they way to the penultimate control. However they were overtaken and deprived of victory at the very end by the hard charging Escort of Sheppard/Hart, the winning margin being only seven seconds.

Aled 'Cacen' Evans/Eryl Evans made the most of their 4WD Sierra to take third.

The Semi-Expert award went to the venerable Mk1 Escort of Graham Evans/Keith Jones, after the original class front runners, Jamie Burton/Dave Dewson, picked up a ten minute penalty for missing a Route Check. The Novice Class was won by Kevin Reynolds/Marc Lewis, who were three minutes clear of Martin Bradley/Gordon Bradley at the Finish.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Andy Sheppard Mike Hart Ford Escort 14m 44s
2 Gary Jones Iestyn ap Dafydd Toyota Corolla 14m 51s
3 Aled 'Cacen' Evans Eryl Evans Ford Sierra XR4 15m 26s
4 Meredith Roberts Emyr Jones Vauxhall Cavalier 15m 37s
5 Chris Wilson Roger Fildes Vauxhall Astra GTE 16m 42s
6 Cyril Crook Chris ware Talbot Sunbeam 18m 04s
7 Geraint Davies Sarah Gluyas Toyota Corolla 19m 09s
8 Graham Evans Keith Jones Ford Escort 19m 39s
9 Jon Ross Dave Stocking Ford Escort 20m 36s
10 Baron Glaze Pete Davies Ford Escort 23m 52s
11 Neal Arden Giles Corbett Ford Escort 26m 31s
12 Chris Bolver Denny Harris Ford Anglia 27m 17s
13 Sarah Harmer Pat Gadsby MG Maestro 28m 38s
14 Jamie Burton Dave Dewson Ford Escort 31m 38s
15 Gethin Lewis Aled Jones Ford Escort 31m 52s
16 Martyn O'Connor Peter Collins Vauxhall Astra GTE 39m 22s
17 Kevin Jones Owen John Ford Escort 40m 43s
18 Gareth Evans Mark Lloyd Ford Escort 40m 51s
19 Richard Briddon Mark Andrew Toyota Starlet 41m 41s
20 Dorian Davies Stephanie Lomax Ford Fiesta 42m 01s
21 Keith Parry Perry Roe Ford Escort 46m 56s
22 Kevin Reynolds Marc Lewis Ford Escort 48m 26s
23 Nick Giles James Martin Ford Escort 53m 17s
24 Martin Bardley Gordon Bradley Ford Escort 57m 09s
25 Keith Daniels Aneurin James Vauxhall Nova 65m 03s
26 Duncan Edwards Matthew Preece Ford Escort 74m 48s
27 Arwel Harmer Sean Crowley Ford Escort 76m 48s
28 Jim Paterson Martin James Toyota Corolla 88m 49s