rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Eagle Road Rally 1999

Newtown & District Automobile Club

30th August 1999

Clerk of the Course: Graham Evans

Route: 42 Miles

Venue:: Sweet Lamb

Starters: 49

Winners: Geraint Davies/Sarah Gluyas (Toyota Corolla)

Geraint Davies/Sarah Gluyas won the Eagle Road Rally on August Bank Holiday Monday after consistently being the fastest crew throughout the day.

Eagle Road Rally Rally 1999

This was the second time that the Newtown and District AC event had run to the unique format of a daylight road rally. Crews faced four sections totalling 42 competitive miles in the Sweet Lamb Complex.

A number of competitors failed to make it to the end of the first section; these included Gary Jones/Andrew Card (halfshaft), Nick Broadway/Andy Oakes (gearbox), Michael Pedley/David Pedley (clutch), Dave Marston/Aled Jones (engine), Richard Briddon/Edryd Evans (halfshaft) and Sean Crowley/Kate Boddison (engine).

Clive Williams/Patrick Walsh completed the section lying in third but their Astra was suffering from a myriad of problems - lack of brakes, oil pressure worries, a petrol leak plus a dodgy alternator. They failed to make the re-start.

Making the most of their Sierra's four wheel drive, Islwyn Davies/Aneurin James set a blistering pace on Section One and were 12 seconds clear of Davies/Gluyas at the end of it. However Davies/Gluyas increased the pressure to lead at the halfway point, a lead they weren't to lose, coming home a minute and a half clear of the opposition.

Davies/James lost further places as they encountered problems including punctures and baulking, eventually finishing fifth with the Standard Production Award as consolation.

The 1998 winners Andy Sheppard/Mike Hart struggled in the early stages. Twelve month's previously a late charge had secured victory at the last control, in 1999 a similar move only netted second. Third was a surprise as it was filled by the Lada of Meredith Roberts/Emyr Jones, they were just three seconds in front of Meirion Evans/Aled Jones.

Neal Arden/Giles Corbett won the Semi-Expert class by over two and half minutes and were ninth overall. Graham Evans/Simon Hewitt had been ahead of Arden/Corbett starting the last section, however clutch problems meant that they fell out of contention as they had dropped ten minutes by the Finish.

The fight for honours in the Novice class was between Dean Hetherington/Dominic Delaney and Derek Tracey/Chris Hughes, with the former coming out on top at the end. Mick Bradley/Gareth Hill had also featured in the battle but then picked up a large penalty of a give way infringement

Darren Edwards/Gareth Edwards had also been going well until a rock ruptured the fuel tank on their Sunbeam and put them out of the rally.

The event was a round of the West Midlands Road Rally Championship and, despite finishing only twelfth, Paul Holmberg/Dave Pitchford moved closer towards securing the title as their nearest rivals failed to finish.


Pos Driver Navigator Car Penalty
1 Geraint Davies Sarah Gluyas Toyota Corolla 6m 42s
2 Andy Sheppard Mike Hart Vauxhall Astra 16v 8m 21s
3 Meredith Roberts Emyr Jones Lada Riva 8m 33s
4 Meirion Evans Aled Jones Ford Escort 8m 36s
5 Islwyn Evans Aneurin James Ford Sierra XR4x4 8m 59s
6 Wayne Morris Paul Middleton Ford Escort 9m 14s
7 Aled 'Cacen' Evans Eryl Evans Ford Sierra XR4x4 10m 24s
8 Cyril Crook Chris Ware Talbot Sunbeam 11m 40s
9 Neal Arden Giles Corbett Ford Escort 12m 09s
10 Des Phasey Martin Phasey Ford Escort 12m 10s
11 Tony Davies Dylan Davies VW Golf 12m 14s
12 Paul Holmberg Dave Pitchford Ford Escort 12m 31s
13 Dave McIntyre Lee Vincent Triumph Dolomite Sprint 12m 55s
14 Martyn O'Connor Peter Collins Vauxhall Astra GTE 13m 03s
15 Dean Hetherington Dominic Delaney Toyota Corolla 13m 20s
16 Nick Bloxham Martyn Allen Peugeot 205 GTi 14m 37s
17 Derek Tracey Chris Hughes Ford Escort 14m 52s
18 Ian Elias Stuart Thomas Audi Quattro 15m 05s
19 Kev Nunns Gary Moult Toyota Corolla 18m 03s
20 Jody Oliver John Cadwallader Opel Manta 19m 02s
21 Dave Rennocks Dave Hyden Vauxhall Nova GTE 19m 04s
22 Graham Evans Simon Hewitt Ford Escort 19m 11s
23 Len Giles Steve Roderick Ford Escort 20m 28s
24 Richard 'Tyson' Morris Owen Dodd Talbot Samba 22m 38s
25 Delwyn Price Lindsay Price Ford Escort 23m 41s
26 John Jones Aled Jones Renault 11 Turbo 24m 31s
27 Mick Bradley Gareth Hill Peugeot 309 GTi 25m 18s
28 Aled Jones Owen Jewell Vauxhall Astra GTE 36m 39s
29 Huw Jones Dorian Davies Ford Fiesta XR2 39m 22s
30 Tony Watkin Medwyn Evans Vauxhall Nova 39m 52s
31 Duncan Edwards Anthony Gluyas Ford Escort 86m 11s
32 Jim Clarke Brian Spurr Talbot Sunbeam 97m 59s